Best Music of 2012

Standard

Okay, so I’m totally out of touch with today’s music, and I end up listening to oldies. I didn’t buy many new albums this year (that’s how old I am–I still call them “albums”) but my favorites were El Camino by The Black Keys and Blunderbuss by Jack White. What was everyone else’s favorite music from the past year?

About Jackrabbit Slim

I'm a cubicle slave that still harbors dreams of becoming a full-time writer. I was born and reared in suburban Detroit, Michigain. I was a Theatre Arts major at Stony Brook University, and worked many years as an editor at Penthouse magazine. I now live near Princeton, New Jersey. In my spare time I follow the Detroit Tigers, the Princeton women's ice hockey team, and I review adult films. My blog is at gogorama.blogspot.com

15 responses »

  1. I would say it, but I don’t want Brian to make fun of me again. My musical tastes, pre-late-’30’s, edged towards top-40 pop. I can’t help it if I’m now finding real music.

  2. Ah-here’s one I can do:

    Bad Books. In certain songs, I swear Elliott Smith never passed away and he’s singing. And that’s an awesome thing.

  3. And Max Richter, From the Art of Mirrors. Amazing stuff, this.
    Trivia note: These songs were apparently composed as a series of vignettes to unseen Derek Jarman films.

  4. Sorry…my stuff is so predominantly “Christian” that I usually doubt it would interest any one, so I feel like I’m just saying something just to say something. Which I don’t normally like to do, so I stay silent.

  5. Promise? I dunno……

    Pink Floyd is some of the most amazing music I’ve ever heard- Hey! Hey! …I can hear Brian sniggering from here-and Simon and Garfunkel is musical nirvana. The Boxer is one of the best songs ever.

    I would have put Mumford and Sons here, but for some reason, I’m beginning to tire of them.

    so I feel like I’m just saying something just to say something.

    If I used this as a gauge, I would likely not speak very much.

  6. I love Pink Floyd. The 40th anniversary of Dark Side of the Moon is coming up–I’ll be celebrating on my blog. And I love Simon and Garfunkel–I’ve got a boxed set of all their recordings. As for Mumford and Sons, I’ve heard some of it. Not yet convinced I should buy.

  7. Hopeless Wanderer and Holland Road would likely change your mind.
    I’ve just listened to both of those so much, and I Will Wait and Lover’s Eyes that I just played them out. I mean, on repeat…*a lot*.

    Pink Floyd is mind-numbingly good. I had no idea.

  8. I’ve been taking birding trips with the stepfather, to have some new photographic material, and he plays Floyd and Simon and Garfunkel and Van Morrison, and it’s like finding an entire new world. He still doesn’t have me convinced on Dylan (not that I don’t understand what Dylan means), but that recording of the concert for The Band, The Last Waltz? (which is a truly awesome story for the making-of, if anyone’s interested, I mean, the cinematographers involved and the story of all the drugs)…is awesome.

  9. I’m fairly excited about this year in music. New releases from The Thermals (in what sounds like a return to their 2003-2006 sound), Vampire Weekend, The Generationals, Sleigh Bells, MGMT…I’m sure there are others.

Leave a Reply

