Random Thread, April 2013

Standard

Drip, drip, drop
Little April shower
Beating a tune
As you fall all around

Drip, drip, drop
Little April shower
What can compare
To your beautiful sound

Drip, drip, drop
When the sky is cloudy
Your pretty music
Can brighten the day

Drip, drip, drop
When the sun says howdy
You say goodbye right away

Drip, drip drop
Little April shower
Beating a tune
Ev’rywhere that you fall

Drip, drip drop
Little April shower
I’m getting wet
And I don’t care at all

Drip, drop, drip, drop
I’ll never be afraid
Of a good little
Gay little
April serenade

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

85 responses »

  1. I was singing this yesterday! I have 2 Disney calendars at home (of course) and both of them are Bambi-related for the month of April.

  2. Terrible news–Roger Ebert has died.

    His last written words:

    “So on this day of reflection I say again, thank you for going on this journey with me. I’ll see you at the movies.”

  3. “I know it is coming, and I do not fear it, because I believe there is nothing on the other side of death to fear…I hope to be spared as much pain as possible on the approach path. I was perfectly content before I was born, and I think of death as the same state. What I am grateful for is the gift of intelligence, and for life, love, wonder, and laughter. You can’t say it wasn’t interesting. My lifetime’s memories are what I have brought home from the trip. I will require them for eternity no more than that little souvenir of the Eiffel Tower I brought home from Paris.”

    Just beautiful.

  4. I have no interest in meeting those celebrities I admire, because I’m not so naive to think that they are anything like their public personas. Woody Allen, for example, seems like a fairly miserable human being. But I would have loved to be able to hang out with Roger Ebert. From all who have met him and then written about it, he was in no way a phony, and a lovely man. Seek out the accounts written about him by Michael Moore and Will Leitch as examples.

  5. I agree with what someone said about Ebert in that he as noted a film reviewer he was, he was a great writer on any subject. You only had to read his Journal blog to see that he could write on anything and if he’d gone ahead with his original desire just to be a general newspaper columnist, he would’ve been highly successful.

    He was certainly as readable a film reviewer as any I’ve come across, although I disagreed with him a fair chunk of the time and thought he became too soft in the last 10-15 years, giving passes to films that didn’t deserve it.

    The people noting his embrace of the web from the late 1990s is also noteworthy – outside America I don’t think he would’ve been particularly well-known (the Siskel/Ebert show was never shown in Australia afaik), but with his entire film review database becoming accessiable from the late 1990s his film review site became essential viewing for an international audience, hence the worldwide reaction to his passing.

  6. Read Nicolas Winding Refn’s second draft of Only God Forgives today, not bad at all. I will say that it’s going to make Drive look like The Avengers in terms of mainstream appeal.

    I was a little surprised that Gosling’s character is, at best, the co-lead. The character of “Chang” (played by Vithaya Pansringarm) seems to have at least as many scenes and really moves into being the primary focus as things reach their conclusion.

  7. Maybe the title should be changed to ‘glacially-paced’, ‘pretentious’ art film that is remarkably well-shot while being a self-masturbatory handjob of indecipherable intent and meaning.

  8. The poster and trailer for Danny Boyle’s Trance says that it’s rated R “for sexual content, graphic nudity, violence, some grizzly images, and language”. Not making that up. Guess the MPAA is really afraid of bears.

  9. Interesting quote by Roger Ebert: “Never marry someone who doesn’t love the movies you love. Sooner or later, that person will not love you.”

    For our married contributors, do you agree?

  10. think it’s a bit of a stretch in that I think you’d be hard-pressed to find a couple where it’s that black and white. There are movies you’re going to love equally and then there are those that will completely repel your spouse.

    If anything, I think disagreements over the merits of a particular film can be more valuable than a post-viewing love fest in a healthy relationship.

  11. I think you can have different views about any movie, but still have a deep-seated liking for the same kinds of films. I agree with Ebert. You can go out of your comfort zone with movies and discuss them, but if deep-down you’re not both Die Hard fans, you’re screwed. I don’t know if it had anything to do with it, but when my first wife went to You Can Count on Me and I went to Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, I knew it was over. And this was after a disastrous viewing of Dancer in the Dark (that elicited great conversation).

  12. I think Ebert’s pretty much full of crap on that one. Jeanine and I have a lot of overlap in what movies we like in very general terms, but I’m not sure how many of our personal favorites really overlaps. Certainly there are many movies I love that she likes well enough but doesn’t “love”, and vice versa.

