Random Thread for May 2013

Standard

130506_cartoon_057_a17251_p465

Which one are you?

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

56 responses »

  1. Nice comic Slim! Thanks for getting us on track with the proper month. Happy Birthday (in the proper thread) Brian!

    I’d have to say I’m a movie “liker” or “lover” since I rarely go. But this month/summer may change all that. There are least 5 on my list to see in theaters which would dramatically increase my visits compared to the last 15 years!

  2. LOL. Like rational, clear-headed reviews have any bearing on comic movie grosses. I mean, look at Avengers-what?

  3. There are least 5 on my list to see in theaters which would dramatically increase my visits compared to the last 15 years!

    Or Nymphomaniac five times.

  4. This is an inside baseball story, but I found it interesting…

    I just returned from a new film fest in Estes Park, CO, where I spoke ill of a very bad movie and was then targeted by people associated with the film.

    That sounds overly dramatic, but basically I posted a review of BENEATH (http://www.filmschoolrejects.com/reviews/stanley-film-fest-2013-review-beneath.php) and in addition to the strange attempt at insult and deal-making in the comments I also had someone attack me on Twitter. It was a recently created anonymous account that proceeded to take personal (and mostly unfunny) jabs at me while claiming they were at the fest too and watching me all night long.

    Which is creepy.

    But I checked the twitter account and noticed it was only following a few people… me and two actors from the movie I had savaged. Hmm. They went on a spree of 20-30 tweets continuing into the next morning at which point I tweeted this:

    “You know you’ve made it when “talent” from a shitty movie you’ve reviewed create a fake Twitter account to assess your dick size.”

    At which point they unfollowed me, deleted every single one of their tweets and have kept quiet ever since.

    Oddly the tone of the twitter account and the commenter on my review are different, so I suspect two different but equally insecure people are behind them. And to think, it was only the second worst film of the festival…

  5. I haven’t thought of it until reading it in your review again, but that raft segment in Creepshow 2 was terrifying. At least that’s how I remember it. And this was the era of Chucky and Freddy and Jason.
    Man, now I remember how terrified I was at the ‘Thanks for the ride’ segment, too. Was that 1 or 2? I can’t remember.

  6. On a side note, Larry Fessenden’s IMDb portrait is ridiculous……………..ly awesome.

  7. That’s a disturbing story, Rob. I’m sure this sort of this happens fairly frequently, although I’d expect more of a Vincent Gallo-style public rant than the creepy stalker-ish stuff you described. Has anything like that happened to you before?

  8. James, nope, nothing like this. I have had folks email me directly before… one of the screenwriters of Seann William Scott’s BALLS OUT: GARY THE TENNIS COACH did so after I spoke ill of the movie. Robert Davi once emailed upset and confused by a “Davi/Na’avi” joke I made in a post, but we smoothed that over and now he sends me invites to see him sing Sinatra songs in L.A.

    filmman, yup, the “thanks for a ride lady” segment was also in CREEPSHOW 2. And Fessenden is a very funny and nice guy… who looks wonderfully goofy.

  9. I can hardly contain my excitement over The Great Gatsby. I finished re-reading the novel last week and the bad reviews seem to reflect, to me anyway, a faithful adaptation. Add on the Baz ostentatious-ness that I eat up for some reason and my inexplicable affinity for DiCaprio, and my head might just explode when I see it on Friday.

  10. What the hell, why does everyone temper anything good they say about DiCaprio either by saying ‘I know this is a ridiculous thing to say’ or with words like ‘inexplicable?!
    He is one of the best actors of his generation,he ‘grows’ into his good looks more each year and his choices and directors are first rate. He was miraculous in Gilbert Grape and he was amazing in Django (and everything between). The man is a national treasure…and I am not being glib.

  11. Great Gatsby looks to be a classic bomb. Here’s just two snippets I got on my Facebook account:

    Film Comment: “Spoiler alert: the only good thing in this movie is Beyoncé and Andre 3000’s Amy Winehouse cover.”

