Opening in Chicago, 08/12

Standard

The Help (trailer)
Director: Tate Taylor (Pretty Ugly People)
Personal Interest Factor: 5
This doesn’t seem like something I’d normally see or likely enjoy, but I wonder if I ought not see it anyway just on the off-chance that it gets some Oscar nominations down the road. It would be good to know how the new Best Picture rules are going to work – it’s not hard seeing this getting a nomination under the same rules that The Blind Side scored under, but it’s hard to see it happening under the old 5-picture rules. Now that we’re somewhere in between, I don’t know what to think. What’s your thought, Slim? You’re the Oscarologist here.
Metacritic: 62

Point Blank (trailer)
Director: Fred Cavayé
Personal Interest Factor: 7
More proof that every Euro thriller that gets released Stateside will be compared to Tell No One. I’m a sucker for stylish Euro thrillers, though, so I’ll try and squeeze this one in if I get a chance. Decent trailer.
Metacritic: 75

Sleep Furiously
Director: Gideon Koppel
Personal Interest Factor: 6
Documentary about the eccentricities of a small Welsh town. Notable mostly because it’s Facets is actually showing a 35mm print, which is quite rare for them. I don’t think I’ll be able to get over there this week, but it’s tempting to try just to encourage the practice.
Metacritic: 64

30 Minutes or Less (trailer)
Director: Ruben Fleischer (Zombieland)
Personal Interest Factor: 5
Zombieland was a one-joke bore, and if the trailer is any indication, so is this one. Zombieland had an infinitely better cast, also. This has Aziz Ansari, doing his usual made-for-TV schtick, and Danny McBride, who is a reason enough to avoid the local multiplex as far as I’m concerned. Think I’ll be skipping this.
Metacritic: 49

The Whisteblower (trailer)
Director: Larysa Kondracki
Personal Interest Factor: 7
Story about a prostitution ring run by UN peacekeepers in Bosnia, starring Rachel Weisz as the titular whistleblower. Not great reviews but I’ll go anyway just because I think Weisz is a terrific actress.
Metacritic: 57

Also this week:
Final Destination 5 (trailer) – not going to start with these now
Glee: The 3d Concert Movie (trailer) – 3D “Glee” concert movie
The Interrupters (trailer) – Chicago anti-violence doc

8 responses »

  1. I think Viola Davis is probably a shoo-in for a Best Supporting Actress nomination, but I’m unsure about its Best Picture prospects. I’ll have my first Oscar preview up in a week or two.

  2. Not a Danny McBride fan!? I didn’t know that was possible. Have you not seen East Down & Bound? Or the new K Swiss commercials? I love that guy. He is reason enough to go see 30 Minutes or Less.

  3. The Help is okay. The Blind Side comparison is apt, because it’s mostly about white guilt, but it’s a much better movie. And Viola Davis is amazing. Full review tomorrow.

  4. It was fine. Pretty much exactly what I expected from the trailer. There’s a late twist that came off as quite contrived, but other than that, it was a solidly executed version of a template that nonetheless felt familiar.

  5. Point Blank was great in the beginning, but then just kinda peters out 3/4s of the way through.
    I wasn’t a real big fan of Tell No One, either, though. I did like it better than Point Blank, though.

Leave a Reply

