Random Thread for June

Standard

Happy summer, everyone!

Those on Facebook know my news–I was let go from my job. But all is not despair! I’m working at home for an online company, copy editing. I can make about the same money, and I can do it in my underwear at 3 a.m. if I want to. And meanwhile I can take breaks to go to the pool, watch a movie, etc. My stress level has actually gone down.

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

23 responses »

  1. Okay, so I’ve mentioned my complete and utter bafflement at the awfulness and completely misplaced end credits music for War Games:

    And so here’s the link for what I think is the GREATEST use of music in film, even more-so than the Jaws theme. How could one fail to *feel* this music….?

  2. As luck of my Netflix queue would have it, I have two Bobby DeNiro films at home: The Mission and Taxi Driver. Quite the juxtaposition!

  3. Alright, going to see Super 8 at the Regal Fenway……their new RPX theater.
    This better be good. The theater, I mean.
    Part of the reason I didn’t go to the preview is because it was the Brattle. No, I’m fully-aware the ’70’s-milieu would translate greatly to an old theater like the Brattle, but I want me some pumpin’ bass for a summer movie. So RPX better deliver.
    I chose not to go to the Loews Boston Common even though I’ll never forget Lord of The Rings in theater 18 and BLack Hawk Down in theater 2. Amazing theater experiences. But then they raped that theater for ‘fake IMAX’ and ‘digital projection’ and ruined moviegoing there forever…completely. That theater has its head so far up its ass…

    On a side note: PTA is shooting his religious movie in 65mm., apparently-

  4. Dont know if this is true or notl, but just read somewhere that the Best Picture list for next year’s Oscars won’t be 10 like this year, but will range somewhere from 5 to 10.

  5. It’s true. Seems like a good idea–that way a quality picture isn’t left out, but junk doesn’t sneak in. One wonders which picture(s) last year prompted this; they should have done it after The Blind Side got a nomination.

  6. I’ll withhold judgment for now, but I liked the 10 nominations. If an occasional stinker got in … well, same as it ever was. It’s not like that’s going to change, and it seemed like the process was working to get more good movies in than bad ones.

  7. This, from a Wells piece http://hollywood-elsewhere.com/2011/06/battle_royale.php about brightened 3D:

    “.Par is taking the unprecedented step of releasing a special digital print aimed at delivering almost twice the brightness of standard 3D projection — even more than the dual-projector IMAX Digital theaters.”

    1. Sweet vindication! All of my entreaties on this subject were met with shrugged shoulders and blank stares here. Avatar was like looking through a scrim. I watched half the movie blurry, just for the proper brightness-
    2. Secondly…How in the WORLD…is a PRINT and a print alone going to show up brighter on the screen. This absurd sentence makes no sense to me and sounds like complete poppycock.

  8. I know – apparently he had dementia and Alzheimers. Makes me want to watch Princess Bride of all things.

  9. I was thinking Wings of Desire, personally – been meaning to watch that again anyway, among 50 other things.

  10. Exactly the scene I was thinking of also, filmman. I don’t drink coffee or smoke, never have, and yet I still know what he means!

  11. Sorry I’ve been MIA for a while, folks. Was sick for a couple of weeks, work has been crazy and have baby #2 hitting in time for Halloween.

    Peter Falk always freaked me out when I was a kid. I don’t know why, but I was never able to move past it.

  12. I was out of the loop over the weekend so only caught up with Falk’s death a couple of days after it occurred.

    I’ve been watching recently the first few series of Columbo (1970s version), stands up exceptionally well today. Was one of the very few actors in the 1970s to have a notable TV and film career at the same time. I haven’t got the ability to post a link from my mobile, but there’s a great bit on YouTube appearing as Columbo at a roast for Frank Sinatra in the 1970s, very funny.

Leave a Reply

