Opening in New York, 8-26

Standard

The entire tri-state area is buzzing with hurricane preparation. I’ve been through only one, Gloria, back in 1985. I remember going into the office in New York, them letting us go home, and taking a packed PATH train. I then had to walk about a mile in horizontal rain. But Gloria was pretty much a bust. As long as my power doesn’t go out I’m up for a nice storm.

Brighton Rock
Director: Rowan Joffe
Personal Interest Factor: 8
Remake of the British film of the Graham Greene novel. Seems sophisticated and classy and right up my alley, despite the lukewarm reviews.
Metacritic: 55

Columbiana
Director: Olivier Megaton
Personal Interest Factor: 5
Looks like a La Femme Nikita for Latin America. And what do you, it was produced and written by Luc Besson. Times critic Mike Hale refers to it as part of the “lethal-woman-in-her-underwear genre,” which earns it a solid 5 from me.
Metacritic: 47

Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark
Director: Troy Nixey
Personal Interest Factor: 3
Has all the trappings of yet another disposable horror film, but it was produced by Guillermo Del Toro, so it might be a bit better than the average horror crap-fest.
Metacritic: 56

Higher Ground
Director: Vera Farmiga
Personal Interest Factor: 7
Directorial debut of the actress in a drama about religion that A.O. Scott compares to Apostle. Sounds good but mighty serious.
Metacritic: 74

Our Idiot Brother
Director: Jesse Peretz
Personal Interest Factor: 6
Another film that seems inspired byJudd Apatow, about a man-child. Paul Rudd stars, and I like Paul Rudd, so sue me. A great cast on paper– Emily Mortimer, Zooey Deschanel, Steve Coogan, Rashida Jones, Elizabeth Banks. But probably a rental for me.
Metacritic: 61

Also this week:

Chasing Madoff: Documentary on guess who.
The Family Tree: A “flat satirical farce,” with familiar faces Dermot Mulroney and Hope Davis.
Circumstance: Persian-language film.
A Proper Violence: Crime drama “drenched in testosterone and festering grudges.”
Special Treatment
: French drama with Isabelle Huppert as a prostitute.
Stripped Down: Movie about a strip club, “bad in so many ways I can’t help but feel a slightly tender affection for it.”
Tales from the Golden Age: A six-episode Romanian-language film.


About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

Leave a Reply

