Random Thread for January 2013

Standard

Happy 2013, everyone.

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

37 responses »

  1. Been dark for a few days in terms of being online, my entire household has been battling the flu since Monday.

    Has anyone seen that HBO documentary on the Rolling Stones, Crossfire Hurricane? Watched 20 minutes or so and it seemed great.

  2. In terms of modern movie cliches, probably the one that irritates me most at present is a scene at a romantic dinner (or something similar) where to show a person in a bad light, they get constantly distracted by answering their mobile phone or texting on it. Just a really lazy way to show a character is a jerk.

  3. I’m back. Happy New Year everyone! I had a vacation at home over Christmas break and tried to stay off the internet when possible. Sorry to see that HAGEBOC died a slow death….

  4. Marco:
    Or maybe a truth that’s just become a cliche? What other distraction exists today? You want the lead character to read a newspaper? Have the waiter come over and say there’s a call? Maybe there’s not much else to do since people’s lives now revolve around their phones (namely smartphones) and to not have one is so…well…me, I guess.

  5. Do I need to have seen the first 29 installments before checking out Zero Dark Thirty?

    You should watch them and report back. While you’re at it, I’ve also always been curious about the first six installments of The Magnificent, so try to track those down, too.

  6. Well played, Joe…

    Has anyone seen the trailer for ‘Trance’? Seems like a neat kinda thing for Danny Boyle. Looks a bit slick, but who knows?

  7. Django Unchained wins Golden Globe for best screenplay.
    For some reason, I feel like-nah, never mind. If that was better than Argo or Silver Linings, I saw different movies.

  8. but wait…isn’t that kinda big that it beat Lincoln? Isn’t this some sort of bellwether and won’t it throw prognostications into a tizzy?

  9. Has anyone seen the trailer for ‘Trance’? Seems like a neat kinda thing for Danny Boyle. Looks a bit slick, but who knows?

    Looks ok, but also very cheap. The cast, excluding Vincent Cassel, also worries me.

    Not to knock her, but the casting of Rosario Dawson as the female lead in a 2013 theatrical release seems odd as she’s been doing mostly DTV work in recent years. I figured she’d be hitting one of those Shonda Rhimes shows pretty soon.

  10. Now I see there’s a Movie 43. I totally missed the first 42 installments.

    It looks like they’re releasing them in reverse order. Genius! I totally missed Jackie Robinson in the Movie 43 trailer, so I hope he doesn’t die at the end of this one. Maybe they should have included a spoiler alert.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0453562/

  11. Speaking of Movie 43 – how did they get that cast to agree to appear in what looks like a sub-Wayan Brothers-quality effort? Were they handing out free bags of coke on the set or something?

  12. Not to knock her, but the casting of Rosario Dawson as the female lead in a 2013 theatrical release seems odd as she’s been doing mostly DTV work in recent years. I figured she’d be hitting one of those Shonda Rhimes shows pretty soon.

    I’m sure you already know this.

  13. Am I the only one who thought that rumor of Snyder doing a Seven Samurai/Jedi sidequel sounded kinda cool?

    So sue me for being a hopeless optimist.

  14. Ahhh, well that explains the Rosario Dawson thing. Uh, good for her I guess.

    I’m sure the relationship will be magical until Boyle makes some inexplicable decisions towards the end and ruins the whole thing.

  15. Shouldn’t make you sad Filmman, should make you hopeful! With success comes the ability to date actresses two decades your junior who just happen to be having a rough career patch.

  16. Kind of sucks for Star Trek fans (assuming the next installment is decent, of course) but I always had a feeling he hadn’t intended to direct the sequel until Super 8 underwhelmed.

    Reminds me of the situation with Bryan Singer and X-Men 3 / Superman Returns, although Paramount is in a much better position in terms of finding someone to continue that franchise.

    There’s a report that Matthew Vaughn was indeed the 2nd or 3rd runner-up along with Ben Affleck. His pitch reportedly revolved around a new female protagonist who would have been played by Chloe Moretz.

  17. Rob, glad you liked Upstream Color so much. Very interested to see what it’s about. You placed Stoker a little better than midway through the movies. So Kim Ji-Woon embarrassed himself with Arnold and Park is just ‘alright’?

  18. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that the choice of Star Wars director generated such interest and attention, but considering it’s been three decades since a film in this series got anything like significant public/critical approval, you’d think the interest would’ve dampened just a bit. Yet Twitter was threatening to combust with all the chatter generated by this news.

  19. Does anyone else find it strange that Jennifer Lopez isn’t mentioned anywhere in the trailers for Parker? (Nor is Taylor Hackford, for that matter).

  20. @filmman,

    Yup, UPSTREAM COLOR remains my favorite out of Sundance. I love it, but it’s definitely one of those films I wouldn’t fault someone for not liking.

    Park’s STOKER is a beautiful movie, but it coats along entirely on his visual skills. Apparently chunks of the script weren’t even filmed because he ran out of time… he doesn’t have set production schedules in Korea and is allowed to film until he’s done there. Kim’s LAST STAND is about what I expected with kinetic action and a goofy sense of humor. The best Korean/American-debut hope of 2013 is Bong Joon-ho’s SnowPiercer… but I think that was always going to be the case.

Leave a Reply

