Random Thread for March, 2014

Standard

Happy 8th anniversary, Gone Elsewhere people! Here’s to another year of health and happiness to you all! If only our wayward Swede would come back and check in every once in a while.

About Jackrabbit Slim

I'm a cubicle slave that still harbors dreams of becoming a full-time writer. I was born and reared in suburban Detroit, Michigain. I was a Theatre Arts major at Stony Brook University, and worked many years as an editor at Penthouse magazine. I now live near Princeton, New Jersey. In my spare time I follow the Detroit Tigers, the Princeton women's ice hockey team, and I review adult films. My blog is at gogorama.blogspot.com

32 responses »

  1. Having my first cup of coffee in three months (half-caf) and I feel like my brain is running a triple speed.

    1) we really need to get a GE facebook page
    2) https://copromote.com/?
    3) I have Jetpack connected to my website (which is running on WordPress) and that cross posts everything I do on Linkedin, Twitter, Facebook and Adult Friend Finder. I feel like I’m not seeing access to it here, though?

  2. I think the Independent Spirit Awards have outlived their usefulness, just like the Cable Ace Awards did. The major awards went to the likely recipients of the Oscars tomorrow night. What’s the point?

  3. Donal Lardner Ward (HBO’s How to Make it in America, writer/director of the very funny My Life’s in Turnaround and They’re Out of the Business and the less funny The Suburbans) is following us on Twitter. Our first indie celebrity!

  4. And I keep trying to choose clips for my favorite scenes, but it’s getting more and more difficult to find them.

  5. Thanks. Where I’ve been working over a year as a temp has taken me on full-time. Not a great job, but it means benefits and I don’t have to worry about cold-hearted Republicans taking away my UE benefits.

  6. Congrats on the job news JS

    Interesting interview with Robert Duvall where he reveals – amongst other things – that he voted for Joaquin Phoenix over Daniel Day-Lewis for Best Actor at last year’s Oscars (I get the feeling JS wouldn’t be in full agreeance on that!)

  7. I can’t do a Lumet retrospective until this book is finished.
    So in the meantime, I’m going to do a Kerri Green retrospective and write one review on those 4 movies.
    I’ve been watching a lot of ’80’s movies, like Continental Divide (which felt incredibly dated, but in a good way, and I also wanted to see the movie that got Kasdan the Empire job) and The Paper (Which was a neat little time capsule but not very good movie) and whatnot.
    And none of the movies I want to do for My Favorite Scene have any scenes online. These things are not almost impossible to find.

  8. Got a personal emergency that’s consuming my weekend. Anyone want to step in with Openings or we’ll skip?

  9. This sounds like a gag, but Sofia Coppola is in talks to direct a live-action version of Disney’s The Little Mermaid, with a script by same writer that penned 50 Shades of Grey.

  10. Should be interesting. At the very least, I’m sure she needs to do it in order to keep making her real films.

  11. I would have loved to have seen the ‘creep factor’ Joe Wright would have put into it.
    But a movie of incredibly lengthy silences with muffled dialogue of mumbling people and Ariel’s world resembling the vacuous hollowness of a well-to-do teenager so bored with sea life that she sits around watching that one crab dude rehearse his opening number for King Trident for about 30 minutes while the ennui sets in will be great. The only better person to do it in this case would be Lena Dunham. But she said she’s retiring.

  12. Or a Joe Swanberg-directed Little Mermaid with Greta Gerwig in it, and Ariel is so filled with self-loathing that she spends so much time just swimming through the ocean silently (maybe cutting herself with pieces of coral) that she ends up taking a trip around the world and it’s a metaphor for how we always ‘end up where we began’.

  13. While quickly researching an inspiration for making a post here about whether any mumblecore movie has ever made back its money (aside from Funny HaHa. I wish I could find the original Boston Globe article about that movie, the one that started it all, and the businessman who funded Bujalski afterwards because he saw an ‘opening for films for youth’, I still remember where I was when I read that), and whether the genre can be called a marketing gimmick or true ‘film movement’, I found this gem by Amy Taubin:

    http://www.filmcomment.com/article/all-talk-mumblecore

  14. There’s no way that’s real.
    You can’t do that, man. Babies understand shit. You can’t take them to a Lars Von Trier film called Nymphomaniac Part 1!

  15. The Ghostbusters reboot appears to be really happening, with Murray and Aykroyd in small roles but a whole new main cast; Ivan Reitman is out as director. I’ll bet Ernie Hudson is waiting by the phone.

  16. I don’t think Murray is going to be involved, Slim. He’s completely against the project.

    Hudson is the man. Hopefully they toss him a bone.

  17. What’s up with William Monahan? 7 screenplays in ten years is nothing to sneeze at (it’s amazing), but after Kingdom of Heaven, of which haters can hate, but the extended edition script is a masterpiece, and then The Departed, I thought he would start a relationship with either Ridley or Marty. He’s much more talented than a simple ‘journeyman’. I wonder if directing the good but not great London Boulevard-well, it looks like he directed another movie called Mojave, so maybe he’s decided he wants to direct. Can’t wait to see his future work.

  18. Man, I’ve been meaning to write a review for “The Wind Rises” all week but whenever I think about it I’m not in a position to. So all you get is this comment instead!

  19. I’ve watched about 6 films in the past week, but can’t bring myself to even write a brief film review saying I saw them.
    They were movies like ‘The Best Years of Our Lives’ and ‘Night Shift’ and ‘Continental Divide’, but …eh. I don’t know. I don’t know if it’s those movies or it takes an ‘event’ movie to get me to talk about it. I could write 100 posts on Game of Thrones and Curb Your Enthusiasm and the Sopranos (which I’m rewatching), but right now I feel…bleh…about movies.

  20. I’ve been noticing that when an entry is posted in the ‘Brief Reviews’ thread it doesn’t pop up in the recent comments section. Does anyone know why this is?

Leave a Reply