    The New Yorker: “Luhrmann’s vulgarity is designed to win over the young audience, and it suggests that he’s less a filmmaker than a music-video director with endless resources and a stunning absence of taste.”

    I’ll see it anyway.

  12. I personally think Florence + The Machine’s “Over The Love” is the best cut on the album. Also “Together” by the xx is oddly haunting.

    “endless resources and a stunning absence of taste” is something to describe the wealthy main characters. Isn’t that something Fitzgerald was trying to convey in the whole of the two Eggs? They may have taste in possessions, but are completely tasteless in relationships and interactions

  13. I think the search feature is a little dubious. I’ve been searching for many movies I know were reviewed on here, to comment on them, but they don’t come up. And the first time I searched for Ruby Sparks I didn’t see it, but I saw it just now. Oh, well, maybe it’s just me. I could have sworn there was a ‘Water for Elephants’ review on here, though…

  14. If anyone else wants to do openings this weekend, go right ahead. I’m too tuckered to do them tonight. I can do them tomorrow afternoon if no one else does.

  15. They did. It was called Rio. Oh, wait, no, that was a tie-in. A ‘parallel marketing’ deployment?

  16. Rio the film wasn’t actually a “tie-in” although Rovio did make a licensed Angry Birds sequel based on it.

    Rio wasn’t half-bad, really. Better than it looked.

  17. I love this line in a review of The Bling Ring, they’re talking about the script, and the author writes:
    “OMG’s to these guys are like ‘fucks’ to Scorsese’s goodfellas”

    That’s great.

  18. I liked Rio but loved the soundtrack. Had to buy it as soon as the movie was over. Is there any chance of part 2 being any good?

  19. Excluding Toy Story 2 (and for the most part, 3) it’s hard to think of many good animated sequels. Even Monsters University looks iffy and completely unnecessary.

  20. So what is everyone looking forward to the most this summer movie-wise (or non movie-wise, whatever)?

    Looking forward to Star Trek, although reviews aren’t exactly what I was hoping for. F&F 6 should be fun (I thought the fifth installment was the perfect summer movie) as should Man of Steel. Vaguely interested in The Wolverine, at least in terms of how it ties into next Summer’s X-Men: Days of Future Past.

    #1’s right now would probably be Only God Forgives and The Bling Ring on the indie side, Pacific Rim on the tentpole side and the end of the world flick duo (The World’s End and This is the End) for comedies.

    World War Z will almost certainly be an automatic entry into my “Unloved Failed Summer Blockbuster Hall of Fame” alongside things like Congo and Last Action Hero.

  21. Pacific Rim, Pacific Rim and…Pacific Rim. I mean, has anyone here even seen those trailers?!

    io9 gave Trek a pretty scathing review. That, coupled with the GIF’s of Abrams on the Daily Show talking about ‘dumbing down’ Trek, Tumblr is pretty much going out of its mind right now.

    I didn’t want to see World War Z (I mean, one of my all-time favorite books is completely tossed aside for summer action.
    Laugh if you want, but taking the template from Citizen Kane and applying it to that book (I would have named the reporter ‘Alland’) would have sent that movie into masterpiece status.

  22. I mean to say I want to see World War Z now, if you reference Last Action Hero with it.

  23. I will say that my expectations for Pacific Rim are heading south after watching the trailer released today. The effects are not what I was expecting…it looks like Casshern.

  24. Not a big fan of STAR TREK 2, and my review is predictably drawing some ire (from folks who probably haven’t seen it yet). Pretty comparable to IRON MAN 3 in that it has some fun bits but can’t hide the stupidity and big issues.

    PAC RIM could be fun, but I’m still stuck on the premise that sees monsters apparently invulnerable to missiles and bombs instead being beat down with robot punches. Because that’s idiotic.

    Blockbuster wise I’m looking forward to ELYSIUM and WWZ. Haven’t read the book, but the trailer makes it look at least as good as I AM LEGEND which if holds true means WWZ will be okay.

