Opening in New York, 5/13

Standard

The Big Bang
Director: Tony Krantz
Personal Interest Factor: 3
A film noir parody about particle physics. The big selling point for me is that it stars the criminally underrated Sam Elliott.
Metacritic: 16

Bridesmaids
Director: Paul Feig
Personal Interest Factor: 8
Getting strong reviews; supposed to be pretty funny. Of course, the cultural intrigue is that this is a film starring women that does not conform to the “chick-flick” template–Manohla Dargis, who gives it a strong review, says it “goes where no typical chick flick goes: the gutter.”
Metacritic: 76

Everything Must Go
Director: Dan Rush
Personal Interest Factor: 6
Will Ferrell’s serious side, about a guy who loses everything and decides to sell off all he has left in a garage sale. Could be good, I guess, although I’m not sure what I think of Ferrell anymore.
Metacritic:  66

Hesher
Director: Spencer Susser
Personal Interest Factor: 5
Strong notices for Joseph Gordon-Levitt as some kind of psychopath. I’ll see anything with Natalie Portman, but this will be a rental.
Metacritic: 43

Priest
Director: Scott Stewart
Personal Interest Factor: 2
Okay, here’s a mystery: Priest is opening all over the place, but you wouldn’t know it by reading the New York Times. There is no review, and they list all films, even the ones that aren’t pre-screened for critics. There is no review online, either, and no advertisement. Somebody involved with this film seriously pissed off the Sulzbergers. Anyway, looks like derivative trash. Imagine–Paul Bettany turned down The King’s Speech, but did this. Somehow I think this role won’t be Oscar bait.
Metacritic: 37

Skateland
Director: Anthony Burns
Personal Interest Factor: 3
Nostalgia about roller rinks in the 1980s. I have never set foot in a roller rink in my life, so there’s no nostalgia factor for me. For those who wore mullets and leg warmers, and loved Foreigner, go for it.
Metacritic: 49

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

3 responses »

  1. I’ve seriously been reading “Skateland” as “Stakeland” on Rottentomatoes for the whole damn week. Thought it was some crappy, limited release vampire movie.

Leave a Reply

