Movies Opening in Connecticut – Weekend of June 28, 2013

Standard

Only two major releases this week.  Excitement seems to be muted on both, but I sense that The Heat will benefit from being the first new comedy in the marketplace in three weekends.

The Heat (RT: 67%, MC: 59%) – Sandra Bullock / Melissa McCarthy mismatched buddy cop comedy from director Paul Feig (Bridesmaids).  Yes, this was made in modern times and not 1994.  Personal interest factor: Sub zero.  There are very few releases this Summer I would dread seeing more.

White House Down (RT: 45%, MC: 54%) –  Die Hard in the White House by way of disaster movie king Roland Emmerich (2012, Independence Day).  I think this looks like a fun throwback to the action pictures of the 90’s although critics seem pretty divided.  I guess you either go along with the ridiculousness or you don’t.  Channing Tatum and Jamie Foxx’s charisma is getting high marks from most.  Personal interest factor: 6

Also opening:

The Attack (RT: 90%, MC: 73%) Israeli drama about the aftermath of a suicide bombing.  

Twenty Feet from Stardom (RT: 97%, MC: 82%) – Well-received documentary on professional back-up singers.

For classic fare: The Criterion in New Haven is running the James Bond adventure You Only Live Twice (1967) and Kevin Smith’s Clerks (1994) Friday-Sunday.

8 responses »

  1. I still have to catch up with Superman…

    Huh? I thought you wrote a Man Of Steel review…but now that I look I guess it wasn’t so. I’m losing it!

  2. I saw ‘World War Z’ a couple of nights ago. I’ve been a bit busy lately but I should be able to have a review up over the weekend if that’s fine with everybody.

  3. Finally tossed up The Heat’s RT and MC reviews. Perfectly respectable scores, not sure why the embargo was lifted so late (as if the studio were hiding a disaster).

  4. The Heat was really, really awful. I think I laughed maybe three times. The rest was painful.

Leave a Reply

