AGEBOC ’11 – July 29-31

Standard

Predict the #1 film of the weekend.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus questions:

1. Will The Smurfs earn more or less than 26 million?

2. Will Crazy, Stupid, Love earn more or less than 19 million?

Deadline is Thursday, July 28 23:59 pm (blog time).

To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current rankings
Jackrabbit Slim 26.5
Brian 24.5
Jeanine 21.5
Joe Webb 17.5
Filmman 15.5
Juan 14
Nick 11
Rob Hunter 8
Marco Trevisiol 7.5
James 2

23 responses »

  1. Cowboys and Aliens – $50
    1. Less
    2. More

    My mom told me that the movie doesn’t look good at all, but she likes Harrison Ford, so she’ll go see it.

  2. Can I change my guess? I want to change Cowboys & Aliens to $42 million. Not because of Juan’s guess, but I think I was guessing way too high.

  3. COWBOYS & ALIENS $45.6 million

    1) Less
    2) Less

    I hate this game.

    (Also, 50/50 aka I’M WITH CANCER is fantastic. Funny, honest, and just touching enough to mist the eyes a bit more than once. Joseph Gordon Levitt is really good, but Anna Kendrick steals the show in her supporting role.)

  4. Was feeling good on $49 million after doing some inflation calculations on past adventure movies, but now everybody’s going limbo low. Hmmm… I’ll stay. Traveling tomorrow to, so no guess changing then.

  5. I’m confident no more than 30 million for Cowboys and Aliens…….
    I said the same thing about [insert *most any* Hollywood blockbuster here] but I stand confident with this prediction-

  6. Other editors put me on hold so they could arrange sponsors and such, but then never got to it. By the time it was decided we would do without I felt too much time had already passed and too little was left so I pulled the plug.

    So now it’ll be premiering in 2012…

  7. That sucks, Rob. That does give you a lot of time to make a cool banner, though. And find sponsors. We should have sponsors.

    Anyway, you and Joe are looking good for this weekend: Deadline is estimating 45 million for C&A, 32 for Smurfs and 19 for Crazy.

  8. This weekend is a total toss-up. Filmman may end up taking it, with Nick getting 2nd. Or Nick will be 1st with Jackrabbit 2nd. Anyone in the 40’s is pretty much out…dagnabbit

  9. This makes C&A an unbelievable flop, doesn’t it? I look forward to hearing Dave Poland explain why it’s actually a pretty good number that Universal should be happy with and we’d all realize it if we weren’t so suckered by Finke’s spin.

  10. Too funny … studio estimates have Smurfs and Cowboys & Aliens tied at $36.2 million. So it’s filmman or Nick, with Nick getting at least two points either way.

    Though I will not get points, I will point out that my fake title for C&A was absolutely dead-on bullseye right, as apparently was my speculation in Openings that people don’t like Harrison Ford anymore.

    As for the bonus questions, #1 is obviously more. CSL is currently estimated at $19.3 million, so that’s a tentative though not certain more as well.

  11. I’d also like to point out that I was completely clairvoyant in all of my predictions as Potter has matched Avatar in the ‘fastest-to-$1billion’ category and Cars2 is set to eclipse Cars in foreign markets. Paul Dergarabedian and Jeane Dixon ain’t got nothin’ on me!

  12. The actuals according to Box Office Mojo:

    1. Cowboys & Aliens – $36,431,290
    2. The Smurfs – $35,611,637
    5. Crazy, Stupid, Love – $19,104,303

    Yay!

    Brian: Harrison Ford Is Washed Up – $54 million
    1. Less
    2. Less

    Juan: Cowboys and Aliens – $49.3 million
    1. Less
    2. Less

    Rob: COWBOYS & ALIENS $45.6 million
    1) Less
    2) Less

    Joe Webb: C&A – $44.444m
    1. Less
    2. Less

    Jeanine: Cowboys and Aliens – $42 million
    1. Less
    2. More +0,5

    Jackrabbit Slim: Cowboys Get Probed: 39 mil +2
    1. Less
    2. Less

    Nick: Cowboys & Aliens – 38 million +4
    1. More +0,5
    2. Less

    filmman: Smurfs – 32 million
    1. More +0,5
    2. Less

Leave a Reply

