AGEBOC ‘ 12 – July 6-8

Standard

Predict the #1 film of the weekend.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus questions:

1. Which will earn more this weekend: The Savages or Katy Perry: Part of Me?

2. Will The Savages earn more or less than 13 million this weekend?

Deadline is Monday, July 2 23:59 pm (blog time)

To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current rankings

filmman – 18
Juan – 17
Joe Webb – 15.5
Jackrabbit Slim – 13.5
Rob – 12.5
Jeanine – 12
James – 11.5
Nick – 5
Brian – 3.5

34 responses »

  1. Wow, have the wheels ever come off for me. I need two perfect 7-point weekends just to get back in this thing – even then I still wouldn’t have the lead.

    Some of it has just been bad luck – I’ve been close to points a few times and come away empty. But still, something is very clearly awry for me here.

  2. Hmm, between moving, not realizing/remembering the Monday cutoff, and not knowing the blog time… I think my answer is late. But here it is anyway for posterity.

    Spider-Man $81.1 million
    1) Savages
    2) Less

  3. I’ll throw mine in for posterity as well.

    Spider-Man – $90 million

    1. Katie Perry
    2. Less

  4. Because of the altered deadline, and in the interest of fair play, I think we should take Rob and Juan’s guesses. But no others at this point.

  5. I guess nick took my suggestion. Too bad I was driving all day Sundays and Monday to see it. so long third place! I’ll try for an August surprise =)

  6. The totals for the week don’t matter. We’re guessing Fri-Sun. I mean, there could be a slight advantage I guess, but how much could he really gain?

    On a side note: “Tracking for Spider-Man is flat across the board.”
    Muwahahahaha. Oh, wait, overseas it’s bigger than Avengers. Damn you, global marketplace. I guess the reboot of the reboot of the Spider-Man will be in two years now.

  7. As much as I’m normally reluctant to make exceptions, even I think moving the deadline to tonight is fair. If there had been more advance warning of a short deadline, I’d feel differently, but there wasn’t even 48 hours between when the Monday deadline was announced and when it expired.

  8. I concur! For reasons both selfish and fair… now if only I can convince enough of America to go see the damn Spider-Man reboot.

  9. Thank you to Slim for letting me know about the extended deadline and for everyone else who voted for extension! Now my guess from sunny New Mexico:

    Spiderman 66.7m
    1. Katy Perry
    2. Less

  10. 60-65 million for Spider-Man, which right now means either me or Nick. Joe is making a last-second push around the last turn, though.

  11. At least I got the first bonus correct. I have no idea why I said “less” for the second, I think I just made a mistake.

  12. These concert films aimed towards tweens inexplicably keep getting made. Aside from Justin Beiber: Never Say Never and Hannah Montana/Miley Cyrus: Best of Both Worlds (which still sounds like a transsexual adult feature) they’ve all tanked.

  13. 1. The Amazing Spider-Man – $62,004,688
    4. The Savages – $16,016,910
    8. Katy Perry: Part of Me Par. – $7,138,266

    Juan
    Spider-Man – $90 million
    1. Katie Perry
    2. Less

    Jeanine
    Spidey – 86m
    1. The Savages +0.5
    2. Less

    Rob
    Spider-Man $81.1 million
    1) Savages +0.5
    2) Less

    Brian
    Spiderman: $79 million
    1. The Savages +0.5
    2. Less

    Jackrabbit Slim
    Spider Man: 75 million
    1, Katy Perry
    2. Less

    Joe Webb
    Spiderman 66.7m
    1. Katy Perry
    2. Less

    Nick
    Spiderman 64 million +4
    1. Katy Perry
    2. Less

    filmman
    Spider Man: 60 million +2
    1. Katy Perry
    2. Less

Leave a Reply

