Random Thread for September

Standard

It’s a new month, gang.

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

54 responses »

  1. Eddie Murphy now confirmed to host the Oscars. I doubt he’ll ever be as great as he was in the beginning of the 80’s, but this is definitely a big step in the right direction, for the Oscars and Murphy.

  2. It’s actually been sitting on the shelf for a couple of years now, which isn’t very promising.

    To be fair: they’re labeling it as a prequel (set days before Carpenter’s remake) although it seems pretty damned similar to the last film.

  3. They’re remaking Point Break.
    Point Break.
    They’re remaking it.
    Johhny Utah rides again.
    50 to 1 they choose Channing Tatum.

  4. Gotta catch up here…

    Filmman – nice trailer. The husband/wife discussion was on the nose! (ha ha)

    Murphy might make me watch

    James is commenting again?

    Point Break – That’s Marco’s favorite movie!

    John who?

    RAIDERS WON! I’m utterly shocked

  5. No disrespect meant to John Calley, but he never really produced a great movie. Maybe you’re talking about his period at Warner Brothers, when they made such films as The Exorcist and Superman. As a credited producer, he made Remains of the Day (the only one on the list I give an unqualified thumbs up), Ice Station Zebra, The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons, The Cincinnati Kid, and Catch-22. An eclectic mix, but no classics.

  6. Slim, can we let the man rest before bagging his prodigious and, by any standards, productive and successful career?

    Next thing you know, when Brett Ratner passes, and someone marks the occasion, they’ll list all his successful movies and then talk about how uninspiring his career was.

  7. No disrespect meant to John Calley, but he never really produced a great movie. Maybe you’re talking about his period at Warner Brothers, when they made such films as The Exorcist and Superman.

    Mostly I’m talking about his work as a studio executive, yeah. One good studio executive can be and usually is worth more than one good producer, in my view, since he’s the one who can actually greenlight the films. And Calley greenlighted more good and succesful movies, consistently, than any studio executive I can think of.

  8. How could the realtor surprise him with the fact it’s a zoo?
    isn’t that gross negligence or something?
    And isn’t Damon’s father only solidifying his loser status by not even READING up on the properties he’s going to look at?
    …puzzling.

  9. Indeed. How does one accidentally buy a zoo? And how would this be, in any way, a good thing for the animals? Why would the responsible thing to do be anything but sell the animals at once to reputable zoos? And how am I going to get through this movie without wanting to see the characters – and maybe Crowe himself – be fed to the lions, like I wanted to do just from watching the trailer?

    Questions abound. Maybe the movie’s much better than the trailer. Or maybe Crowe’s legitimately lost it and Elizabethtown (which was actually not all that hideous) was just a prelude.

  10. US poster for the remake of 13 Tzameti. I had completely forgotten about the original, a Georgian film which was released here several years ago. Doubt the remake is any good but original director Géla Babluani made it, so who knows.

  11. The Lion King rerelease did almost 30 mil this weekend. I don’t know what that says about the state of current movies, but it’s kind of shocking, given that everyone who went to see probably has it on some form of home video.

  12. Probably not, but you can bet your ass Disney is going to try and replicate this with Aladdin or whatever next year’s Fall Blu-Ray release is. It won’t even come close, of course. The Lion King is (sorry) a different animal.

  13. Netflix is splitting their business in twain–the DVD business will now be called “Qwikster,” while Netflix will be streaming only. Separate websites, separate billing. I don’t get the streaming, so simple for me.

  14. Hastings also said the websites won’t talk to each other, so you’ll (I’ll) have to re-load your “Qwikster” queue from scratch. I have both and do like the opportunity to rent games (except it’s another premium like blu-ray) so I’m not too concerned.

  15. Holy moly, Joe, that was excellent.
    I got chills when he clicks the shutter the first time. Wasn’t expecting that AT ALL. Who did it? Someone you know?
    Seriously…that was good. …dude…….*SPOILER ALERT* ….’leave me’. Crushing.

  16. I know, right???

    The guy is no one I know but his info is all over the vimeo description. And it looks like it rightly won a few awards.

  17. Re: Avatar: can’t say I have much of an opinion one way or the other, but Animal Kingdom really can use another big attraction or three.

  18. I was really excited when Doc Films announced that they were doing a Jean-Pierre Melville retrospective, but now that the schedule’s been released, I’m a little disappointed. I didn’t expect every one of his 14 films to be there, and in fact they had warned that a few would be missing. For example, I’m not sure that Magnet of Doom or When You Read This Letter are available anywhere in the world – hoping that they could find English-subtitled 35mm prints of those films always seemed like a pipe dream.

