Random Thread for March 2013

Standard

Forward, march!

55 responses »

  1. So Jack the Giant Killer is the year’s outright disaster. Hopefully Oz The Great and Powerful can turn things around at the box office.

  2. Hopefully Oz The Great and Powerful can turn things around at the box office.

    *searches for sarcasm*

  3. I’m looking forward to the new Man of Steel (honestly), but the thought of Nolan orchestrating the DC Universe by way of the Justice League, makes me a wee bit apprehensive.

    He could be focusing on something more worthwhile than superhero movies. Been there, did it great, time to move on to other better things. (Do feel a bit like Wells writing that last part. What an odd feeling.)

  4. I was kind of kidding about OZ, although I typically root for Raimi to succeed (probably a holdover from back when everything he touched tanked).

    I don’t buy the Nolan overseeing JLA thing, although I do think that you’re going to see Bale or Gordon-Levitt suiting up for it.

  5. I was just thinking today how Nolan’s movies in no way, upon closer inspection and out of the glow of the initial release of the movies, they in no way hold-up for me at all.
    The apprehensions I expressed about the complete disingenuousness (and outright slap to the viewer) that was the ending of The Prestige seems borne out when I think of all of his movies except for ‘Following’, which remains a brilliant little gem.

  6. Heading to SXSW on Friday! Some fun-looking films there, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t most excited to see UPSTREAM COLOR for a second time.

  7. I was just thinking today how Nolan’s movies in no way, upon closer inspection and out of the glow of the initial release of the movies, they in no way hold-up for me at all.
    The apprehensions I expressed about the complete disingenuousness (and outright slap to the viewer) that was the ending of The Prestige seems borne out when I think of all of his movies except for ‘Following’, which remains a brilliant little gem.

    It’s funny but I was thinking of ‘The Prestige’ the other day – I remember when I saw it a few years back I thought it was pretty good but now I can barely remember anything about it, even of the twist ending.

  8. Just a general FYI, we’re having computer problems and I may be offline for most of the next TBD amount of time.

  9. So, carrying over our conversation from Facebook on what links to kill: here are my picks –

    Ain’t It Cool News – I guess keep, although it’s increasingly irrelevant.
    B-Side – He used to link to us, but it’s been gone for ages. Remove.
    Channel 101 – No idea what this is.
    Cinematical – No idea what this is.
    Cody Cobb – Keep
    Dark Horizons – It’s embarrassingly dated, but they did link to us more than once. Keep
    Empire – Keep
    Film School Rejects – Keep
    Filmman’s blog – Keep
    Gawker – Keep
    Go-Go-Rama – Keep
    Gone Elsewhere (Blogger) – Keep
    Guardian Unlimited Film – Keep
    Hollywood Elsewhere – Remove
    Hollywood Reporter – Remove
    IndieWire – Not sure
    JoBlo – Lame, but has linked to us in the past. Keep
    Juliana Hatfield – She never updates and her last two albums sucked. Remove
    Motion/Captured – No idea what this is
    Movie City News – Remove
    Movieline – Keep
    Moving Picture Blog – No idea what this is
    No Concessions – Remove
    Roger Ebert – Keep
    Sunset Gun – Keep
    The Hot Button – Remove
    The IMDB – Keep
    The IMPA – Keep
    The Onion – Keep
    Twitch – Keep
    YouTube – Remove

    Add: Vulture, BadassDigest, Bleeding Cool, Deadline Hollywood, FilmDrunk, io9

  10. I’m cool with any and all changes. As Delmar O’Donnell once said to Pete Hogwallop and Ulysses Everett McGill: “Okay, I’m with you fellers.”

  11. I’m glad to hear that Joe, because we’re days away from launching the internet’s #1 John Hawkes fansite: A Man Called Hawkes.

    Openings, AGEBOC and the other features you’ve come to love will continue to appear, but they will be Hawke-centric (example: in HAWBOC, we’ll compete to see who can correctly predict the opening gross of the big summer movies…starring John Hawkes.)

  12. It’s a bold new direction, Filmman. We almost went with a site exploring gender roles in hentai called “Legitimate Tentacle Rape”

  13. I’m fine with all the cuts, since I don’t use the links anyway. But, strange to say, I think we ought to leave Jeff Wells, since that’s how we all hooked up.

  14. Funny enough, ‘Legitimate Tentacle Rape’ was what I was going to call my prog-rock band…until no one thought I could sing and decided to go their own way.

  15. Would love to have everyone else’s input before we start killing things then (Marco and Nick specifically, since I know Brian isn’t around).

  16. Despite his connection to how this all began, I don’t think we should have Wells as a link here, especially as he was increasingly posting some repellent and nasty stuff that put me off even glancing in there from time to time.

    I haven’t had a chance to go through the rest of the links like James has but if I don’t get around to it on next day or so I’m happy to go with his judgement on them. Suffice to say that I would get rid of the IMDB link as its so well known and commonplace (like YouTube) that there’s no need for a link to it.

  17. I don’t doubt you, Marco. I’ve stopped reading him myself. But we have to ask ourselves what the links are for. I think they should be for content related to ours, and though he may be loathsome, Wells fits the bill. I bristle at censorship.

  18. Thanks for keeping FSR!

    I saw Wells at Sundance this year. Didn’t think he was a real person before that moment.

  19. Fair enough JS, Wells is pivotal to the creation of GE so a link should stay.

    Also, I’m on the mobile version of the site and can’t see the links, but is there a link to Brian’s short reviews site? If not, there should be.

  20. I think Nick asked for the 22nd or 29th. I can do them any weekend. If it gets to be Saturday morning and nobody’s done them, I’ll do them.

  21. Cool, I actually like doing them as well so I’m done for writing them up whenever needed. So I’ll do next week and then Nick can do the following week or two unless anyone would prefer to do the weekend of 3/15.

  22. All right, I’m back. Catching up:

    1) I’m not taking filmman’s bait on Nolan.

    2) Whatever template we change to is probably fine with me. As long as we don’t have a weird and hard-to-read text/background color combo, I don’t have much of an opinion.

    3) I too think we ought to keep Wells, just for the sake of it. I confess that I still read him, although I’m not sure why, because I put absolutely zero stock in his opinion of anything, and I find approximately 100% of his non-movie writing to be wholly tedious and even mostly pitiful.

  23. It wasn’t a bait. It was an honest feeling. And I don’t truly care your thoughts on it. That’s how I’m starting to feel.
    Now, if you’re talking about our previous debate on The Prestige, then I take that back and understand why you would say that.

  24. It wasn’t a bait.

    Deny all you want, but in your time here, you’ve certainly distinguished yourself as a master baiter.

  25. Wow, I’m almost upset with myself for walking into that one. Almost. But I kinda deserve it.

  26. I should be seeing ‘The Incredible Burt Wonderstone’ sometime this weekend so unless somebody here was already planning to, I’m happy to write a review of it.

  27. While I’ve seen a number of commercials for it, I feel like the studio has absolutely no idea how to market Wonderstone. It looks incredibly unappealing.

  28. I feel like they’ve been running a ton of ads this past week. Probably because tracking is dire (Edit: actually it was tracking to open around 20M as of a few days ago, which is more than respectable with a 30M budget).

    Carrell has been a pretty consistent earner since breaking out, probably one of the most bankable leads out there. One bomb isn’t going to effect him much.

  29. Yo yo yo, I’ve been dealing with some unexpected family stuff the last few weeks. Where the heck is everyone else? Happy seventh! We’ll need to exchange wool.

Leave a Reply

