Random Thread for June 2013

Standard

What’s everyone’s summer vacation plans?

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

31 responses »

  1. Moving to Portland OR at the end of June! So that’s kind of like a vacation? (Although we may also try to squeeze a Maui trip in during July.)

  2. Don’t turn into a hipster, Rob!

    “Squeeze” in a trip to Maui? If I were going to Maui I would be planning and looking forward to it for about a year

  3. Doing a few kid-centric mini vacations with the kids this Summer. Nothing big because our youngest is only 1 and hasn’t really travelled before. If it goes well, we’ll do something better next year.

    We’re hitting Sesame Place in a couple of days, he’s going to go insane with joy.

  4. Ha, no worries about me becoming a hipster. I hate wearing hats.

    My gf starts her 2nd year of med school in August which is why I say we’ll try to squeeze it in. Her year two is actually working in a clinic, so we have no clue what to expect as far as time off goes. And we try to do one real vacation per year, usually alternating Maui with someplace else, but even though we went last year it’s just so damn relaxing and fun (all we do is chill, eat and snorkel with turtles) that we’re gonna do it again instead of someplace new.

  5. It’s not the right time of year for honeycrisps. I noticed that my local store has them now, too, but I’m very wary of them (it’s the first time I’ve seen them in the summer) and wouldn’t buy them now. I’ll wait until fall.

  6. Al Pacino recently stated that he turned down Han Solo in Star Wars because he “didn’t understand the script” and also turned down Die Hard.

  7. Yep, went on Wednesday and Thursday. Weather was perfect Wednesday and cool and comfortable on Thursday. Didn’t start raining until the NY border.

    One kind of cool thing is that I didn’t realize Sesame Place was right near where I lived until I was four (Yardley). Hadn’t been there since, so it was neat to see it for (in my memory at least) the first time.

  8. Disappointed to see The Bling Ring getting iffy reviews. I’d really hate to walk into a bigger disappointment than Star Trek Into Darkness this summer.

  9. I wouldn’t have been nearly as bored with Amazing Spider-Man if they’d gone with James Bond route (simply re-casting, rather than rebooting). The sequel sounds somewhat more promising with the cast they’ve lined up.

  10. I edited some settings of the blog a bit. Many years ago I created an account on TwitterFeed which periodically scoured the blog for new posts and automatically created a link on Twitter (see GE Tweets on the right). WordPress has long since had a setting which allows for this directly & automatically from each post, but I had forgotten how to disable the TwitterFeed link (so we wouldn’t double-up on tweets) until now.

    I made that change as well as added the sharing links at the bottom of each post so that our many visitors can easily share our knowledge with the world.

    Welcome to 2009 GE!!!

  11. Terrence Malick will direct Fifty Shades of Grey for Universal. Oh wait, Sam Taylor-Johnson (Nowhere Boy) edged him out for the gig.

    Do I need to have seen the first 49 instal– oh never mind.

  12. Yeah, and word is that Sony is recasting the role completely. She did look like a kid next to Garfield’s character in set photos (there’s a 9 year difference).

  13. I downgraded my home theater from 5.1 to stereo (front l/r with a subwoofer). I was originally going to move to smaller set of surround speakers but I decided to try going to 2.1 for the hell of it.

    Being that at least 50% of my usage is music – the benefits are obvious (there is literally no comparison). However, I’m shocked at how much I’m enjoying films with the new set-up. I feel like dialogue reproduction is far superior even without a dedicated center channel.

  14. BA are excellent speakers. I used to sell a ridiculous amount of the VR series to music lovers in more than a few home entertainment systems in LA. Their quality is hands-down top notch.

  15. Yeah, I’m looking to replace my outdoor speakers and thinking of going BA there now, too. My wife bought me a pair of terrible outdoor Yamahas when we first bought the house that must go.

  16. So another site I read movie reviews on does a system where each person gives a score from 1 to 10 and then they aggregate the scores and give it a total based on whatever the total would be for all the participants. …just thought that was a cool idea. I know we don’t all see every movie, but just thought it was cool.

Leave a Reply

