Opened in Chicago, 01/04

Standard

I’m posting late again this week, but fortunately it’s the week after New Year’s and as usual there’s not much going on. The big opening here this weekend was Kathryn Bigelow’s Zero Dark Thirty (trailer), which seems to have awoken a frenzy of liberaler-than-thou critics within the lefty blogospehere that I can barely stand to read. So I guess that this has become controversial in some fashion, although I don’t really get it.

As for the movie, I liked but wasn’t really terribly impressed by The Hurt Locker, and so far this looks like more of the same. Well, not the same, exactly, but this isn’t a story that sounds all that compelling to me (i.e., like something from the movies but real!), and the trailers haven’t done it any favors. I’ll see it, and I’ll probably admire it to some degree like I did The Hurt Locker, but it’s really hard to believe that it’ll be much more than that.

And that’s pretty much it as far as noticeable releases. Here are the assorted indies and others:

Any Day Now (trailer) – Alan Cumming and Garret Dillahunt as a couple who adopt in a disabled child
Price Check (trailer) – uh, I dunno, but Parker Posey’s in it
The Rabbi’s Cat – animated French film about a cat that learns to talk after swallowing a parrot
Sister (trailer) – Swiss-set French film about a young boy who steals to support his older sister
Texas Chainsaw (trailer) – no explanation needed

5 responses »

  1. Those bottom 5 links are the best 5 descriptions about movies placed together anywhere. Coupled with the, what is it, disgust?, of the above description of Zero Dark Thirty’s reception and they’re even better.
    ‘Liberal-than-though’ transforms into ‘a cat who swallows a parrot and learns English’. Well done…

  2. ZDT is a solid procedural and really well acted, but it didn’t make my top ten of the year. Of the list above though I highly recommend SISTER (which did make my list).

Leave a Reply

