AGEBOC ’11 – May 20-22

Standard

Predict the #1 film for the weekend of May 20-22 2011.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus questions:

1. Will Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris have a per theater average of more or less than $35,000?

2. What film will be the second highest grossing film of this weekend?

Deadline is Thursday, May 19 11:59 pm (blog time).

To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current rankings:

Jeanine 5.5
Brian 5
Joe Webb 5
Jackrabbit Slim 4.5
Marco Trevisiol 3
Juan 1.5
Filmman 1.5
Rob Hunter 1.5
James 1
Nick 1

31 responses »

  1. The numbers haven’t steered me wrong yet (if we don’t count the first two weeks) but now I’m in a dilemma. Do I go with 9’s or 1’s?

    Stranger Tides – $111.111m
    1. Less
    2. Bridesmaids

  2. Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger tides – $90.5 million

    1. Less
    2. Bridesmaids

    I hate having to put Bridesmaids 2nd, but I’m going for the win.

  3. Pirates! – $88.51 million

    1) Less
    2) Thor!

    I think Thor and Bridesmaids will duke it out for 2nd place spot, but I give the edge to the guy with the hammer.

  4. To be fair, I used math to arrive at my estimate. An unsound equation I doubt I could repeat, but it sounded good at the time.

  5. I have no interest in fairness. I’m defending champion!

    But seriously, I was prepared to guess in the low $90’s but it’s so damn crowded there. So I’m taking a chance that the movie will underperform slightly instead.

  6. Pirates: 70M
    1. Under
    2. Thor

    Everything about this Pirates installment seems odd to me. Even though I’ve only seen the original film, I’ve always sensed a massive amount of buzz prior to the release of each sequel. Not getting that this time. I don’t think I’ve heard a single person mention the new film offline (even dorks who really liked the first couple of entries).

    it’s a fourquel…with an an odd release date (kids are in school for another month) and even the studio’s marketing team seems completely bored by it.

  7. it’s a fourquel…with an an odd release date (kids are in school for another month)

    My kids actually get out of school next Friday. There are varying release (from school) dates all over CA because of budgetary shortcomings

  8. Pirates estimated at 90.1 mil, if that holds Juan has a chance at the bonus.

    Bridesmaids a solid second, and Midnight in Paris does 98,000 per theater, so that’s way over.

  9. So no bonus points for me this week. Let’s just hope the estimate is over by 1.5 million. It’s happened before… right?

  10. In terms of mainstream audience blockbuster-type love: maybe briefly in the 70’s or mid 80’s (with Hannah and her Sisters).

  11. Since you asked, Juan, I love Woody Allen. Granted, his output in the last fifteen years is not great, but his stuff before that more than makes up for it. Annie Hall, Manhattan, and Hannah and Her Sisters are all in my top ten movies of all time.

  12. In all my days…I never thought it would be necessary to defend the brilliance of early Woody Allen…damn kids!

  13. Allen 1975-1995 is probably the best run of any director in history.

    I do dislike his pre-Love and Death comedies, though (hence the 1975 start date above).

  14. To finish Joe’s thought, Juan gets the bonus, and I get second place, plus the two .5 point bonus questions.

    And James, you don’t like Take the Money and Run? “I’ve got a gub.”

    And I like Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex (Woody as the sperm cell is the best sketch–“What if the guy is masturbating? I’ll end up on the ceiling!”), Sleeper, and Play It Again, Sam (which he did not direct, but did write).

  15. I’ve actually never seen Money, but I really didn’t dig Bananas, Sleeper or Everything You Always Wanted to Know.

    Part of the problem could be that I’ve seen Allen’s body of work, for the most part, in reverse chronological order. I was pretty much doomed to be disappointed seeing Sleeper after Hannah and her Sisters, Annie Hall and Manhattan.

  16. I started out with the more recent Allen stuff – Hollywood Ending, Curse of the Jade Scorpion, Small Time Crooks, Manhattan Murder Mystery – and just have no interest in seeking out his early stuff, although I did like MMM as a kid.

    I got so much stuff that I’m expected to have seen. I’ll probably have to watch Annie Hall eventually, but then I can call it a day on Allen.

  17. 1. Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides $90,151,958
    2. Bridesmaids $20,882,070
    12. Midnight in Paris $599,003 – 6 theaters – $99,834 average

    Joe Webb: Stranger Tides – $111.111m
    1. Less
    2. Bridesmaids +0.5

    Jeanine: Pirates – $100 million
    1. Less
    2. Bridesmaids +0.5

    Marco Trevisiol: Pirates 4 – 97 million
    1. Under
    2. Bridesmaids +0.5

    Nick: Pirates 4 – 93 million
    1. Over +0.5
    2. Thor

    Jackrabbit Slim: Pirates – 92 mil
    1. more +0.5
    2. Bridesmaids +0.5

    Juan: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger tides – $90.5 million +4 +2
    1. Less
    2. Bridesmaids +0.5

    filmman: Pirates 4 – 89 million +2
    1. Under
    2. Bridesmaids +0.5

    Rob Hunter: Pirates! – $88.51 million
    1) Less
    2) Thor!

    Brian: Pirates – $82 million
    1. Less
    2. Thor

    James: Pirates – 70M
    1. Under
    2. Thor

  18. Help me with the math here.

    If filmman is at 89 and Slim is at 92, then the difference from actual is:

    Filmman 1.151958m
    Slim 1.848042m

    which means Filmman is closer, right?

  19. You’re right, Joe. Somehow I counted filmman as being 2.15 million from the actual. Sorry JS and filmman. Shouldn’t do these so early in the morning. I blame it on a viral throat infection I’m dealing with at the moment.

Leave a Reply

