AGEBOC ’12 – May 11-13

Standard

Predict the #1 film of the weekend.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus questions:

1. Will The Avengers drop more or less than 60% during its second weekend?

2. Will Dark Shadows earn more or less than 43 million?

Deadline is Thursday, May 10 23:59 pm (blog time)

To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current rankings

Rob – 5
Jackrabbit Slim – 3
Juan – 1
Nick – 1
filmman – 1
James – 0.5
Jeanine – 0.5
Joe Webb – 0.5
Brian – 0.5

31 responses »

  1. Hmm, I was questioning yours too, but I figured you were hedging your bets.

    60% is roughly $120 million right? So 60% drop from $207 million brings it to $82.8 million. So I’m off by a million and change if I want the two to match.

    Or am I completely doing this math wrong in my head…

  2. Think of it like this:

    If it drops a 100% it earns nothing and if it drops 90% it earns only 10% of what it earned the previous weekend so, logically, if she weighed the same as a duck she’s made of wood and therefore…

  3. Not sure if Juan is going to get in a guess as he’s on a production at a waste treatment site in Los Angeles. I would assume he’ll be showering until sometime next week.

  4. Avengers: 111 million, becoming the first movie to earn 100 million or more in its second weekend.

    Yup.

  5. I debated raising my AVENGERS guestimate, but decided to stick to my initial instinct. Looking at the daily weekday totals though I’m thinking my instinct has failed me.

  6. Avengers dropped pretty big on Wednesday, but it’s weekday total average is still insane.

    Dark Shadows had a pretty bad Midnight performance (500k), which also bodes well for Avengers.

  7. Deadline is projecting around 95-100 million now for The Avengers, and 28 million for Dark Shadows.

  8. I just saw Dark Shadows. Not bad, full review tomorrow. But it occurs to me that I’m the age of the average viewer who knows what Dark Shadows is. The big teen demographic has no idea. I guess it proves they won’t go to see Johnny Depp in just anything.

  9. Great movie gods……..it really broke a hundred million its second weekend. I will be SHOCKED if the goddamn Batman can pull off an upset of THAT. ….the only time I didn’t buy HSX stock of a summer blockbuster, What was I thinking?

Leave a Reply

