Opening in Chicago, 05/04

Standard

The Avengers (trailer)
Director: Joss Whedon (Serenity)
Personal Interest Factor: 6
Good early reviews but let’s be honest here, we all know exactly what we’re getting with this thing, and there’s almost zero chance that anyone is going to be talking about this as a great movie by the end of the year. It will be consumed and then mostly forgotten, like all the other Marvel movies have been. I mean, honestly, Captain America got the same favorable early-review treatment last year, and is anyone going to speak up for the rewatchability of that one now?
Metacritic: 69

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (trailer)
Director: John Madden (Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, Proof, Killshot, The Debt)
Personal Interest Factor: 4
Yeah, this looks like something to avoid. I guess I’m supposed to say something about the veteran cast and blah, blah, blah, but honestly I couldn’t care less. This looks like the kind of overbearing exoticism that went out of style decades ago, and I don’t care to see Judi Dench or Maggie Smith or even Bill Nighy constantly mugging for the camera. I’m just thankful that I haven’t been forced to watch the trailer even more than I have.
Metacritic: 60

Keyhole (trailer)
Director: Guy Maddin (Cowards Bend the Knee, The Saddest Music in the World, Brand Upon the Brain!, My Winnipeg)
Personal Interest Factor: 7
I haven’t seen any of Maddin’s films except My Winnipeg, which was alternatingly inscrutable and amusing, and sometimes both at once. Fortunately, this is playing at the Film Center downtown, so it’ll be easy enough to see.
Metacritic: 64

A Little Bit of Heaven (trailer)
Director: Nicole Kassell (The Woodsman)
Personal Interest Factor: 1
I’m putting this in the main section just to note that horrible Metacritic rating, and to speculate (I’m too lazy to look it up) about whether or not it’s a new low for Kate Hudson.
Metacritic: 15

Also this week:
Hit So Hard (trailer) – doc about the band Hole
Mother’s Day – Rebecca De Mornay as a sadistic mom
A Simple Life – Hong Kong drama
Surviving Progress (trailer) – technology-is-bad doc

9 responses »

  1. . I mean, honestly, Captain America got the same favorable early-review treatment last year, and is anyone going to speak up for the rewatchability of that one now?

    Marvel’s films have all been safe, middle-of-the-road productions that vanish from memory by the time you hit the parking lot. For all the negativity directed towards FOX and Sony by dorks, at least Raimi’s second Spider-Man Singer’s X-Men flicks have held up nicely. X2 is better than any Marvel film by a wide margin.

  2. X2 is better than any Marvel film by a wide margin.

    I respectfully disagree. I remember nothing of X2. But a lot of Spider-Man 2 stays with me, such as the scene in which a demasked Spidey is held aloft by the passengers on the subway, or the death of Dock Ock. That’s my choice for best Marvel picture.

  3. Marvel’s films have all been safe, middle-of-the-road productions that vanish from memory by the time you hit the parking lot.

    Sounds a lot like most comic books.

  4. X2 is better than any Marvel film by a wide margin.

    I respectfully disagree. I remember nothing of X2. But a lot of Spider-Man 2 stays with me, such as the scene in which a demasked Spidey is held aloft by the passengers on the subway, or the death of Dock Ock. That’s my choice for best Marvel picture.

    Should have clarified: I meant Marvel produced/released films. Spider-Man 2 is terrific and might be the overall best in the genre.

  5. I still find X2 vastly superior to S2. I own both on DVD and have never rewatched S2 after seeing it in theaters. There seemed to be no reason…I have the opposite feelings about the writing and scenes mentioned here.

  6. I’d give X2 the nod overall, as well, although I think the Spidey-train scene was probably better than any single scene in X2.

  7. ‘The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel’ was released in Australia several weeks ago (and has been a big hit) and I caught it a couple of weeks ago. And Brian’s suspicions are more or less correct.

    It’s engaging for the most part but even at its best it always feels as if it’s somewhat coasting along on the talent of its cast and the pleasant Indian scenery. But it really lets itself down in the last 25-30 mins or so as all the various plot points are wrapped up in a lazily contrived manner for a feelgood ending.

    A pleasant film, but disposable and should’ve been better. Rating C+

Leave a Reply

