Opening in Chicago, 09/09

Standard

Circumstance (trailer)
Director: MAryam Keshavarz
Personal Interest Factor: 6
Iranian drama about two young lesbians. Obviously the hook here is the oppressive Iranian social regime, and as interesting as this all sounds … I can’t help but feel I know how it will go without seeing the movie. Feels like the wrong time of year to release this, because if it was a couple months ago when there was nothing playing, it’d be easy to make time to see it. But now quality movies are coming out on a weekly basis.
Metacritic: 64

Contagion (trailer)
Director: Steven Soderbergh (Ocean’s Thirteen, Che, The Girlfriend Experience, The Informant!)
Personal Interest Factor: 10
Good cast, good trailer, interesting subject matter, and one of the most interesting directors working. Yes, I’m looking forward to this one.
Metacritic: 68

The Hedgehog (trailer)
Director: Mona Achache
Personal Interest Factor: 6. Or maybe 5. Or maybe 4
French film about an 11-year-old girl who wants to kill herself when she turns 12, until she gets to know the building concierge. Could either be offbeat and good or quirky and unbearable. Trailer doesn’t give much either way. Doubt I’ll find out, but who can say.
Metacritic: 62

Mozart’s Sister (trailer)
Director: René Féret
Personal Interest Factor: 6
Drama about, well, Mozart’s sister Nannerl. This is sort of what I meant in my description of Circumstance – this appears to be another foreign drama with feminist overtones, and which one is better? I might see one or the other, but probably not both, and they’re mostly indistinguishable to me in terms of appeal.
Metacritic: 72

Summer
Four Adventures of Reinette and Mirabelle
Director: Eric Rohmer (My Night at Maud’s, Claire’s Knee, Autumn Tale, The Romance of Astrea and Celadon)
Personal Interest Factor: 7
Eric Rohmer died last year, and I’ve never seen one of his films. As far as I know, he’s the only French New Waver that I can say that about. Conveniently, the Film Center is showing two of his films this week, but unfortunately, they’re from the 1980s, and not from the New Wave period. I’ll probably go anyway but I admit the thought doesn’t excite me much.
Metacritic: n/a

Warrior (trailer)
Director: Gavin O’Connor (Tumbleweeds, Miracle, Pride and Glory)
Personal Interest Factor: 7
I’ll probably see this despite my total lack of interest in MMA and the general feeling that it’s more or less a retread of The Fighter. At least it should be interesting to see Hardy and Nolte in the movie; have no opinion on Edgerton.
Metacritic: 72

Also this week:
Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star – Nick Swardson: born to be the latest Sandler backbencher
Children of Glory – Hungarian movie about the 1956 Olympic water polo team, scripted by Joe Eszterhas
Creature (trailer) – low-budget horror junk
Kevin Hart: Laugh at My Pain (trailer) – stand-up comedy
Littlerock (trailer) – Japanese tourists in Los Angeles

5 responses »

  1. Bucky Larson opens to less than $1000 per screen and only $1.45 million overall. It made less per screen than Captain America did, which is playing in discount theaters. And Transformers. It lost the weekend overall to The Smurfs.

    As Jeanine just said, that restores some faith in humanity. It seems pretty much nobody wanted to see this.

  2. Gee, and the guy in the Bucky Larson commercial said he had hypnotized everybody into seeing it. Maybe this will be the end of Happy Madison, but that’s a pipe dream on my part.

  3. To expand on my comment, the Bucky Larson ads really made me think we were living in an “Idiocracy” world. The fact that no one went to see it made me think that we’re not as close to that world as I thought (yet).

Leave a Reply

