AGEBOC ’12 – August 10-12

Standard

Predict the #1 film of the weekend.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus questions:

1. Will The Campaign earn more or less than $25 million this weekend?

2. Will Hope Springs earn more or less than $15 million this weekend?

Deadline is Wednesday, August 8 17:59 pm (blog time)

To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current rankings

Juan – 22.5
James – 21
filmman – 20.5
Rob – 19
Joe Webb – 19
Jackrabbit Slim – 18
Nick – 18
Jeanine – 17
Brian – 6

28 responses »

  1. I’m going with optimism this weekend.

    The Bourne Legacy – $34 million

    1. More
    2. More

  2. Thanks, Juan. I know it doesn’t quite roll of the tongue, but it sounded better than “sidequel” and “ourleadactorbailedonusquel”.

  3. I wouldn’t be the least bit shocked if Hope Springs ends up surpassing (or at least coming very close to) the other two big openers. It’s very smart counter-programming.

  4. ………………………Joe. I forgot Joe. I thought everyone guessed.

    I can’t imagine this will do over 40, though. They put the worst shot ever in the trailer. So Bourne falls straight down on a guy from a great height between two close walls and all the guy does is look up and shield his face? Hey, buddy…how about *taking a step back*? Or even *forward*? I thought they went the comedy route with Bourne. That scene was exactly like this:

  5. Joe and Filmman should be good for a victory this week. Bourne is blowing up, should easily dominate the weekend with mid/high 40’s or more.

  6. Anyone else wins: Adjusted Sunday night.
    Brian wins: *crickets*.
    …………………………………..thanks, guys.

  7. Sorry, filmman, but AGEBOC-responsible away on work-related trip: crickets on AGEBOC.

    But, sorry to be the half self-serving asshole on another level, but didn’t your guess come in after deadline? 17:59 = 5:59 PM blog time.

    Rob and yours being after that (6:38 and 7:00 PM, respectively)………………….

    Someone back up or disagree with me here.

  8. In the immortal words of Sheldon from ‘Big Bang Theory’:

    “Perhaps you mean a different thing than I do when you say ‘science’.”

  9. Don’t watch Big Bang Theory, although comparisons to Sheldon have been made.

    So, for Aspergers sake, explain your point clearly.

  10. To explain myself: I wasn’t serious when I said ‘crickets’. I know you’re usually busy. And as the boss of AGEBOC, if you say and everyone else agrees, I lose. I assumed it’s always at midnight. I know someone else did it a couple weeks ago and we let it slide. I don’t even know what 17:59 means. I assumed it was an inside joke between you all, based on a scene from a Darren Aronofsky movie.

  11. You know what, we do let it slide. Forgot about last time and there wasn’t any specific data (as far as I’m aware) that would have helped your guess anyhow.

  12. And comparisons to Sheldon? I would take that as a compliment, but I love Sheldon and I love that show.

  13. I suppose the girl at work who made the comparison was trying to pay a compliment, but I never understood what’s so funny about the show. It’s not a very well handled drama about social awkwardness as far as I’m concerned.

  14. Joe Webb +2
    Baby Björn – $39.1m
    1. Less
    2. Less +0.5

    filmman +4 +2
    Bourne: 38 million
    1. More +0.5
    2. More

    Nick
    The Brown Legacy – 37 million
    1. Less
    2. Less +0.5

    Rob
    Still Bourne $36.8 million
    1) More +0.5
    2) More

    Jackrabbit Slim
    Bourne, 34.1 million
    1. More +0.5
    2. Less +0.5

    Juan
    The Bourne Legacy – $34 million
    1. More +0.5
    2. More

    Brian
    The Bourne Parelleloquel: $32 million
    1. More +0.5
    2. Less +0.5

    James
    Bourne 4 – 30M
    1. Less
    2. More

Leave a Reply

