Random Thread for July

Standard

For all that people love summer, July fails to capture our imaginations. There are no songs about July that I can think of, no great quotes about its eternal majesty or the melancholy memories it inspires of one’s childhood … or the hellish sunburnt landscape it leaves in its wake, for that matter. Basically, it’s just a month that people take for granted as part of “summer,” and no one cares about it or really even notices it on its own terms until August hits and kids start realizing that they have to go back to school soon.

So, here’s to July, marker of the baseball season’s midway point, taxer of our air conditioners … and that’s about it, I guess.

45 responses »

  1. Any opinions of the new Mission: Impossible trailer? I was curious once I noticed that Bird is directing, but the trailer looks like typical stuff to me.

  2. There are songs about the Fourth of July. I can think of two off the top of my head: “Saturday in the Park,” by Chicago (“think it was the Fourth of July”) and “Fourth of July” by X (or maybe it was John Doe solo).

  3. “Saturday in the Park” is the exception that proves the rule, though, isn’t it? Dude doesn’t even know if it was July – he just thinks it was. Could have been mid-June or early August for all he knew. Like I said, the summer all just blurs together for people.

  4. I thought the MI4 trailer looked like the movie might be a lot of fun.

    But when it comes to spy films, this one has me really excited. Look, Brian, it even has Tom Hiddleston in it.

  5. Yeah, the MI4 trailer is basically the the first film’s plot (framed MI team on the run) with the last film’s visuals (Cruise jumping off ridiculously large skyscrapers, a hot brunette agent walking around in evening wear, cars exploding and flipping over, Cruise narrowly avoiding being crushed by an out of control vehicle, Cruise running across rooftoops and away from explosions,etc.)

    If they added a shot of Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Ving Rhames I would have a lot of trouble figuring out which trailer was which.

  6. Watching Desperado for a few minutes on Showtime before I go to bed, and I’m surprised by how well it holds up. Haven’t seen it in many years. Makes me wish that Rodriguez hadn’t subsequently worked so hard to ghettoize himself with pale imitations and his kids’ brainstorms.

  7. I’m out of town this weekend, so as usual I’m soliticing an Openings sub. Otherwise I’ll get to it Monday morning.

  8. Ditto on the [now belated] birthday wishes Marco!

    I caught this paragraph on BoMojo’s international roundup for last week and it gave me pause:

    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides earned an estimated $7.7 million, which pushed its enormous foreign total to $773.5 million. Add in its domestic take, and the movie has made $1.009 billion, which places it seventh on the all-time list ahead of The Dark Knight ($1.002 billion) and behind Alice in Wonderland ($1.024 billion). Out of the top seven movies ever, four are from Disney (two Pirates, Toy Story 3 and Alice), and three have Johnny Depp in a lead role.

    Out of the top seven movies ever, four are from Disney (two Pirates, Toy Story 3 and Alice), and three have Johnny Depp in a lead role. My first thought was, “Really??”
    Well, duh, of course they’re going to do a 5th one. If the last 3 movies Disney has done with Depp are in the top 7 worldwide grossers of all time then I guess asking for another Pirates is like asking if 2+2=4

  9. One of my ‘scared ten’ is being raped…and there’s nothing I can do about it!
    I wish just once they would remake ‘The Bicycle Thief’ and put Mark Wahlberg in the lead and have Pierre Morel use it for his ‘serious film’ and set it in Paris and make a faceless police force chase Wahlberg while he looks for the bike. …so you all know how this feels.

  10. One of my ‘scared ten’ is being raped…and there’s nothing I can do about it!

    Reminds me of the story of the novelist (forget who) … when asked about a film adaptation ruining his book, he replied that his book isn’t ruined, it’s still there on the shelf.

    Meanwhile, would I feel personally violated if Bicycle Thieves got remade? No…

  11. I believe you mean “SACRED ten” Otherwise I’m a bit confused.

    It’s Len Wiseman. Even I’m not holding up much hope on this one. Farrell is an upgrade on Schwarzenegger, though.

    Anyway, it seems to be more closely based on the book than the first version. Have you read the book? If I remember correctly, “We Can Remember It For You Wholesale” took place on Earth. But that might just be some memory someone implanted in me.

  12. So if it’s based on the book, why call it Total Recall? And say: “Here’s a movie based on “We Can Remember It…” and don’t constantly refer to the original when talking about this one.
    Regardless…it still looks like Nolan loaned Wiseman the baddies from the ‘tower’ section of Inception.

