HAGEBOC 11 Week 1

Standard

Welcome back! There’s a new sheriff in town this holiday season, as James is busy changing diapers and wondering if he will ever sleep again.

Predict the #1 film for the weekend of November 18-20, 2011. The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points. As per previous years, grosses after midnight on Thursday DO count. Bonus questions are worth half a point each.

Bonus 1:
Will Happy Feet 2 earn more than the 41.5 that the first film made in its opening weekend five years ago? (not adjusted for inflation)

Bonus 2:
Will Immortals fall over 60%?

Bonus 3 Art Project:
Create a banner for the contest! Because I am old and can barely work a toaster I am clueless as to how to make graphics, so those youngsters who know how, please submit a banner. We’ll vote on the winner, who will receive two points.

Deadline is Thursday at 11:59 pm EST.


About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

25 responses »

  1. Nick: Twiligt Schmilight 3 (or 4, I fourget) – 147 million
    1. Nope
    2. Nosydaisy
    3. I don’t have any good ideas right now

  2. I’m back from Brazil and ready to dominate! Or at least participate.

    Domestic Abuse PSA w/ vampires – $150.1 million
    1) Probably
    2) Yes

  3. Wow! Everyone is back!

    Twilight: 155 million
    1. No
    2. Yes

    Thanks for taking over this year, JS. HAGEBOC will only flourish under someone who is actually competent!

  4. Vampire Wedding – $???

    They get married. And have sex. So I’m thinking this will be the highest grossing Twilight film yet.

    At the same time, I’m with Rob. I’m not feeling the buzz either.

    On the other hand, I kind of think I should go big or go home.

    However, Harry Potter was the last movie in the series, and opened during the summer. It’s a school night so I’m thinking midnights won’t be as strong.

    It’s not 3D, but ticket prices have increased since the summer. But advance sales haven’t been that strong.

    Okay, now that I’ve had my existential crisis over the grosses – I have decided that it’ll either gross $170, or $145 million.

    What the hell, I’ll just go with…

    Breaking Dawn – $170
    1. Yes
    2. Yes

  5. Closing bell.

    Rob: Domestic Abuse PSA w/ vampires – $130.1 million
    1) Probably
    2) Yes

    Filmman: Twilight: 135 million

    1. Yes
    2. Yes

    Joe: Breaking Down – 144.444m
    1. Yes
    2. No

    Nick: Twiligt Schmilight 3 (or 4, I fourget) – 147 million
    1. Nope
    2. Nosydaisy

    Jackrabbit Slim: TTS:BDp1, 150 million

    1. Yes
    2. No

    James: Twilight: 155 million
    1. No
    2. Yes

    Juan: Twilight 4 Part 1 – $156 million

    1. No
    2. Yes

    Marco: Twilight – $162m
    1. Yes
    2. No

    Jeanine: Breaking Dawn – $170
    1. Yes
    2. Yes

  6. The reigning heavy hitter, the Pujols of all iterations of AGEBOC, if you will, the Tiger Woods of the Gone Elsewhere box office challenges……….is not playing?

  7. I’m already thinking about questions for next week. I’ll go live on Sunday, with a Tuesday deadline since we have Wednesday openings. But a question for Nick and/or James: do you know of a website that gives reliable data on number of screens? I’ve been to all of the box office sites I know about (mojo, guru, prophets, etc.) and they don’t. I was wondering, for example, how many screens The Descendants was expanding to next week and can’t find it. I’m wondering what sites you used.

  8. question for Nick and/or James: do you know of a website that gives reliable data on number of screens? I’ve been to all of the box office sites I know about (mojo, guru, prophets, etc.) and they don’t. I was wondering, for example, how many screens The Descendants was expanding to next week and can’t find it. I’m wondering what sites you used.

    I always used the Release Schedule at boxofficemojo.com (link on the left side under Features).

    Sometimes they pop up at the Movies forums over at hsx.com

  9. The reigning heavy hitter, the Pujols of all iterations of AGEBOC, if you will, the Tiger Woods of the Gone Elsewhere box office challenges……….is not playing?

    Nah, I think I’m passing again. I like AGEBOC a lot and I feel like it’s a welcome diversion from how horrible all the summer movies are. During the holidays, though, there are a lot of good movies out, and the box office race barely registers as an afterthought.

  10. Actuals are in:

    Twilight Breaking Dawn, $138,122,261
    1. No, decidedly ($21,237,068)
    2. Yes (-62%)

    Rob: Domestic Abuse PSA w/ vampires – $130.1 million
    1) Probably
    2) Yes (+.5)

    Filmman: Twilight: 135 million (+4)

    1. Yes
    2. Yes (+.5)

    Joe: Breaking Down – 144.444m (+2)
    1. Yes
    2. No

    Nick: Twiligt Schmilight 3 (or 4, I fourget) – 147 million
    1. Nope (+.5)
    2. Nosydaisy

    Jackrabbit Slim: TTS:BDp1, 150 million

    1. Yes
    2. No

    James: Twilight: 155 million
    1. No (+.5)
    2. Yes (+.5)

    Juan: Twilight 4 Part 1 – $156 million

    1. No (+.5)
    2. Yes (+.5)

    Marco: Twilight – $162m
    1. Yes
    2. No

    Jeanine: Breaking Dawn – $170
    1. Yes
    2. Yes (+.5)

    Standings are being updated.

Leave a Reply

