Opening in Chicago, 08/19

Standard

Sorry to be late with this today – I’ve been distracted by the firing of Cubs general manager Jim Hendry. Needed to be done. Big story here in this sports-obsessed town.

In other news, I’ll be out of town next week. As always, I’ll offer Openings up to anyone who wants to do it, or else I’ll do it when I get back next Monday. Jeanine and I are headed down to Florida, which is the new “western Nebraska” of destinations for me. I’ll check in long enough to submit an AGEBOC guess but mostly I’ll probably not be on the computer much.

One Day (trailer)
Director: Lone Scherfig (Italian for Beginners, Wilbur Wants to Kill Himself, An Education)
Personal Interest Factor: 6
I thought An Education was better than I expected, but this doesn’t look quite up to that level. I hope this isn’t a complete trainwreck for Hathaway like Love and Other Drugs, which actually made me dislike her a little bit. In other news, I think the poster for this has been in the theater lobby for like 3 years. It’s been a really long time, anyway.
Metacritic: 47

Spy Kids: All the Time in the World (trailer)
Director: Robert Rodriguez (Spy Kids 2: The Island of Lost Dreams, Spy Kids 3: Game Over, The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl, Shorts)
Personal Interest Factor: 3
I actually liked the first two Spy Kids movies, but I never saw the third, and have lost all enthusiasm for Rodriguez in general. It’s hard to imagine what he could do that would make me want to say, “Wow, that sounds really good.”
Metacritic: no score yet

Viva Riva! (trailer)
Director: Djo Tunda Wa Munga
Personal Interest Factor: 7
I’ll almost certainly miss this, but it looks interesting, a crime thriller from Kinshasa.
Metacritic: 65

Also this week:
Conan the Barbarian (trailer) – pointless remake
Fright Night (trailer) – pointless remake
One Lucky Elephant – doc about a circus elephant
Senna (trailer) – doc about auto racer Ayrton Senna

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

