AGEBOC ’11 – July 22-24

Standard

Predict the #1 film of the weekend.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus questions:

1. Will Captain America earn more or less than The Incredible Hulk did over its first weekend ($55,414,050)?

2. Will Friends With Benefits earn more or less than No Strings Attached did over its first weekend ($19,652,921)?

Deadline is Thursday, July 21 23:59 pm (blog time).

To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current rankings
Jackrabbit Slim 26.5
Jeanine 21
Brian 19.5
Joe Webb 17
Filmman 14.5
Juan 11.5
Nick 10.5
Marco Trevisiol 7.5
Rob Hunter 7
James 2

23 responses »

  1. I will probably change my mind before Thursday, but just in case I forget:

    HP7.2 – $65 million
    1) Less
    2) Less

  2. Captain Americuh $75 million

    1) More
    2) Less

    There’s no way Potter beats Captain America this weekend, and I’d bet my impending victory on it…

  3. It’s a total toss-up for me. I’ll go with
    The Boy Who Lived – $67.890m

    1. More
    2. More

    Wells is going crazy for Captain A. I have no idea what that means

  4. I thought he was being sarcastic at first. But despite all his anti-franchise posturing it’s not that out of character for him. I fully expect him to be treating CA audiences with unreserved contempt by the time the weekend’s out.

  5. Wells:

    The reception to Captain America may be one of those watershed moments in the 21st Century that defines who and what we are as people, as critics or columnists, as film disciples. I don’t want to go nuts here, but I think it’s safe to say that people will be trashing this amazingly concise, uplifting, fliuid, dazzling, emotionally earnest yesteryear art spectacle at their own longterm peril. They’re going to have to live with what they’ve written for years, and it will stay with them like a snapping turtle biting into their foot.

    I dunno, maybe it’s that good, but I don’t know how to take this. I still wonder if this isn’t a prank on his part. Isn’t he giving himself away with this sentence?

    Drew McWeeny’s HitFix review says most of what I would have said and some other stuff I wouldn’t have written because I’m not enough of a geek.

    He’s not enough of a geek, but he’s going to call it a “watershed moment” of the century? Something’s not right here. He’s just screwing around, unless he’s really lost his mind.

  6. And the truth finally comes out. Rather than directly quote David Poland, Wells decides to do his own paraphrase:

    And costar Hayley Atwell — I’m paraphasing — could be the focus of a Douglas Sirk movie, and she has truly stirring ta-tas!

    Expect an e-mail to surface telling of Jeff’s request for behind-the-scenes photos any minute

  7. I’d rather be patriotic and lose than side with a bunch of pasty Brits!

    Captain America – $63.7 million

    1. More
    2. Less

  8. Rob: Captain Americuh $75 million
    1) More
    2) Less

    filmman: Captain America: 69 million
    1. More
    2. Less

    Brian: Captain America: World Police – $64 million
    1. More
    2. Less

    Juan: Captain America – $63.7 million
    1. More
    2. More

    Jackrabbit Slim: Captain America – 55 million
    1. Less
    2. More

    Nick: Hairy Nutter and the Deadly Below, part 2 – $73 million
    1. Less
    2. Less

    Joe Webb: The Boy Who Lived – $67.890m
    1. More
    2. More

    Jeanine: HP7.2 – $65 million
    1) Less
    2) Less

  9. Too late for me, but I think I would have changed #2 to More as well. Would have stuck with everything else though.

  10. Looks like it’s between filmman and I for first place. CapAm will be #1, estimates right now are $66 million. A little bump would favor filmman, a little dip would give me a possibility of a bonus.

    #1 will obviously be more, #2 is too close to call at this point. Potter drops 80% or so … wow.

  11. Looking ahead…I am REALLY stumped, I mean no clue as to how Cowboys and Aliens might perform. Is anyone interested in seeing it?

  12. Weekend estimates:
    Captain America – $65.8 million

    That would give me first if it holds, and Juan second.

    First bonus – more, obviously
    Second bonus – less. Friends has $18.5 million

  13. Glad I wasn’t in time to change my #2 guess…it’s the only (half) point I’ll get this week.

  14. Hope Nick doesn’t mind my taking the liberty:

    Final: Captain America: $65.1 million
    1. More ($65.1 million)
    2. Less ($18.6 million)

    Congrats me! And also Juan.

    Rob: Captain Americuh $75 million
    1) More +0.5
    2) Less +0.5

    filmman: Captain America: 69 million
    1. More +0.5
    2. Less +0.5

    Brian: Captain America: World Police – $64 million +4
    1. More +0.5
    2. Less +0.5

    Juan: Captain America – $63.7 million +2
    1. More +0.5
    2. More

    Jackrabbit Slim: Captain America – 55 million
    1. Less
    2. More

    Nick: Hairy Nutter and the Deadly Below, part 2 – $73 million
    1. Less
    2. Less +0.5

    Joe Webb: The Boy Who Lived – $67.890m
    1. More +0.5
    2. More

    Jeanine: HP7.2 – $65 million
    1) Less
    2) Less +0.5

Leave a Reply