  13. I disagree with Ebert. It’s something that makes a nice paragraph, but I don’t think it holds water in the real world.

    A love of media does not need to be equal for a love of person. I think this is a symptom of a larger problem in many relationships today where people equate having things in common with being in love. “You like country music too? NO WAY! We were meant for each other!” and then they wonder why he leaves after two kids (or whatever else happens).

    A husband can have a stack of Louis L’Amour novels on his nightstand while his wife only reads Danielle Steele, she can watch Audie Murphy & he can watch Eddie Murphy, and never the twain shall meet, but they can certainly be in love for the rest of their days

  14. You guys must think goths can be in love with preps and jocks can be in love with squares and straight-edge can be in love with punks. Talk about ‘never the twain shall meet’. I think he meant deeper than ‘what media they like’, but I already feel I’m expending too much thought on this. His love letter to his wife was an inspiring gut-punch.

  15. has anyone else seen Room 237?! The ‘Playgirl’ revelation is nothing short of mind-blowing.

  16. I’ll also argue that the “sooner or later” part of his formulation is doing way too much heavy lifting. Many, many marriages will end anyway, and it stands to reason that at least some people who stay married fall out of love at some point. And of course, almost no married couples have a strong overlap in favorite movies to begin with, because that’s not how these things work.

    So Ebert’s prediction becomes true in a purely incidental way – many couples fall out of love, and few have the same list of favorite movies. Ipso facto, he’s right, but then I don’t see any tigers around, do you?

  17. Didn’t really see what the fuss was about re: Room 237. The majority of the legitimate easter eggs (like the Playgirl Magazine) and crazy theories have been available on internet for years. If I weren’t familiar with them, I’d probably have liked it more.

    The idea of placing the voiceovers over footage from other Kubrick films was interesting, but not particularly well done. I’m assuming they didn’t shoot the interviewees due to budgetary reasons?

    I’d probably rate it a B+ for concept and C for execution.

  18. Yeah, I didn’t like the way they did that, either. Really clunky. I was wondering why they didn’t show any of the interviewees. I didn’t know any of those things, so it was kinda…mind-blowing.

  19. I think I’m going to go through Lumet’s filmography, starting with 12 Angry Men and trying to find some of the old tv movies and whatnot and try to work my way straight through to Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead. It’s been so long since I’ve seen some of them, it will feel like I’m watching them for the first time. And Prince of the City was so good, I already look forward to that one again. I do not, however, look forward to The Wiz, in any way, at all.

  20. That sounds like a rewarding project. Lumet had a wonderfully long and varied career, and I’ll go out of my way to catch screenings of even his lesser regarded movies. He made some very poor movies in addition to some very great ones, but in some ways that just makes him more interesting.

  21. Yeah, it sounds like a good idea. I don’t think it’s fully appreciated how diverse Lumet’s filmography actually was, in part because his more unconventional films weren’t generally that successful But there are some overlooked films well worth seeking out, like ‘Garbo Talks’.

    Even films that were successful of his such as ‘Murder On the Orient Express’ aren’t really associated with Lumet because they were seen as atypical works.

    If you were to do a series of articles on your thoughts on Lumet’s overall work, that would be sensational. I would really look forward to it.

  22. Challenge accepted! I shall separate each by decade. He was pretty prodigious, so I don’t think it will be an issue, even though 12 Angry Men was ’57. I’m kinda busy, so this will take some time, but my first post will be “Lumet in the ’50’s: 12 Angry Men and a Tennessee Fugitive.”
    I’m going to try to do his tv series and movies, and while I’m good, I may not be good enough to track down everything.

  23. Screenwriter Michael France has died at 51. He’s best known for Goldeneye (Martin Campbell, 1995) and Cliffhanger (Renny Harlin, 1993), which successfully resurrected both the James Bond series and Sylvester Stallone’s career. In recent years, he penned a trio of comic book movies: Hulk (Ang Lee, 2003), The Punisher (Jonathan Hensleigh, 2004) and The Fantastic Four (Tim Story, 2005).

    His unproduced, kitchen sink, first draft of Fantastic Four in the lmid-90’s is one of my favorite screenplays. Written for director Chris Columbus and 20th Century Fox, it was the blueprint for an updated, yet faithful mega-budget adaptation of the comic book series at a time when the Hollywood system hadn’t yet figured out how to tap into the genre successfully.

    Odd note: Another credited Fantastic Four writer, Don Payne, passed away at 48 a few weeks ago. If I were Mark Frost, I’d probably start getting my affairs in order.

