Opening in Chicago, 09/21

Standard

End of Watch (trailer)
Director: David Ayer (Harsh Times, Street Kings)
Personal Interest Factor: 5
Combining two tiresome elements – the gritty street-level LAPD cop movie, and the found-footage movie. If I wanted to be a jerk about it, I’d also add “a Jake Gyllenhaal movie” to the list. Yet Ebert gave out a four-star review, and reviews are generally good if less enthusiastic than his.
Metacritic: 68

The Master (trailer)
Director: Paul Thomas Anderson (Boogie Nights, Magnolia, Punch-Drunk Love, There Will Be Blood)
Personal Interest Factor: 9
Obviously the movie of the week, and as much as I want to see it, I find that I’m less excited than I feel I ought to be. For one thing, I really don’t like Joaquin Phoenix, so his presence is a bit of a damper. But I also can’t shake the fact that I’ve never liked an Anderson movie aside from There Will Be Blood, and that movie radiated excellence before I even saw it, in a way that this doesn’t. Not quite, anyway. But still, I do really want to see it.
Metacritic: 88

Trouble with the Curve (trailer)
Director: Robert Lorenz
Personal Interest Factor: 5
This looks like an anti-Moneyball, with the film’s sympathy lying with the old scout instead of the guy with new ideas. Anyway, I’m just surprised to see Clint Eastwood acting again, especially in a movie that he didn’t direct, the first time he’s done that since In the Line of Fire. Unfortunately, it doesn’t look very good.
Metacritic: 59

Also this week:
Detropia – doc about the decline of Detroit
Dredd (trailer) – not co-starring Rob Schneider, as far as I can tell
Hello I Must Be Going (trailer) – indie starring Melanie Lynskey as a recent divorcee
House at the End of the Street (trailer) – Jennifer Lawrence in generic horror movie
How to Survive a Plague (trailer) – doc about the AIDS struggle
Liberal Arts – college comedy by that annoying guy from “How I Met Your Mother”
Life Is Beautiful – big romance from India
10 Years (trailer) – who knows wtf this even is, but it stars Channing Tatum and Rosario Dawson

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

