64 responses »

  1. James and I discussed some themes on a random thread–I think it was January.

    That being said, I like Matala fine (minus the busy background image–should we find a new one, or stick with the drive-in?), and perhaps we just need to do it without talking it to death.

  2. Not a fan of the background image either, but I can remove that.

    Don’t think I can get the drive-in to work in the Matala template, but maybe I’ll give it a try.

  3. Deadline for the change from Misty, which appears irreversible once done, will be Thursday. Then I can start working tweaking it during the weekend.

    If anyone wants to keep Misty, or has suggestions on other themes, they should bring them up now or forever hold their peace.

  4. One more vote for it and we could be good to go, on a democratic basis. But I figure we give it until Thursday now that I’ve said so.

    As for banner pictures, I think we change it over to Matala and then see what works and what doesn’t. I don’t think we necessarily need a banner picture, but I’m sure we’ll work something out to give the place some personality.

  5. On Matala, can we have recent comment notifications in the sidebar (similar to our current theme)? That’s typically the first thing I look at when I visit the site.

  6. I’ll take that as an OK then.

    I’m away on Thursday-Friday, but during the weekend I’ll be tweaking the Matala theme.

  7. Hey, do whatever. I don’t like Matala overmuch but like I’ve said before, I don’t really have a preference either way. As long as it’s functional and readable, I’m good. The Dude abides.

  8. Also semi-related to this is the topic of updating the Links section. We discussed it a bit recently but didn’t really resolve it. Maybe this time we concentrate on which links we’re all happy to get rid of, followed by ones we think would be good to add.

  9. I also really don’t like Matala ‘overmuch’, but I never really look at the theme (as I always go to the dashboard) so I stayed silent. Also, I don’t even know what ‘links’ you guys are talking about.

  10. You don’t see the Links section in the right-hand column? It’s below Recent Posts, which is below Recent Comments. I see all that even when I’m not logged in.

  11. So we have four yays, no nays and two unsurprising ehs.

    Will start the overhauling some time later this weekend.

  12. Wow, really eye-opening! Just get rid of that Prince album-looking graphic and the contributors needs tweaking, as it make it look like Jeanine is Sasha Grey.

  13. Glad you like it!

    Been working on both of those things. Also making the Ebert quote a bit smaller and the Recent Comments field a bit more readable.

    Just don’t want to do anything irreversible, so taking things slow.

  14. A bit dull now, without anything in the background.

    We obviously need something there, but the old banner picture looks awful as background now.

    I’ll try a few different images.

  15. Hmmm, seems the transfer in the customizing window and the actual website is a bit off. Trying something else.

  16. How about this?

    Gonna play around some more with it, but as a first iteration I think it’s a good start.

  17. Thanks for taking the time to work on it, sir. Much better without the art on bottom.

  18. Thanks! It’s getting there.

    Still got some text stuff to work out.

    Considering adding some old photos in the background, as in old document folders. But that’s a lot of photoshopping, probably.

  19. And you got rid of the circling, too. Wasn’t sure how I felt about that, but seeing the lighted letters rather than circled, it’s much better not circled.

  20. You should place the photo of you and Slim and James somewhere on the page. Some ‘Elsewhere History’.

  21. I appreciate all your work, Nick. But the background, though it looks fine, seems to me should be something film-related. Perhaps there aren’t a lot of choices, but is there popcorn, celluloid, theater seats, etc.?

  22. Like I said:

    Considering adding some old photos in the background, as in old document folders. But that’s a lot of photoshopping, probably.

    Might take some time to get something that looks good, but don’t worry.

    Just need to get all the fonts working properly. Right now it’s all a bit “ramshackle” in the background.

  23. OK, that will have to do for now. Got a life to get back to.

    I’ll add something more movie-memorabilia in the future.

    Also added a picture showing how it looks on my screen.

    How does it look for everyone else?

  24. How does it look for everyone else?

    Not too shabby, actually. Quite a shock to see, but from my end all looks good.

  25. Nice work Nick! I know it is tediously time consuming to make something that is simple to see, so I really appreciate your hard work on this!

  26. Oh, and excellent reference to “ramshackle” which was first officially used during our last theme change (I believe).
    Also – “Commentarios”?

  27. Does the quote fit now?

    Looking good. I think the font is a little large overall, but not sure if others feel the same.

    I’ve set the text font so it works with all the other text sizes. Doesn’t work for you to increase the text in the browser? Anyone else feel like this?

    Nice work Nick! I know it is tediously time consuming to make something that is simple to see, so I really appreciate your hard work on this!

    Thanks, Joe! Yeah, just removing the underlining from when hovering with the mouse over a link took two hours.

    Oh, and excellent reference to “ramshackle” which was first officially used during our last theme change (I believe).

    Good catch. Got some serious deja vu when JS started talking about having something “movie-related” in the background. :)

    Also – “Commentarios”?

    You’re absolutely correct. There’s only one M in Comentarios.

  28. Good, we’ll keep it that way for now. Still not happy with the font for it.

    Started toying around some with the block-quotes, but once again the font is switching from what I see in the customize perspective.

    Anyway, it’s late. Might get some more done tomorrow.

  29. There’s only one M in Comentarios

    Ha! I put it with one M first and then had to scroll back up to check how you spelled it. Spanglish!

  30. Probably be doing some more work on the layout tomorrow.

    Main priority will be creating something movie-related in the theme. Also going to see what’s up with the font for the quote.

    Any other requests?

  31. I don’t know if it’s possible – but if there’s any way to have “recent comments” at the bottom of the mobile site that would be great (that’s where they were when viewing the old template on a mobile device).

    Don’t kill yourself though, I can just use the WordPress IOS app instead.

  32. Trying to fix it now, but I’m not sure how, since I never saw it (although I have an iphone too).

    I’ve put the comment field on the bottom again as a widget. Is it back?

  33. I’m starting to really enjoy the new theme. Sorry about being so down on it initially. Great work, Nick!

  34. Agreed, it’s magnificent. The only minor change I’d prefer is for the post fonts to be a little smaller – but I can certainly live with it! Thanks again for all your hard work, Nick.

Leave a Reply

