AGEBOC ’12 – August 3-5

Standard

Predict the #1 film of the weekend.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus questions:

1. Will Total Recall earn more or less than $35 million this weekend?

2. Will Diary of a Wimpy Kid – Dog Days earn more or less than $20 million this weekend?

Deadline is Thursday, August 2 23:59 pm (blog time)

To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current rankings

Juan – 22
filmman – 20.5
Rob – 18.5
James – 18.5
Joe Webb – 18
Jackrabbit Slim – 17.5
Jeanine – 17
Nick – 11
Brian – 5

38 responses »

  1. Batman – 34M

    1. Less (…and a complete disaster at a budget over 200M. The casting of Jessica Biel in any project seems to have the same effect as walking under a ladder or shattering a mirror)
    2. More

  2. Are you freaking serious that it cost that much? How? Why? What?

    I heard from the picture car guys that it’s a decent pic, save for Biel – who sucks.

  3. I heard from the picture car guys that it’s a decent pic, save for Biel – who sucks.

    Yeah, I remember you saying that a while back. Early screening reports are that it’s “ok”, but as by-the-numbers as you can get. Will almost certainly play better on Blu-Ray than on the big screen.

    It’s going to be interesting to see how Bourne performs next week. I’m getting the feeling it’s not very good based on the marketing, lack of buzz and Renner’s almost ambivalent tone when discussing the film in an interviews.

  4. Kate Beckinsale is kind of box office poison, too, no matter that she looks so damn good.

    Well, those Underworld movies are pretty successful. Outside of Jovavich with her equally-trashy Resident Evil gravy train: Beckinsale is one of the only actresses to successfully anchor an action franchise.

    I did enjoy Nothing but the Truth.

  5. Biel’s resume is like a catalog of modern Hollywood disasters. If only she’d been cast in John Carter or Battleship.

  6. Well, those Underworld movies are pretty successful. Outside of Jovavich with her equally-trashy Resident Evil gravy train: Beckinsale is one of the only actresses to successfully anchor an action franchise.

    Point taken, I guess it’s just when Beckinsale is in something half-way serious that the poison seeps out.

  7. Oh, man…am I the only one picking Total Recall?
    And that is an obscene budget for a movie with Jessica Biel.

  8. Seen the trailer for Total Recall a few times at the cinema – totally underwhelmed by it. “I give good wife”, ugh!

    Doesn’t even look that more technically advanced than the 1990 version.

  9. Ha, that line stands out to me as a groaner as well.

    They really went above and beyond is casting that thing, with Farrell, Beckinsale and Biel in the three leads. It’s hard to think of three less interesting actors to group together – any of the three would have me seriously considering skipping it, but all three together? There’s no chance.

  10. I’m sure it’s competent and mostly painless – it just looks completely joyless compared to the madness of the original. I still like Farrell, but it is hard to think of three leads less capable of bringing “fun” to the proceedings.

    Oddly, Live Free or Die Hard grew on me with it’s endless showings on HBO. Wiseman definitely has skill, I’m just not sure if there’s a soul behind it.

  11. Man, if I had a dollar for every time I’ve heard and said a sentence like that…

    So, it’s just me and the one who doesn’t like Colin Farrell, even though he has a stellar performance and movie like In Bruges on his resume. I assume simply to safeguard me from an easy victory win if it does happen to be Total Recall.

  12. You love it and you know it.

    As to Farrell – he’s great with the right material – but vanilla hero is not his thing.

  13. I assume simply to safeguard me from an easy victory win if it does happen to be Total Recall.

    In past summers you might be on to something, but this summer I’m comically incapable of successfully pulling off any such stunt.

  14. I’d like to change, if I can. I still think it’ll win, just temper it a little.

    Total Recall: 35 million

    1. More
    2. More

  15. See, I don’t know why, but I disagree with that. It seems to me the same people who constantly have an issue with Jude Law. Some people you like, some you don’t. I just think the issues people have with Farrell and Law have more to do with a ‘personal’ type of bias rather than how good they are at their chosen profession.

  16. I think there was/is a lot of backlash towards Law and Farrell due to the feeling that both actors were being forced down our throats in the early/mid 00’s.

    Farrell had eight films from 2002-2003 and Law had seven releases from Christmas 03 to Christmas 04.

  17. I just think the issues people have with Farrell and Law have more to do with a ‘personal’ type of bias rather than how good they are at their chosen profession.

    Obviously personal preferences are a big part of it, but I that the charge of “bias” in this case gets cause and effect backwards. I don’t think that Farrell is bad at his profession because I don’t like him – I don’t like him because I think he’s bad at his profession. If I thought he was good at his profession, I’d like him more. It’s not like I started out not liking him – that happened after I realized he was a bad actor.

    I’m pretty indifferent to Law. As an actor, he mostly seems capable, but not really special.

  18. Farrell was great in In Bruges and was a lot of fun in the otherwise dull Fright Night remake.

  19. filmman
    Total Recall: 35 million
    1. More
    2. More

    Brian
    I Totally Recall Why I Hate Colin Farrell: $30 million
    1. Less
    2. Less

    Jackrabbit Slim
    Batman: 37.5 million.
    1. Less
    2. More

    Nick
    TDKR – 36 million
    1. Less
    2. Less

    James
    Batman – 34M
    1. Less (…and a complete disaster at a budget over 200M. The casting of Jessica Biel in any project seems to have the same effect as walking under a ladder or shattering a mirror)
    2. More

    Rob
    Batman! $32.6 million
    1) Less
    2) More

    Joe Webb
    TDKR – $31m
    1. Less
    2. Less

    Juan
    TDKR – $29 million
    1. Less
    2. More

  20. Total Recall and The Dark Knight Rises are neck-and-neck thus far today. I’d expect Batman to take a slight lead over the weekend, but it’s gonna be close. Could be good news for Brian and Filmman.

  21. 24 million?!
    Really?
    I mean…really? Can’t even push 30 out of a 200 million dollar budget?

  22. Holy crap I might actually get one full point.

    That said, even though I missed the main guess, I’m happy if TDKR beats out TR for the weekend.

  23. Nick gets the bonus and the math is too close for me to figure out between James and Jackrabbit for 2nd place (unless the-numbers.com lied to me again). And another point for me…limping towards September

  24. 1. The Dark Knight Rises – $35,737,330
    2. Total Recall (2012) – $25,577,758
    3. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days – $14,623,599

    Thanks guys! Feels good to get it right at least once this summer.

    Congrats to, eh, lemme do the math…

    Slim: 37500000 – 35737330 = 1762670
    James: 35737330 – 34000000 = 1737330

    James!

  25. filmman
    Total Recall: 35 million
    1. More
    2. More

    Brian
    I Totally Recall Why I Hate Colin Farrell: $30 million
    1. Less +0.5
    2. Less +0.5

    Jackrabbit Slim
    Batman: 37.5 million.
    1. Less +0.5
    2. More

    Nick
    TDKR – 36 million +4 +2
    1. Less +0.5
    2. Less +0.5

    James
    Batman – 34M +2
    1. Less (…and a complete disaster at a budget over 200M. The casting of Jessica Biel in any project seems to have the same effect as walking under a ladder or shattering a mirror) +0.5
    2. More

    Rob
    Batman! $32.6 million
    1) Less +0.5
    2) More

    Joe Webb
    TDKR – $31m
    1. Less +0.5
    2. Less +0.5

    Juan
    TDKR – $29 million
    1. Less +0.5
    2. More

Leave a Reply

