AGEBOC 1 May 30 – June 1

30 thoughts on “AGEBOC 1 May 30 – June 1

  1. I think it might end up closer than some people think with Sex and the City. It has a huge and very devoted following, and there hasn’t been a real big chick flick in theatres in quite a while (Made of Honor didn’t really connect). Guys are likely to stay away (unless dragged) but overall this has the potential to take a big chunk off Indiana’s heels.

    #2 film for May 30 – June 1: Sex and the City, 37 million

  2. I’m tempted to say Indy will be #2.

    And you know what, I will. Sex #1 with $52 million. Indy #2 with $49 million.

  3. Sorry, Brian…I started writing mine before your comment was there, but posted it after and yours appeared . Didn’t mean to Price-is-Right you…if you want to go above mine…I won’t change anything…

  4. That so?

    I was almost about to change my prediction to Indiana Jones in second place with $43 million for the weekend, but decided that now they’re probably underestimating a large part of the population’s not wanting to see this (not that I’m against the show, which was occasionally funny, but the film looks awful). Sticking with my 37.

    But darn, thinking back on how much that Miley Cyrus film made… this target audience is potentially bigger. Gnah…

  5. I’ll be going to Stockholm tomorrow for my sister’s high school graduation and after that I’m off to London for a week. It’s doubtful I’ll use the internet much during that period of time (don’t intend to bring my laptop).

    So I was wondering, anyone feel like taking over duties as AGEBOC referee while I’m away?

  6. Thanks, man.

    By the powers vested in me, I hereby grant thee provisional control over the AGEBOC for the duration of ten days. Or until death parts you from this awesome responsibility. God bless and good luck.

  7. Let my first act be–we have to resolve two people having IJIV at 49 Million. Brian N (FIlmman), since Brian C was first, you’ll have to change yours.

  8. Mad with power he is.

    It’s actually a smart play from their side. If Indy 4 is #2 then they both get 3 points, sharing the 4 and 2 points respectively that they’d have gotten otherwise. It’s a safe play, perhaps a bit too safe. It’s supposed to be a competition, not some brotherly lovefest.

  9. Yeah, sorry guys. I didn’t do it on purpose, just was posting mine and when I posted, his was then in the thread. Now…do you still want me to change it, or no? I take your last comment as saying we’ll just split the points if we’re right…? Didn’t mean to cause such problems…

  10. I’m actually agreeing with you, JS. The provision was there in case both were close enough to make it unreasonable to call one more closer than the other (example: one said 94, another said 96, it ended up 95).

    I think we should allow it this time, but next time whoever calls it first keeps the score. So there’s no team-ups where both benefit, a la Prisoner’s Dilemma.

    Ultimately, it’s your call, though.

    filmman, it’s no problem for my part. It’s pretty clear judging by the timestamps that it was unintended on your part. Clarification of the rules of the game is just good as far as I see it.

  11. Filmman, up to you, but if you want to change it do it by end of day today (midnight). If you’re both right you’ll both get three points. Brian C. has already stated he’s good with his number.

  12. I don’t think we need to wait for actuals, Brian and Filmman get three points each.

    I wasn’t even remotely close on this one. I kind of thought there would be a big ho-hum on SATC. This is got to be the biggest opening for a movie targeted at women. But it’s hard to see how they can copy-cat this, because obviously the TV show was a known quantity.

  13. One of the headlines read: “Executives scramble for female-driven projects aimed at women.”

    Kind of a funny headline, but yeah, the women who went to see this on Friday are the same who religiously watched the show.
    I want to say something here, but for fear of offending anyone, ala Jeffrey Wells, I will hold off.
    I am interested in what Jeanine thinks of the show, though…the premise and if she went to see it.
    I will just say that I think a lot more women secretly or not-so-secretly emulate to be just like Paris Hilton than we think…oh, I can hear the tittering already…

  14. If anything, SATC has been an even bigger smash in Australia on its opening weekend

    SATC collected $8 million last weekend, while the Narnia film got barely half that. If you use as a guide that Aust box office is 10% of US box office (not saying that’s correct, just what I use) then it just puts into perspective what a megahit it is.

    I certainly didn’t see it coming initially and thought it would fall flat on release; it was only when in the weeks leading up to its opening I heard stories at work and at social functions about how much anticipation there was from women to see it (and in groups on opening night usually) that I twigged how successful it was going to be.

  15. I remember the girls in a group I was working in talking excitedly about the film around Christmas. SATC is to some women what Star Wars is to some guys.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.