AGEBOC ’12 – June 15-17

Standard

Predict the #1 film of the weekend.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus questions:

1. What will be the number 2 film, in grosses, this weekend?

2. What will be the number 3 film, in grosses, this weekend?

Deadline is Thursday, June 14 23:59 pm (blog time)

To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current rankings

filmman – 12
Joe Webb – 11.5
Jeanine – 11
Jackrabbit Slim – 10.5
Rob – 10
Juan – 9
James – 5.5
Nick – 4.5
Brian – 3

24 responses »

  1. It’s been a while since I’ve seen conflicting estimates on the top 3 movies which means this week is truly a crap shoot.

    Madagascar – $32 Million
    That’s My Boy – 28 million
    Rock of Ages – 25.7 Million

  2. This is a crucial week for me to retain the lead…

    Madagascar 3: 37.5 million
    1. Rock of Ages
    2. That’s My Boy

    Do we have to give the Gross total for bonuses?

  3. Madagascar 3 – $33.5 million

    1) That’s My Boy – $28 million
    2) Rock of Ages – $24 million

  4. So I’m the only one who guessed Rock of Ages? That means I’m either in good shape or I’m hopelessly screwed.

  5. Right now it looks good for Jackrabbit Slim, although the way you guys bunched your guesses together this week that could change.

    Prometheus is in 2nd … the musical and the Sandler thing both tanked.

  6. I’d rather That’s My Boy do well than the general Adam Sandler movie as Sandler actually seemed to be trying in this one, but Rock of Ages – that just pisses me off. I mean – they do a scene where they throw together We’re Not Gonna Take It and We Built This City. The former is not just a hair metal classic – but a flat out rock and roll classic. The latter – the worst rock song ever recorded. And it’s not even hair metal! Kids are gonna see this movie and think Jefferson Starship is fucking hair metal! And Foreigner is one of the bands they advertise having music from! Foreigner isn’t hair metal any more than Journey is!!!!

  7. Meanwhile, Moonrise Kingdom continues to dominate arthouse crowds … $12K average in its fourth week, at 178 locations.

  8. Andy Samberg picked a bad week to quit his day job. As Brian mentioned in Openings: he doesn’t appear to have what it takes to cross over to film (and I can’t imagine he’ll be swamped with offers after this weekend)

    His best bet would be to head to Comedy Central or IFC or something and develop his own sketch show in the style of his SNL Digital Shorts.

  9. I’m pretty surprised by Rock of Ages failure. It kind of became of presumed blockbuster in my mind thanks to the success of the Broadway show and the press Cruise has received for his role.

  10. Looks like Juan missed the bonus by a half-million. Jackrabbit Slim gets second, beating out Rob by a mere $10K. Nick gets nothing, so he stays down here in the basement with me.

  11. Argh, so close, yet so far.

    1. Madagascar 3 – $34,055,474
    2. Prometheus – $20,712,174
    3. Rock of Ages – $14,437,269
    4. That’s My Boy – $13,453,714

    Jackrabbit Slim
    Madagascar 3: 35 million +2
    1. Rock of Ages (30)
    2. That’s My Boy (28)

    Brian
    Rock of Ages: $37.8 million
    1. Madagascar 3
    2. That’s My Boy

    Jeanine
    Madagascar – $32 Million
    That’s My Boy – 28 million
    Rock of Ages – 25.7 Million +0.5

    James
    That’s My Boy – 35M
    Madagascar
    Rock of Ages +0.5

    Nick
    Madagascar: $37 million
    1. That’s My Boy (33 million)
    2. Prometheus (27 million)

    filmman
    Madagascar 3: 37.5 million
    1. Rock of Ages
    2. That’s My Boy

    Joe Webb
    That’s My Boy $36.333m
    1. Madagascar 3
    2. Rock of Ages +0.5

    Rob
    Madagascar 3! $33.1m
    1) Rock of Ages! $26.1m
    2) That’s My Boy! $25.1m

    Juan
    Madagascar 3 – $33.5 million +4
    1) That’s My Boy – $28 million
    2) Rock of Ages – $24 million +0.5

Leave a Reply

