38 responses »

  1. Hey Nick, what do you folks consider uncomfortably warm there in Sweden, temperature-wise? It looks like you guys are a considerably cooler than we are on average in the summers. Is the mentality generally the hotter, the better, since truly hot weather is rare? Or do people start complaining when you get up around 80 degrees (or 27 Celsius)? What would constitute a noteworthy heatwave?

    I just ask because the difference in perspective between here and Dallas, where it’s cruelly hot, is quite radical. 90 degrees (about 32 C) will get complaints here (not least of all from me), especially on a humid day, but that’s downright merciful in mid-summer for Dallasites.

    But mathematically, Chicago and Stockholm are about as different on average in the summers as Chicago and Dallas, so I’m curious if there’s as much of a perspective shift.

  2. I was really hoping August was going to be a good month, compared to the crap of a month July was for me…but so far it’s not much better. It would be really nice if they could just get the A/C in my office fixed (although I’m thankful that I’m not in Dallas without A/C).

    I keep looking at my fall scarves that hang on the wall next to the door longing for the day I can start wearing them again.

  3. In this ‘randon’ thread, I just want to say:
    I can’t believe how unbelievably bad Sucker Punch was as a narrative film.

  4. I’ve seen 76 movies theatrically this year, including all the re-issues and retrospectives and whatnot. Obviously that’s a lot more than most people but each of the past three years I had passed that by the end of May. In 2008 I passed it in April. In fact, I’m at my slowest pace since I started keeping a list in 2006, which means I’m seeing less than I did when I lived in Dallas.

    There are some perfectly good reasons for this. For one thing, I was out of town for most of May, making that an unusually slow month. Also, the Film Center has seemingly had fewer huge retrospectives, like the two-month Kurosawa or David Lean series that ran in previous years. Actually the Film Center’s programming overall has taken a less revivalist skew, perhaps because 35mm prints of older movies are scarcer/more expensive than they used to be. I’d be way behind last year’s pace no matter what.

    But mostly, I’m feeling some diminishing returns. I’m skipping a lot more marginal stuff than I have in the past, like The Hangover Part II or the last PotC movie, and the marginal stuff I have bothered with haven’t exactly served as motivators. Captain America, I’m looking in your direction here. The rise of shitty digital projection has quelled my enthusiasm for a lot of indie/foreign stuff that I might have otherwise taken a chance on. A few of the retrospectives the Film Center has had, like the ones for František Vláčil or Patricio Guzmán, haven’t really captured my attention like they might have in years past.

    I don’t really know where I’m going with this. Just a bit of moviegoing ennui that I haven’t been able to shake the last few months. Maybe it’s just a hot summer.

  5. In case anyone missed it, the honorary Oscars this year go to James Earl Jones and make-up artist Dick Smith. Oprah Winfrey gets the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award. The Thalberg was not given this year.

  6. I don’t really know where I’m going with this. Just a bit of moviegoing ennui that I haven’t been able to shake the last few months. Maybe it’s just a hot summer.

    I thought the same thing about 4 years ago, but it’s only gotten worse. I assume it’s just part of getting older. You have other interests/passions and (at least with most studio fare) you’ve seen it all before. Why invest two or more hours of your life for something that will be forgotten by the time you hit the parking lot?

    I still care about film, but like 90% of movies fall into the “why bother?” category now.

  7. On the bright side, seeing a 35mm print of Tarkovsky’s Stalker was quite a treat the other night. I’m not quite sure what I think of the movie, but it was the kind of experience that seems to be very rare lately.

    If the Film Center has a good fall lecture series, and the Music Box has some good matinees when they release their next schedule, and a handful of Oscar-season stuff turns out well, I’ll be good. Or if the Film Center brings around a good retrospective, like the Olivier Assayas retro they promised awhile back that has not materialized.

    Just something to lift me out of the movie doldrums. I don’t think it’ll take much.

  8. Hey Nick, what do you folks consider uncomfortably warm there in Sweden, temperature-wise? It looks like you guys are a considerably cooler than we are on average in the summers. Is the mentality generally the hotter, the better, since truly hot weather is rare? Or do people start complaining when you get up around 80 degrees (or 27 Celsius)? What would constitute a noteworthy heatwave?

    Sorry, didn’t notice there were comments in this thread.

    It’s pretty much like you surmised, although due to our geographic location it’s not really about heat as much as hours of sun.

    It’s the only country I know where the weather reports has a “sun league” that documents actual hours of sun (measured as light stronger than 120 W/m²) that each of the major cities has had over the last month. Visby won last year with an average of 250 hours of sun per month, which is just fantastic.

    So a Swede is unlikely to complain about it being too hot without some other Swede telling him to shut up, unless he was complaining because the days were hot but cloudy.

    We appreciate whatever sun along with temperatures above 15c (60f) we can get. Hell, as soon as temperatures go above 14c (57f) there’s going to be guys in town walking around in shorts and sandals.

    It would take a lot for there to be widespread complaints about the heat. Honestly, if temperatures went above 32c (89.6f) the newspapers would be joyously proclaiming this summer to be a “Supersommar!” As long as there was sun to go along with it.

    This summer we’ve had temperatures here in Stockholm that have been around 28c (82.4f) and I didn’t hear anyone complaining. Most of us were sad that we were stuck at work.

    According to statistics the highest measured temperature in Sweden ever was in July of 1947 in Målilla (no idea where that is, but I feel like going there now), which was 38c (100.4f). Highest measured this year so far has been 34,5c (94.1f)

  9. I think Americans should switch to Celcius. Much like labeling women’s dress sizes in numbers much smaller than actual inches, it might help us think it’s much cooler than it actually is. For example, Dallas having a heat streak of 35 days of 38c doesn’t sound as bad as 35 days of 100F.

