Indiana Jones and the Official Theatrical One-Sheet

36 thoughts on “Indiana Jones and the Official Theatrical One-Sheet

  1. Face looks a little droopy, no?

    Joking, of course. The man looks great for being sixty-five.

    So they’re sticking to that title? What is it George Lucas productions and contrived titles? And is it just me or is there like a face in the nose of that skull?

  2. Ford has been looking at lot better lately (assuming he may have had some help in that area), particularly in the production stills I’ve seen thus far.

    Yeah, guess that title is sticking. Hopefully that will be the limit of George Lucas’ influence over the film.

    Added a comparison of the Crystal Skull and Temple of Doom one-sheets. They’re very similar, right down to the pose. I’d almost say that the artist used the TOD image as his reference.

  3. Well, that goes without saying. By the way, the hidden image (in the nose) looks like the Grim Reaper to me.

  4. Looks like he’s some sort of monarch/priest sitting on some throne. Ghostly hands along the ridges, and some sort of hat on him.

  5. Those patterns on the side are more in line with Aztec art than Inca. Understandable really, since the Aztecs were always scarier than the Incas, even if the Incas sacrificed children. Guessing this is some ‘forgotten’ branch of either of them, though. The we-deal-with-spacemen branch? That let the sacrifices be beamed up?

  6. Good call, it does look like he/she/it is wearing a “Pope hat”. I think you’re probably warm in terms of plot, the USA Today synopsis does reference an extraterrestrial connection (per Frank Marshall).

  7. Yeah, maybe the “crystal skull” *speculation* is the skull of an alien, sort of like *AI spoiler* the lifeforms at the end of AI had transparent bodies *end spoiler* *end speculation*

  8. AI and Indiana Jones: the crossover no one demanded…

    Here’s the description (“kinda” spoiler) from the USA Today piece:

    The artifact of the title is inspired by real quartz sculptures of disputed origins that are carved in a way that defies the natural structure of the crystal.

    “The theory is they are shaped by higher powers or alien powers or came from another world, or an ancient Mayan civilization had the powers,” Marshall says.

  9. Apparently those are Mayan patterns. Okay, so I missed out on one of the three major ancient South American cultures, whatreyougonnado.

  10. With Cloverfield only a month away, I’m guessing we won’t be seeing an actual Slusho beverage released in time for the premiere. I’m kind of surprised, actually.

  11. Not feeling this one, either. Maybe ten years ago I’d have been excited but now the whole enterprise seems like a bad idea. I’ll still go see it, of course, but I could hardly be more wary if Brett Ratner was making it.

  12. The quality of the series has been steadily decreasing for every chapter, agreed. I hold out some hope since they spent so much time getting the screenplay right. Yet Shia LaBeouf as teenage sidekick is something to be pretty worried about, even if I have nothing against him as an actor.

  13. By the way, anyone interested in doing a “most anticipated” list for 2008? I was planning on putting up my top 30 later in the week, but would love to see what everyone else is excited for.

  14. Actually, I was going with Hannah Montana/Miley Cyrus: The Best of Both Worlds Tour (which sounds like an adult title) or Step Up 2: The Streets (which sounds like a low-budget Cannon release from 1986).

  15. I already have my tickets to Hannah Montana in 3-D. Actually, i have tickets for my daughters and my sister to take them to see it. I will sadly miss out.

  16. It’s interesting how the youth of today are into properties (Hannah Montana, High School Musical) that the cynical children of the 70’s/80’s would have outright dismissed as too corny.

  17. Got the list done. Bit disappointing, bit of is this it? but most of the foreign films aren’t counted in (or even known) so I suppose it’s all right. Just waiting for you to post.

  18. Really? My first draft had well over 50 films, I kept paring it down to a more manageable length.

    I’m just adding in some links and release dates, should get up by tonight.

  19. It’s interesting how the youth of today are into properties (Hannah Montana, High School Musical) that the cynical children of the 70’s/80’s would have outright dismissed as too corny.

    Everything is corny a few years later. And it’s usually girls. Crazy for the Beatles (worthy) and Monkees and New Kids on the Block and NSync, etc….

    As far as lists of films, is there a general list I can glean from?

  20. Did I ever confess to sending him the Brave One international title? I did, but did not remember about his “non-crediting” thing. I sent him a link to the page with the teaser “Have you seen the Swedish title for the Brave One”? After that, he’s been rolling on his own ;-)

  21. Fredo! I never thought it’d be you.

    Ah, well, then he might not have been reading off from here. Just thought the coincidence was strange.

  22. Feigned shock? I said I can only laugh it up!

    Behind the other movie guy’s site? Not at all!!!

    I do things to drive people TO this site…not away from!

  23. This is turning into The Departed…Wells is Nicholson, bizzaro-Nick is Mr. French, Joe is Damon.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.