  24. Man, May is jam-packed. I’m curious whether some of these releases are going to cannibalize each other.

    Star Trek only has a week to make money before Fast 6 and The Hangover 3. Bad date for them.

  25. Nick, are we starting AGEBOC for the weekend of May 3?

    Yes, it’s getting to be that time again. I’ll start it then, not the weekend before.

  26. Oh definitely. This would have been perfect for Law & Order back in the day, but not sure if they could fit it into SVU.

  27. I say that all the time whenever something happens…interesting people react the same way as they apparently did to her.

  28. Sorry, Slim, I missed your question. Well, if you’re really asking, something really only happened once, and it was when I ran down a purse snatcher in Boston and saved the woman’s purse and she came up to the police car where we were standing and she pointed at me and said ‘That’s him! he’s the one who did it!” while the snatcher was in custody and I looked at her and said ‘Do you know who I am?”…..you know, in reference to me being the one who saved her purse. So that’s what I meant. But in regards to your question, yes, I will say that any time something happens again, I mean, why wouldn’t you?

  29. But that’s not the context that Reese used. She was trying to use her fame to get out of something, which I find abominable, even though it happens all the time. No, I would never think of saying, “Do you know who I am?” because the reply would be, “No, who the fuck are you?”

    And please review Oblivion. I’m not going to see it.

  30. I’d be curious to read an Oblivion review, myself – although it’s something I won’t see until Blu-Ray.

  31. re: Witherspoon – agreed with Slim on this one. It’s not particularly surprising given rumors of her alleged diva-like behavior. However, I’d assumed she’d mellowed in recent years.

    Someone on Gawker commented that this is easily traced to being famous her entire life. She’s never known a time where her name wasn’t a pass for preferential treatment.

  32. Someone on Gawker commented that this is easily traced to being famous her entire life. She’s never known a time where her name wasn’t a pass for preferential treatment.

    Not to doubt the well-qualified psychologists commenting at Gawker or anything, but I dunno. Plenty of people have a massive sense of entitlement even if they’ve never been famous at all.

    It is interesting how many of the “America’s Sweetheart!” types are allegedly nightmares in person.

    You see this kind of thing in other fields, too. I remember growing up, constantly hearing that Cubs’ first baseman Mark Grace was just the best guy you’d ever want to meet. Such a great guy! Then he started being a semi-regular guest on Jim Rome’s show. People got to hear him in a more unfiltered setting than his usual post-game interviews, and it turned out that Grace was an incredibly douchey fratboy bro type. Truly obnoxious. Last I heard he too had been arrested for DUI and was fired from his broadcasting gig with Arizona.

    The Farrelly brothers’ Kingpin spoofed this kind of phenomenon pretty mercilessly with the Bill Murray character.

  33. Plenty of people have a massive sense of entitlement even if they’ve never been famous at all.

    See, Brian gets it.

  34. And it’s so hard to even start a review for it. I was gonna put it in Brief Film Reviews, but I was waiting to see if anyone wanted to review it. It really doesn’t garner all that much aside from ‘Holy shit, does that look amazing’.

  35. So, is anyone fooling around with Google+ these days? I’ve had several different people tell me it’s improved dramatically and is now their preferred social networking tool.

  36. I still avoid Google+ most of the time. Every time I log on I just get the feeling that I’m on a very limited Facebook with way less people. I think that’s why some people (let’s call them contrarian hipsters) like it and think it has much better “privacy” features. But, as I said to a friend of mine who really likes G+, “at least Facebook didn’t drive by my house, take a picture, and put it up on their map site for the world to see.”

  37. I just watched Tom Cruise and Gerard Butler on the Graham Norton show and my view of the two of them is changed completely. They are two magnanimous and very cool cats.

  38. Oddly, I don’t think the privacy features on Google+ are all that great. I want to use it for business but there’s no way to hide contacts from other contacts the way you can on Facebook.

    Since there doesn’t seem to be much of an upside to having my specific client contacts plastered all over the internet for competitors to rip off: I’m probably going to close my account.

    Their iPad app absolutely blows Facebook out of the water in terms of appearance, though. Just gorgeous. If they would improve their privacy controls and actually get more folks using the service I’d be off FB in a heartbeat.

  39. If they would improve their privacy controls and actually get more folks using the service I’d be off FB in a heartbeat.

    Ay, there’s the rub! They need more people to use the service, but people won’t use the service unless more people start using it.

  40. Happy Birthday, Brian.
    (Never realized how close all the birthdays are).

Leave a Reply

