Opening in Chicago, 01/18

Standard

Nothing really of interest this week, I’m afraid. In fact, looking at the release schedule, I’d say that things look pretty bleak indefinitely. 2012 was an off-year for movies, I think (though I still have some major things to see), and so far 2013 doesn’t look all that promising either. We’ll see.

Broken City (trailer) – one of the Hughes brothers directs a generic-looking cop movie
The Last Stand (trailer) – Arnold’s back, but no one cares
LUV (trailer) – Common stars in an urban indie drama
Mama (trailer) – horror movie secretly starring Jessica Chastain
La rafle (trailer) – French WW2 drama starring Melanie Laurent and Jean Reno
West of Memphis (trailer) – doc about the West Memphis Three

10 responses »

  1. Broken City seems like a classic January dump release

    I have never seen the trailer and have maybe caught two television spots total. Zero idea what the plot is or why one would want to see it.

    The Last Stand looks exactly like the same crap Arnold was doing pre-governorship 10-12 years ago. Really, with that cast (Knoxville, Stormare, Whittaker) it could have been released in 2000 rather than 2013.

  2. I think 2012 was a pretty good year for movies–Lincoln, Argo, Silver Linings Playbook, Zero Dark Thirty, Moonrise Kingdom. I think that’s the best group of five movies in one year in quite a while.

  3. If you’re agreed before seeing those two…you gonna think it was a really good year. Those are the two best ones.

  4. Last year I could have made two top ten lists with only movies that I gave a 9 or 10 to on my blog – this year I can’t even make one. There have been some good movies, but the depth just isn’t there.

  5. Speaking of Best lists, here is the results of Film Comment’s poll for 2012:

    1. Holy Motors
    2. The Masters
    3. Moonrise Kingdom
    4. This is Not a Film
    5. Amour
    6. The Turin Horse
    7. The Kid With a Bike
    8. Once Upon a Time in Anatolia
    9. Lincoln
    10. Zero Dark Thirty
    11. Tabu
    12. The Deep Blue Sea
    13. Bernie
    14. Beasts of the Southern Wild
    15. Cosmopolis
    16. Barbara
    17. The Loneliest Planet
    18. Silver Linings Playbook
    19. Oslo, August 31st
    20. Neighbouring Sounds

  6. That may well be, but according to your List O’Movies you also saw 41 less movies in 2012 than the year before.

    I’m too lazy to look at the question more in depth, but I suspect that most of those 41 are old/classic/repertory films, of which I’ve seen practically none in the last 6 months. I think I’m seeing new movies at a more or less similar rate as I did in 2011.

    For example, I’ve seen 11 of the 20 in the Film Comment list, will see two more very shortly, probably within a week, and I would have seen Holy Motors if not for the Music Box pulling format hijinks. I don’t think 3 of them have played Chicago yet. So all in all a pretty good percentage are accounted for – I always miss a few here and there.

  7. By the way, what is Cosmopolis doing on that list? It has a 58 Metacritic score. I feel like that makes my point right there – the year was so bad that a movie semi-reviled by critics makes a critics’ best-of list.

Leave a Reply

