Random Thread for July 2013

Standard

Because it’s already the third.

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

27 responses »

  1. Just got the debut album by Savages, an all-female British band, and it rocks. I read that they once opened for British Sea Power, which reminded me that Brian really digs them. Brian, what album would be good as an introduction to British Sea Power?

  2. Colin Lane, my favorite modern photographer, does their publicity photos and I believe he did their album cover.

  3. I’m back in the Bay Area! For two weeks. Then I move to Portland OR! For three years.

    In slightly more relevant news, I really dig British Sea Power’s album OPEN SEASON.

  4. I don’t think you can go wrong by approaching BSP chronologically. The first album, The Decline of British Sea Power, is kind of weird and unfocused, in good ways as well as bad. It’s the kind of sloppy debut record that’s equal parts endearing and confounding. “Remember Me” is still one of their best and best-known songs. “Carrion” is just as good. “Lately” is a deliberately off-putting meandering fourteen minute spat of self-indulgence that was really quite something live back when I saw it.

    Their second album, the aforementioned Open Season, is more refined, and on the whole more melodic and even poppy, in good ways as well as bad. Some excellent songs, such as “Oh Larsen B” (which is probably my favorite of theirs overall) and most of the first half, but a lot of it is pretty forgettable, IMO.

    Their third, Do You Like Rock Music?, is probably their best all things considered, combining the raw feeling of the first album with the elegant melodies of the second. Not every song is great, but I think every one has its own particular merits, and the song “Lights Out for Darker Skies” is probably the single best summation of who they are as a band.

    The next two, Valhalla Dancehall and the recently released Machineries of Joy, both have their highlights and are worth listening to if you enjoy the first three, but they’re kind of more of the same. I fear they’re losing momentum somewhat, having hit that creative wall where they can still do what they do damn well, but not really breaking any new ground.

    There’s also an endless amount of esoterica – film scores, EPs, etc. – but no need to get distracted.

  5. That’s not right, is it? Thursday is three days away.

    Also, Happy Birthday Marco! Hope it was a good one.

  6. Went to The Kraine Theater in Manhattan last night for a screening (theater is right below the KGB Bar). Popcorn and a giant cooler of free beer at the door. How can you beat that?

  7. Cool, I figured I would take August unless someone else would like to take a turn. I dig alternating months of doing Openings, I think it’s a good system and provides some variety.

Leave a Reply