    But there are only 6 of his 14 films included in the 10-film program, and a few major ones are missing, including Bob le flambeur and Les enfants terribles. And it’s too bad that they couldn’t find room for Neil Jordan’s The Good Thief, which was based on a Melville script, instead of another screening of Breathless, which was reissued only last year and is only tangentially connected to Melville anyway.

    On the bright side, I’m super-excited to see his first film, La silence de la Mer, which is not AFAIK even available on DVD in the US, as well as Le samouraï, which of all his films is perhaps the most iconic. I’ve also never seen Deux hommes dans Manhattan, so that’s a welcome opportunity as well, although I understand it’s generally considered to be one of his lesser films. Provided I can make it to those three, that will leave only the two unavailables I mentioned above, as well as Le deuxième souffle and Dirty Money (Un flic), of his films that I need to see.

    Also on the bright side is their Sidney Lumet series, which is almost entirely made up of movies I haven’t seen – only 12 Angry Men, Network, and Serpico are exceptions.

    There’s also a Woody Allen series, but the U of Chicago is so far away, and I’m not sure how often I’ll really be able to get down that way, especially considering my general apathy for Allen. I should probably at least make it to Manhattan, though.

  19. Just curious–what do you base your apathy for Woody Allen on? Only his movies from the past twenty years or so? If you haven’t seen Manhattan, Annie Hall, Hannah and Her Sisters, Broadway Danny Rose, The Purple Rose of Cairo, Crimes and Misdemeanors, Take the Money and Run, Love and Death or Zelig then you haven’t really seen Woody Allen’s movies. It’s like not liking Shakespeare based on Cymbeline and Love’s Labor’s Lost without seeing Hamlet or Macbeth. If you can see those films, do yourself a favor and go.

  20. I know it’s a blind spot of mine. Of his classics, I’ve only seen Annie Hall, which I really didn’t like all that much.

  21. Well, if you didn’t like Annie Hall, which is my favorite movie of all time and that I’ve seen probably three dozen times, then there’s no point us continuing this discussion. To me it’s like someone saying they don’t like ice cream.

  22. Don’t get me wrong – I’ll enjoy ice cream on a hot day, although I prefer frozen custard and frozen yogurt over ice cream.

    But I really don’t like ice cream on pie, or ice cream cakes, or stuff like that. And faced with the choice between ice cream and other desserts, I’ll invariably choose the other dessert. It’s just not something that I’m enthusiastic about.

  23. Don’t be ridiculous. I’m an outright pizza connoisseur. I love pizza like prospectors love gold.

    I don’t like hot dogs, though, if you were wondering. Hamburgers, yes. Apple pie, yes.

  24. I just can’t understand.
    People are messing themselves over the new Dragon Tattoo trailer…only because they don’t read subtitles. I mean, not that it’s not good, but I felt I was watching the trailer for the old Dragon Tattoo while I was watching it…especially the street scene where he’s taking photos of the missing girl…
    I just don’t get it…

  25. Well, what are you going to do? A vast majority of people in the U.S. won’t watch foreign films, and would rather see recognizable stars. Also, don’t forget that it’s usually only in big cities and college towns where you can even see most foreign films.

  26. Speaking as one who doesn’t mind reading subtitles but didn’t need to for the previous Dragon Tattoo iteration and one who has read the books, I thought that trailer made the movie look great. Looks better than the Swedish version. Although the thing they seem to have done with the dialects is a bit weird.

  27. Saw the trailer last night in front of Moneyball and had a similar reaction to filmman. I understand why the new one is being made, and I’m sure it will be at least marginally better than the Swedish version, which I didn’t think very highly of. But the trailer definitely gave a “been there, done that” vibe to me.

  28. Until I ‘watch’ Mass Effect 2, Mass Effect will be one of the most engaging, enthralling, involving, satisfying pieces of entertainment I’ve ‘watched’ in the last decade.

  29. Well, JS, I went to Manhattan tonight and … just can’t excited about it. There’s a bubble of self-absorption that covers Allen’s films that I find very hard to get past. It’s like being invited to sit in on someone’s therapy sessions, only then he leans so hard on his one-liners and punchlines that it feels like being pushed away. It’s almost hostile. And all I can think is that I wouldn’t even be there if he hadn’t invited me.

    I think this is why I found Midnight in Paris easier to take – it’s more obviously fanciful for one thing, but also casting Owen Wilson instead of himself gives some natural remove. It doesn’t feel so much like being caught inside of someone’s own personal mental jail, like I feel with both this and Annie Hall.

  30. Well, Brian blasted his heresy against Woody Allen…and jeezus that stings, so on a related note, looks like Courageous was ‘in your wheelhouse’, as Slim would say, Joe, and looks like it’s gonna be number 3 this weekend. Did you see it? Any good?

Leave a Reply

