Summer Movie Thread

Standard

Thought I’d start a thread for the upcoming summer movie season. Mostly it’s an excuse to run this cool cover from Las Vegas Weekly (which is a great publication–no kidding!)

I’m guessing most of us are most looking forward to The Dark Knight rises, but chime in on what you’re looking forward to.

About Jackrabbit Slim

I'm a cubicle slave that still harbors dreams of becoming a full-time writer. I was born and reared in suburban Detroit, Michigain. I was a Theatre Arts major at Stony Brook University, and worked many years as an editor at Penthouse magazine. I now live near Princeton, New Jersey. In my spare time I follow the Detroit Tigers, the Princeton women's ice hockey team, and I review adult films. My blog is at gogorama.blogspot.com

20 responses »

  1. http://www.lasvegasweekly.com/news/2012/apr/19/summer/

    They called Tom Hardy ‘…one of the most electrifying actors to come along in years’. I like them already. And they’ve obviously seen The Take.

    I didn’t get to one I wanted to see until Ted. That made me monumentally depressed until I realized The Raid was so good, I could wait til August for another ‘blockbuster’ I might like.

  2. The Avengers will premiere here next week. Thinking of going, but I have some other things planned for that weekend.

    Otherwise, Prometheus! Looks great, although I feel like I know most of the plot already. Almost total secrecy foryears and then, bam! overexposure.

    Brave will hopefully be as good as Pixar movies tend to be. Love Scotland in general, so that’s a plus.

    I tend to like Wes Anderson’s films, and based on the trailer Moonrise Kingdom seemed like one of his better ones.

    Holding out some vague hope that Bourne Legacy will turn out well, but the trailer didn’t convince me.

  3. Yup, AGEBOC 2012 gets going Tuesday May 1st. Week before isn’t really the start of the summer season and Avengers should open with a bang.

  4. Looking forward to The Dark Knight Rises, although less than the last two installments and certainly not as my most anticipated film of the summer. I found TDK a step down from Batman Begins and nothing I’ve seen from the film thus far has particularly excited me. The law of averages suggests Nolan is about due for a disappointment, as well.

    Prometheus is #1 at the moment, The Avengers should be fun. Moonrise Kingdom. I’m curious about the Bourne Legacy, Neighborhood Watch, Dark Shadows and Premium Rush.

    I think The Amazing Spider-Man looks dull and I’m sensing little to no buzz.

    Juan (who will hopefully stop by soon) compared this to the summer of 1989:

    The Amazing Spider-Man is this generation’s License to Kill (tepid, lower budget reboot of a tired franchise) The Avengers is Tim Burton’s Batman and The Dark Knight is Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.

  5. Yes to Moonrise Kingdom, Brave, and TDKR (of course)!

    My oddball picks: Battleship (only because my friends at ILM worked for years on it & I appreciate their craft) and Diary of a Wimpy Kid 3.

    The Wimpy Kid movies have been bland cinematic tofu (I honestly don’t know how the sequels are getting funded) but for some reason I laugh uncomfortably throughout most of them. They certainly remind me of my junior high school (middle school) years, even though I don’t specifically identify with any of the characters. Perhaps it’s ‘imagined nostalgia,’ but I dig the books and movies as clever little timewasters that make me laugh.

  6. The Avengers is Tim Burton’s Batman and The Dark Knight is Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.

    1. HA! Awesome, awesome analogy. Though Batman looks light years better than what, by all appearances, looks like the death knell for superhero movies.
    2. HA! Awesome again, as that is my favorite one and the most fun and I think Hardy is gonna make TDKR the best of the bunch.

  7. I understand why you like them, I mean, this is all opinion, and we all like what we like, but…I don’t know how to commiserate.

  8. Sorry film..I always try to be honest even if it makes me seem like a loser.

    Go to Brief Film Reviews. I wrote that review and the comment above in the same 15 minute span, I think. Maybe one will allow us to dialogue…

    EDIT: They are 16 minutes apart. My bad!

  9. I apologize for that coming out wrong. I didn’t mean it to sound like I meant that. My sincere apologies.
    I don’t understand Harry Potter or Disney movies, and I want to talk about them.
    Again, man, I’m sorry, Not meant in a bad way at all.

  10. If anything, it was a dig on me for not being open-minded enough. Really, Joe, I apologize for it sounding lke that.
    The guy who watches Fools Rush In once a month should know not to judge anyone else, and I wasn’t doing that in the slightest.

  11. PROMETHEUS is high on my list for the blockbusters, but on the quieter side I’m looking forward to SEEKING A FRIEND FOR THE END OF THE WORLD and re-watching (my favorite movie of the year so far) SAFETY NOT GUARANTEED.

  12. I’ve seen the trailer for Seeking a Friend for the End of the World a couple of times, and I think it might be the movie that finally makes me tired of Steve Carell. His character just seems so overwhelmingly Carell-ish here, and the plot so carefully tailored to Carellishness, that it all just looks like too much. And I like the guy.

    Plus – and I don’t this doesn’t have anything to do with the actual movie – the poster is comically ugly. And it actually looks even worse in person than it does online.

  13. Not yet Slim, seeing it Thursday and reviewing it for the following week’s release. I’m optimistic for Whedon’s dialogue if nothing else.

  14. Seeking a Friend for the End of the World looks like Shakespeare in Love compared to:
    “Take my hand and I’ll show you time travel…”
    WAIT, twenty bucks and a dinner at Arby’s says, in the movie, the music swells and she takes his hand and everything goes silent, a moment of screen time passes, he opens his eyes and says: “See? We just traveled a minute.” The music swells, she smiles, he lets go and runs with whimsy and…yeah, I got nothin’.

Leave a Reply

