Opening in Dallas, 08/24

Standard

A lot coming out this week, but nothing all that good. 

Resurrecting the Champ (trailer): I’m going to see this mostly based on repeated plugs by Jeff Wells.

Lady Chatterley (trailer): I’ll probably see this based solely on its high Metacritic score (81%).

2 Days in Paris (trailer):  I’ll probably go see this based solely on there being nothing better, as the trailer is quite unappealing.

The 11th Hour (trailer):  I might go see this solely because my girlfriend wants to.  Nothing against DiCaprio personally, but he doesn’t seem like an authority on global warming science.

The Nanny Diaries (trailer):  I doubt I’ll go see this, but if I do, it’ll be because the filmmakers previously made American Splendor, which wasn’t bad.

September Dawn (trailer): If I go see this, it’ll be despite Ebert’s zero stars review.

War (trailer): I won’t go see this, because I’ll have better things to do, like play various Metroid games, including Metroid Prime 3: Corruption, which comes out Tuesday.

Illegal Tender (trailer): I won’t go see this, because I’ll have better things to do, like anticipating the start of college football season next Saturday.

Eye of the Dolphin (trailer): I won’t go see this, because I’ll have better things to do, like, oh, I don’t know.  Maybe I’ll read a book or something.

Mr. Bean’s Holiday (trailer): I sure as hell won’t go see this, because I saw the first one.

9 responses »

  1. I meant to write a Superbad review this week, but I’m so behind. I also meant to write about Monsters, Inc. and maybe even Amadeus. And now I have a Rocket Science review to write, too.

    Maybe I’ll knock the Superbad one out tonight.

  2. My next-door neighbor is the main kid in Nanny Diaries, so I feel obligated to check it out. I felt bad that the Weinstein’s shoved it from early summer to the dead-end.

    Superbad is fantastic.

  3. I need to write reviews for This Is England, The Fountain, and Tell No One. But I’ve really lost the lust for writing reviews. It’s so hard.

    I want to see Superbad so bad. That and Knocked Up. But I can’t find any friends who want to see Knocked Up. It’s less fun watching comedies alone.

    Heard Lady Chatterley is boring as hell. From someone who studied literary science and actually liked the novel. So that’s a definite no no pour moi.

    Hey, Brian, can you play Gamecube games on your Wii?

  4. I need to write reviews for This Is England, The Fountain, and Tell No One.

    Especially The Fountain. We were supposed to have a big fight over that one but it never happened.

    But I’ve really lost the lust for writing reviews. It’s so hard.

    Well, then, just do what I do and write them anyway, even if they don’t quite say what you want them to say and really sorta suck half the time.

    Hey, Brian, can you play Gamecube games on your Wii?

    Yes. In fact, that’s its primary function these days, or at least it was before I downloaded Super Metroid for the Virtual Console. That’ll change soon, though…

  5. I want a Wii. I thought I just wanted a Gamecube. But now I want a Wii. But I have no tv and money must not be spent on glorious things, only food and books. For I am a monk… I mean, a student. I hate not being a grownup with silly money.

    Okay, The Fountain first. I like fights. Not sure what we will fight about, but bring it on. Wait, maybe I was supposed to bring it. So tired. Train rides make me sleepy. That, and beer and lots of food. Which I have had this evening.

  6. I thought you said awhile back that you didn’t like The Fountain. In which case, I assume that a review will elaborate on why you didn’t like it. In which case, I attack with all the fury implied in my choice of avatar.

    But if you did like it, then maybe we can still nitpick over details. I guess.

  7. Oh, and also, I’ve had a Wii since the week they came out, and my verdict to this point has to be that they’re overrated somewhat. It seems like the majority of games are either party-style games, which get old quick, especially if you don’t really party, or otherwise inferior ports of games created on other systems that substitute a random motion gesture for button pushes.

    I should add that I’ve actually played very few games, though, as I’m reluctant to buy a game that I’m not sure about, and rarely think of renting for some reason. But the selection out there seems awfully limited.

    Very high hopes for Metroid, though. The two Metroid Prime games on the Cube were spectacularly awesome.

  8. Shockingly, Nanny Diaries tanked.

    Seeing as how every move the Weinsteins make ends in failure, Harvey may want to re-think his “I’ll kill myself if Cate Blanchett doesn’t get an Oscar nomination” schtick…

Leave a Reply

