Opening in Chicago, 05/27

Standard

My thanks to Jackrabbit Slim for stepping in with Openings for the two weeks in which I was about the countryside. I’m still a little disoriented from being gone (elsewhere) for so long, and have yet to really take stock of what I missed and what I need to catch up on in terms of movie viewing. I’m also disappointed that The Tree of Life doesn’t open here until next week. Or maybe two weeks, who knows. Anyway…

The Hangover Part II (trailer)
Director: Todd Phillips (Starsky & Hutch, School for Scoundrels, The Hangover, Due Date)
Personal Interest Factor: 4
I think Phillips is actually a pretty decent director in some ways, but the first Hangover was just OK, Due Date was a slog, and this looks equally dreary. I might see it out of some weird sense of obligation, but then again, I might not. I skipped The Dilemma and the world didn’t end, so I’m pretty sure I can skip this, too.
Metacritic: 44

Kung Fu Panda 2 (trailer)
Director: Jennifer Yuh
Personal Interest Factor: 2
Didn’t see the first; Jeanine rented the Blu-ray at one point and I gave it a half-assed shot, but couldn’t watch it for more than a few minutes at a time. Just on a different wavelength than the one I operate on. Don’t see any reason to think the sequel will suit me any better.
Metacritic: 67

Midnight in Paris (trailer)
Director: Woody Allen (Cassandra’s Dream, Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Whatever Works, You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger)
Personal Interest Factor: 7
This might be the first new Woody Allen movie that I’ve actually wanted to see. Can’t really explain why, except that the trailer got me interested before I even knew it was a Woody Allen movie.
Metacritic: 81

The Soft Skin
Director: François Truffaut (Mississippi Mermaid, The Wild Child, Small Change, The Last Metro)
Personal Interest Factor: 10
Reissue of Truffaut’s relatively obscure mid-period film about a writer undertaking a secret love affair. Slowly but surely, I’m knocking down Truffaut’s filmography; this will be the ninth of his features that I’ve seen, all in cinemas since moving to Chicago three and a half years ago. Naturally, I’m excited for the chance.
Metacritic: 78

13 Assassins (trailer)
Director: Takashi Miike (Ichi the Killer, One Missed Call, Zebraman, Sukiyaki Western Django)
Personal Interest Factor: 6
Never seen a Miike … if I wasn’t so behind from being gone for so long, there’s a better chance I’d catch up with this, his historical samurai epic.
Metacritic: 86

2 responses »

  1. I’ll say this for Hangover 2: if you didn’t care much for the first one, don’t bother with the second. Basically a copy of the previous, only much less funny. Ending was downright embarrassing. Most of it was, come to think of it. Yeah, I was disappointed. Third is inevitable, though.

  2. Never seen Miike?
    Audition is a stellar movie. Check it out if you get a chance.

Leave a Reply

