Opening in Chicago, 04/13

Standard

Blue Like Jazz (trailer)
Director: Steve Taylor (The Second Chance)
Personal Interest Factor: 7
I have no idea what to make of this – is it Left Behind-style prostelytization or merely a coming-of-age story involving matters of faith and religion? But either way, the trailer is pretty compelling, and I’m inclined to check it out, even though the reviews are pretty weak.
Metacritic: 46

Bully (trailer)
Director: Lee Hirsch (Amandla! A Revolution in Four Part Harmony)
Personal Interest Factor: 1
This has made a lot of news for the protracted and exceedingly pointless fight over its original R rating, which allowed the uber-cynical Weinsteins to spend a couple of months crowing over how unfair it was because everyone needs to see this wonderfully important and consequential work of art. What a fucking joke. Meanwhile, the movie looks pretty terrible, like the kind of thing that accomplishes nothing except to allow audiences to pat themselves on the back for having the wisdom and courage to care enough to see the thing in the first place. What a fucking joke.
Metacritic: 74

The Cabin in the Woods (trailer)
Director: Drew Goddard
Personal Interest Factor: 4
Changes everything, turns the genre inside out blah blah blah blah blah blah blah
Metacritic: 73

Damsels in Distress (trailer)
Director: Whit Stillman (Metropolitan, Barcelona, The Last Days of Disco)
Personal Interest Factor: 6
I haven’t seen Stillman’s previous movies, though I remember kind of wanting to see The Last Days of Disco when it came out. I feel the same way about this movie, in that I kind of want to see it. The trailer is amusing but also makes me wonder if a full movie can sustain that kind of tone without it becoming wearying by the end.
Metacritic: 70

Lockout (trailer)
Directors: Saint & Mather
Personal Interest Factor: 5
Once upon a time, random action junk like this was kinda fun, but there aren’t too many of those lately. Maybe this one is, but being a CGI-fest the odds are against it.
Metacritic: 48

The Three Stooges (trailer)
Directors: Peter Farrelly & Bobby Farrelly (Stuck on You, Fever Pitch, The Heartbreak Kid, Hall Pass)
Personal Interest Factor: 2
Man oh man. A decade or so in development hell and it looks like this is the best the Farrellys could do? Despite my best efforts to avoid everything about the movie, I’ve read a couple of times now about how they were intent on duplicating the original Stooges as much as possible. And I can’t help wondering, what’s the point? People who want the originals can still watch the originals, what do they need this for? Seems epically pointless, even if I were inclined to be favorable towards a Stooges movie, which I’m really not.
Metacritic: 55

Also this week:
Deadline – murder mystery starring Eric Roberts
Detention – slasher comedy
L!fe Happens (trailer) – pregnancy comedy
This Is Not a Film (trailer) – doc about Iranian director Jafar Panahi’s house arrest
Woman Thou Art Loosed: On the 7th Day (trailer) – sequel to the 2004 film)

6 responses »

  1. Lockout looks like a lot of fun, the villain (Joseph Gilgun) is reportedly a blast. He was terrific in This is England and is probably due to breakout on these shores.

  2. I’m a big Whit Stillman fan. Metropolitan is a terrific movie. I’ve been long looking forward to his next effort, but I have this sinking feeling I’m going to be disappointed.

  3. I should revisit Barcelona and Metropolitan one of these days. I didn’t enjoy them upon release, but it probably had more to do with my maturity level (being in my teens at the time) rather than the films themselves.

  4. I read Blue Like Jazz a few years ago and had no idea what to make of it. It came highly recommended but I was lost. I expected it to be somewhat linear and was thrown off by the disjointed chapters. It seemed more like a collection of autobiographical essays arranged in random order completely devoid of time reference (one of my pet peeves).

    Having said all that, I am glad that this movie came to fruition. Steve Taylor has always been a quirky, sarcastic, creative guy and even though I never liked his music I always appreciated his lyrical wittiness. I’m glad Kickstarter saved the project and hope it works out well for Don Miller et al.

    And definitely not in the realm of Left Behind at all

  5. “You look right staunch, mate.”
    Lockout is getting eviscerating reviews.

    I read Blue Like Jazz a few years ago and had no idea what to make of it. It came highly recommended but I was lost. I expected it to be somewhat linear and was thrown off by the disjointed chapters. It seemed more like a collection of autobiographical essays arranged in random order completely devoid of time reference (one of my pet peeves).

    This SAME THING happened to me when I read Mamet’s Wilson.

Leave a Reply

