AGEBOC ’13 – June 7 – June 9

Standard


AGEBOC 2013

Predict the #1 film of the weekend.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus questions:

1. Joss Whedon follows up his mega-blockbuster The Avengers with a limited release in this weekend’s Much Ado About Nothing. Will MAAN beat the opening weekend per- theater average of The Avengers [$47,698] this weekend (yes or no)?

2. Which of the following still-playing films will no longer be playing* next week: Spring Breakers, Scary Movie 5, Silver Linings Playbook, Admission or none of the above (all will still be playing)? *For the purposes of this question ‘no longer playing’ is defined as not showing up on the BoxOfficeMojo daily chart at any time between this week’s deadline and next Thursday (June 13th).*

Deadline is Thursday, June 6 11:59 pm (blog time)
To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current rankings

AGEBOCSuperman_zps98d78221Jackrabbit Slim – 11

Rob – 10.5
Juan – 10
James – 7
Brian – 4.5
Nick – 3.5
Joe Webb – 3
Filmman – 2
Jeanine – 1

15 responses »

  1. The second bonus seems confusing to me. Do we have to get all of them right to get the half-point? What I mean is, say three movies drop off the chart, do we have to name all three?

    Don’t want to complain too loud, because I’ve been mostly MIA the last few months, but I really prefer 50/50 bonus questions.

  2. In trying to make them more interesting I do agree this one can be confusing. My idea was that (using your example) if all 3 drop off the chart, as long as you guess any one of those 3 you will get the 1/2 point. A portion correct will get the bonus. I should say that it is limited to 1 guess.

    It came to me as I was scrolling down Mojo’s daily chart and I was surprised to find out what was still playing. However I can change it if it’s really a problem.

  3. Interesting split this week.

    Jackrabbit
    THE PURGE – $21m
    1) no
    2) Admission

    Rob
    THE PURGE – $25.1m
    1) yes
    2) Admission

    Brian
    THE INTERNSHIP – $27m
    1) no
    2) none

    Joe
    THE INTERNSHIP – $30m
    1) yes
    2) Scary Movie 5

  4. Consarn it! I think I’d have gone with The Purge because of the ad campaign. But I think it will be close. And I would have said no to 1 and Admission to 2. I wish the best of luck to Brian and Joe, because I don’t want JS and Rob pulling too far ahead.

  5. 15M Friday for The Purge. That’s a bigger opening day than Star Trek Into Darkness, After Earth, The Hangover 3, etc. Crazy.

  6. I’ll have it updated and up by noon Pacific. EDIT: And here we are! The only surprise was the box office total. The winner was in the bag by midday Friday. Could this be the first week I get blanked? Done-in by my own convoluted bonus questions?

    Box Office

    Jackrabbit Slim
    THE PURGE – $21m +2
    1) no +0.5
    2) Admission +0.5

    Rob
    THE PURGE – $25.1m +4
    1) yes
    2) Admission +0.5

    Brian
    THE INTERNSHIP – $27m
    1) no +0.5
    2) none

    Joe
    THE INTERNSHIP – $30m
    1) yes
    2) Scary Movie 5

Leave a Reply