  10. This summer we’ve had temperatures here in Stockholm that have been around 28c (82.4f) and I didn’t hear anyone complaining. Most of us were sad that we were stuck at work.

    According to statistics the highest measured temperature in Sweden ever was in July of 1947 in Målilla (no idea where that is, but I feel like going there now), which was 38c (100.4f). Highest measured this year so far has been 34,5c (94.1f)

    Thanks for the good response.

    I would say that 82 (28 C) is generally regarded as something close to the ideal by most people here. At that temperature, the news talks about the gorgeous weather, beaches are full, etc. The only one complaining would probably be me, unless there was also excessive humidity. But then again, I love winter, the colder the better. I have been told to shut up at various times of year.

    I know you’ve done some traveling, but have you ever experienced real 100 degree (32 C) heat? It really sucks the life out of you once it starts getting that hot, especially for more than a couple days in a row. It gets hard to escape the discomfort, even indoors, because all but the best AC systems have a hard time keeping up. Just monstrous, especially here in the States, where outside of the southwestern deserts those temperatures are typically accompanied by significant humidity.

  11. I know you’ve done some traveling, but have you ever experienced real 100 degree (32 C) heat?

    I lived in the south of Spain as a kid, where the average temperature in July sometimes would stay around 33c (91.4f), so yeah, I did for a few years.

    I remember one summer the temperature went up over 40c (105f) and stayed there for days. No one felt like doing anything but staying in the shade and sleeping then.

    On the other hand, the heat in the south of Spain is not a very humid one.

    Last time I experienced prolonged “humid heat” was when I was backpacking for five-six weeks in Thailand. Don’t know what the exact temperature was back then, but it was above 32c (90f).

    But it’s also different when you’re a kid or on vacation.

    Once you’re an adult, working during the summer months, maybe put on some pounds, not able to wear shorts and a t-shirt, the kind of temperatures where you have to wipe the sweat off your forehead really do suck the energy out of you. At least that’s what I noticed last summer.

  12. My first instinct was the same about Ratner … but when I think about it, there’s virtually nothing about the Oscar telecast that I actually like. Doesn’t mean it can’t get worse, of course, but I can’t really say that this bothers me all that much once I get past the initial Ratnerphobic shock.

  13. To followup on the upcoming Fall movie season, the Film Center lecture series is about movies that take place in apartments, with the apartment shaping plots and attitudes blah blah blah. Based on this book, and while the list of movies for the series hasn’t been announced, the movies discussed in that article wouldn’t make for an exciting program.

    Not great news. Too bad. A few years ago Jonathan Rosenbaum did several semesters in a row, about international film organized by decade, and his programming was remarkable. Since then, most semesters have had a couple of things I was excited to see but were disappointing on the whole. This semester might not even have those one or two.

  14. Is there a mathematical calculation for women’s dress sizes? How does one get to a zero?

    …by being anorexic. In all seriousness I think a size 0 indicates that you have a 32″ waist. Ironic that is the same conversion for C to F.

  15. You can give mathematical conversions for Fahrenheit and Celsius and convert women’s dress sizes, but we can’t get screen counts in AGEBOC bonus questions?!

  16. Chris Tucker for Oscar host!

    I wouldn’t be opposed to that. Certainly couldn’t be worse than Franco/Hathaway.

    As for Ratner: I’m not a fan of his work, but his sensibilities might not be the worst fit. At this point, I think they need to throw whatever they can think of at the wall to see what sticks.

  17. You can give mathematical conversions for Fahrenheit and Celsius and convert women’s dress sizes, but we can’t get screen counts in AGEBOC bonus questions?!

    Dude. Easy to find.

  18. For random shits-and-giggles, yeah? I shot this last weekend, it’s the first teaser trailer for the first part of a short:
    This camera may be 7 years old, but oh, how I love it. XL2, available light, no crew, except for me.

  19. The coming of fall always sucked as a child cause it meant the return of school. Some of that mental residue remains. I’d prefer more Summer even though I’m about to head back to blindingly hot Arizona. Fall signals another year will soon come to an end. I’m tired of “good riddance to _____”. Hear it every year. “Can’t wait for 2010 to be over”. They keep slipping away. One by one.

    Now that was depressing.

    Long live the Rat.

  20. Figure I better warn those who haven’t noticed it that the deadline for this week’s AGEBOC is tonight and only about four have put in their guesses so far.

  21. I was thinking about how everyone was talking about how Rise of the Planet of the, yeah, I’m not writing any more of that title, but how everyone was saying how that movie was the most overrated of the year, and I’ve been thinking about it and just to throw it out there, no question for me is that The Town is easily the most overrated film of the last year. Just sayin…..

  22. There’s a fascinating account of the operation to kill bin Laden in a New Yorker from a couple of weeks ago. Did everyone know that Kathryn Bigelow is making a movie version of the event, scheduled to be released in October 2012, just before the election? Nice timing. I don’t know what the title is, but I would call it Neptune’s Spear, which was the name of the operation and is pretty cool title.

  23. Any of our East Coast members feel the earthquake? I did for a few seconds–one item fell off a shelf. I have some people doing work on the apartment and at first I thought they caused it. Epicenter is near Richmond, Virginia.

  24. I didn’t feel it, but many in my building did. Silly FOX was reporting the National Monument collapsed or something, which of course turned out to be nonsense.

  25. I’ll try to get to openings later this afternoon. I have a doctor’s appointment and I’m joining the mad rush in preparing for the hurricane. Plenty of bottled water and canned meat products. Next I’m going to see if all the flashlights in town aren’t sold out.

Leave a Reply