    Best movie of the summer so far though? Joss Whedon’s MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING.

  25. I forgot Mass Effect 4, I mean, Elysium-(come on, I thought it was a Mass Effect cutscene taking place on the Citadel the first time I saw the trailer)-and if you don’t see the brilliance of Pacific Rim, I can’t help you. (The effects are ridiculously awesome). Casshern wasn’t horrible, either.

    The Battle for Yonkers section of the book of WWZ was one of the best parts of the book. But it was just a part. It was about survivors of a Zombie Apocalypse telling their stories, and how those stories add-up to humanity fighting for its survival from the people who fought it. It’s awesome. And to do what he did in Kane, having a reporter go around interviewing people, like a Zombie version of any post-apocalyptic movie, where the survivors tell their stories and we see their trials and what they did and the odds they fought against to save their humanity-anyway, a character named Alland interviews these people and you would have a movie like ten parts the D-day invasion scene in Private Ryan. wrapped in the faces of those telling their story. I don’t understand why Hollywood wouldn’t have-wait, never mind.

  26. Lol. I did, sir. Please, review it. Interested in what you liked about it.

    Rob, have you seen Blood Ties yet? I mean, a movie written by Guillaume Canet and James Gray and directed by Canet? Holy shit, that’s awesome.

  27. Clive Owen is heading to TV with the new Cinemax period medical series, The Knick. Not-really-retiring Steven Soderbergh will direct all ten episodes of the series’ first season. Sounds great to me.

  28. filmman,
    Haven’t seen BLOOD TIES yet but am looking forward to it. Big fan of Canet’s TELL NO ONE and LITTLE WHITE LIES so I have high hopes.

  29. Feeling fine. I likely have Type II diabetes, which hopefully can be controlled with medication and diet.

    But enough about me–where’s the new AGEBOC :-)

  30. I’m surprised that the IMDb still lists “Iron Man 3” when the title during the credits is actually “Iron Man Three” (which looks stupid, but never mind). They’re such sticklers for that kind of stuff and it’s such a high profile movie.

  31. After Earth is getting savaged by critics, currently sitting at 13% on Rotten Tomatoes. I keep wondering what it’s going to take for M. Night to get exiled from studio pictures and this could be it.

    I really think the guy could be rehabilitated, but he needs to pull a Malick…disappear for a decade or so and try to rediscover why he wanted to make films in the first place.

  32. Funny, it really doesn’t look so bad. Nevertheless, M Night seems to be set up as a scapegoat here, because a quick look at the credits make the movie seem to be very much a Smith family project.

  33. re: After Earth – yeah, Night is definitely a director-for-hire on this one.

    His next feature is reportedly a “microbudget” indie family drama. Could be a step in the right direction (or dire).

  34. Nicolas Cage, Jackie Chan, Wesley Snipes and Milla Jovovich are joining the third Expendables film. I enjoyed the sequel (hated the first) although Simon West’s quirky sense of humor was a big part of that. The Con Air director is not returning for the next installment.

    Glad to see Jovovich getting her due. While she’s the lead of a truly awful franchise, she’s the most successful female action star in history by a mile.

  35. So The Wrap reports that Nikki Finke is out at Deadline Hollywood.

    Penske has responded calling Sharon Waxman’s story “libelous, false, and defamatory” but the same denial goes on to say “Nikki Finke has a multi-year contract with the Company, and it is the Company’s absolute intention to continue its obligations under the agreement”…which sounds questionable.

  36. “Nikki Finke has a multi-year contract with the Company, and it is the Company’s absolute intention to continue its obligations under the agreement”…which sounds questionable.

    I barely know who Nikki Finke even is and couldn’t care less about what she does or doesn’t do, but that statement is clearly valueless. “Obligations under the agreement” can mean anything – for example, if I have a contract that says that I can opt out of the contract with 90 days notice, I can give notice and then void the contract, and still have fulfilled my obligations.

Leave a Reply

