Movies Opening in Connecticut – Weekend of June 21, 2013

Standard

Lots of new releases locally this week so it’s going to be quick:

Superman should be looking under his bed because Monsters University is poised to give him box office nightmares this weekend.  The iffy-looking, unnecessary sequel is tracking for a terrific opening and should prove to be kryptonite to the superhero franchise’s family business.

This second weekend is vital to Man of Steel as a greater than 60% drop could prevent a 300M+ finish domestically.

World War Z – (RT: 69%, MC: 60%) – Brat Pitt zombie drama (based on the novel by Max Brooks) that seems to have turned out ok despite massive production problems.  Paramount did a wonderful job marketing this, it has a legitimate shot at #2 this weekend. Personal interest factor: 7

The Bling Ring – (RT: 64%, MC: 67%) –  A new Sofia Coppola film is something to be excited for.  Unfortunately this sounds like this is a misfire.  Great soundtrack, though.  Personal interest factor: 9

Much Ado about Nothing – (RT: 84%, MC: 76%) – Joss Whedon shot this in his house with his friends and no budget and blah blah.  Absolutely no reason to see this theatrically.  Personal interest factor: 5

Monsters University – (RT: 83%, MC: 66%) – My son will love it, but decent reviews can’t convince me I need to revisit these characters.  Personal interest factor: 5

 

Also opening:

Dirty Wars Documentary about covert wars raged by The United States.  Sounds well-meaning and like something that will sit in your Netflix instant queue for years to come.

Ain’t In It For My Health: A Film about Levon Helm(RT: 92%, MC: 77%)It’s a film about Levon Helm (a musician.)  See above for your viewing timetable.

For classic fare: The Criterion in New Haven is running the James Bond adventure Thunderball (1965) and Carnival of Souls (1962) Friday-Sunday.

5 responses »

  1. I think this is one of the few weeks where I’ve really strongly wanted to see every release:

    World War Z: I’ve said this too many times before, but this could have been the ‘Citizen Kane’ of zombie movies.

    The Bling Ring: This actually looks very good and I really want to see it. (And not just for my Emma Watson fascination). I wasn’t ‘feeling’ Somewhere and I didn’t see Marie Antoinette, but this I really think will be good.

    Much Ado About Nothing: Some reviewers are calling this the best movie of the year so far. Can’t wait to see it.

    Monsters University: Who doesn’t want to see these guys again?

    Dirty Wars: This should not sit in your queue at all. This should be mandatory viewing.

    Nice ‘openings’.

  2. My expectations were low for MU and it exceeded them all. The reveal of what happened during the climax of the “Scare Games” seemed false (the whole thing is under fairly close surveillance by all in attendance, so what actually happened would have certainly been seen), but I was pleasantly surprised to be enjoying myself throughout the whole thing.
    Wasn’t as magical or awe-inspiring as the first, but I wasn’t expecting it to be. I guess because we know where everyone ends up the tension is mostly gone from the big situations.
    This comment keeps getting longer. I should write a review….if I get around to it!

  3. Monsters Inc. has grown on me over the years, but I have to say that Monsters University did absolutely nothing for me. It’s a decent enough way to kill 90 minutes, but that’s not the standard I expect from Pixar.

Leave a Reply