  13. Pretty sure it was Raymond Chandler who said it.

    They probably call it Total Recall because they want to make money.

  14. Meanwhile, would I feel personally violated if Bicycle Thieves got remade? No…

    …that’s the fanboy in me coming out. On both counts.

  15. I have an idea for a reimagining of Bicycle Thieves.

    Set it in some semi-far-future fascist utopia, where a cop with a heart of gold is beginning to question his job, when he suddenly gets his motorb- no, wait, his hoverbike – stolen and together with his cute but troublesome son must run around the metropolis to find it, so he doesn’t lose his job and becomes one of the poor people he regularly tramples on but later learns just want freedom. It all turns out to be a giant conspiracy and in the end scene he rides his recovered hoverbike through the glass window of the fat ruling council and incinirates all of them with his plasma bazooka.

  16. Pretty sure it was Raymond Chandler who said it.

    Certainly wasn’t Mickey Spillane. I’m watching the extras on Criterion’s Kiss Me Deadly disc, and boy is he contemptuous of the movie:

    “I had to see it twice ’cause I walked out of it the first time. Went back to see it again … I said, I don’t know how I’m going to sit through this.

    But that’s what they do, they take a piece of writing that made a lot of money, it sold a lot of copies, and they throw it away! Why do they do that? Why do they mess up something so good?

    I read a lot of great books and I see what they do with the motion picture. (shakes head in disgust) Oh, boy.”

    So put Spillane down on the filmman side of things.

  17. Wow…seriously?
    Another asinine name change?!
    And that *music*?
    Wow…….when did Scorsese decide it was a good idea to channel Robert Zemeckis?

  18. I thought the same thing re: Zemeckis. Which is weird, because this is live action and not mo-cap animation.

    I chalk the music up to an asinine marketing department. 30 Seconds to Mars sucks.

  19. It definitely looks made for 3D, which is why I thought Zemeckis too. A lot of things going towards the camera.

  20. I don’t remember Batman Forever being any good, but I also don’t remember it being Batman and Robin-level bad, either. But it is.

  21. Liam Cunningham, Stephen Dillane and Carice van Houten cast for season 2 of Game of Thrones. Fuck, yeah.

  22. For various reasons, haven’t done a new post for a couple of months. Was planning to this week but sudden and unexpected loss of Internet access put paid to that. Hope to be more regular contributor over coming weeks.

  23. Reading Game of Thrones now, will rent the series later. Up to about page 200, had some trouble getting into it–so many characters to keep track of!

  24. I downloaded Game of Thrones on my Kindle the other day because it was a top seller, but read a few pages and thought I’d get back to it later. I haven’t seen the series. I’m reading Sophie’s Choice instead, which was also hard to get into because the sentences are 100 words long. Now I’m almost half way through and don’t want to put it down.

  25. Game of Thrones the series is….remarkable. On par with the best tv HBO has ever done.

  26. Reading Game of Thrones now, will rent the series later. Up to about page 200, had some trouble getting into it–so many characters to keep track of!

    I read it when I was fourteen and was also confused about all the houses and relations throughout most of the book. Let out a pretty loud curse when I got to the end and found the 30-40 pages of heraldry. I’ve read some of the books two-three times and still need to look up who is related to who.

    But it’s a really juicy series. All those characters and history that one needs to keep track of really pays off as the series progresses.

    Fourth book was the weakest so far, but I’m 200 pages into the 1000 pages long fifth book and again enjoying it tremendously.

  27. Game of Thrones the series is….remarkable. On par with the best tv HBO has ever done.

    The series is really well made, but the books are still better. Martin is a hell of a writer.

  28. Brian and I were discussing Cowboys & Aliens and he was wondering when the last time a big bugdet summer movie grossed less than $50 million opening weekend. Maybe that’s not exactly what he said or meant, but here are a few examples that I came up with showing opening weekend gross and (production budget) in millions.

    Prince of Persia – $30 ($200)
    Mummy: Tomb… – $40 ($145)
    Salt – $36 ($110)
    Miami Vice – $25 ($135)

    These movies (except for Salt) didn’t even have a final gross anywhere near the production budget (domestically, anyway).

  29. Ah, good work. Forgot about Prince of Persia.

    In other news, WordPress informs me that Openings today was GE’s 1,641st post. That’s actually hard to believe, when it’s put like that.

Leave a Reply

