AGEBOC ’13 – August 2 – August 4

Standard

AGEBOC 2013

Predict the #1 film of the weekend.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus questions:

1. Will The Smurfs 2 gross more than Katy Perry:Part of Me‘s entire run ($25,326,071) by Friday?

2. Will 2 Guns outperform Mark Wahlberg’s last buddy-cop comedy opening weekend (The Other Guys $35,543,162)?

Deadline is Wednesday, July 31 11:59 am (blog time)
To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current rankings

AGEBOCSuperman_zps98d78221Jackrabbit Slim – 30

Rob – 29
Joe Webb – 17.5
James – 15
Brian – 13.5
Juan – 13
Nick – 3.5
Filmman – 2
Jeanine – 1

18 responses »

  1. To clarify Bonus #1 (so there is no confusion), it is asking if The Smurfs 2 Weds + Thurs numbers will exceed $25,326,071 without including any Friday numbers.

    2 Guns – $33m
    1. No
    2. No

  2. Well damn. Didn’t realize deadline was moved to noon. On the bright side neither did Slim so the neck n neck contest continues!

  3. I can change it to midnight. I understand my moving deadlines are confusing and possibly unfair. I’m not used to running this thing!!!

  4. It is what it is. I’ll leave my guess here in case something changes, but I’m not pressing for it.

    2 GUNS – $31.13 million

    1) No
    2) No

  5. I understand the kerfuffle, but the contest was posted over 48 hours before the due date and I also made sure to emphasize that in a comment at the same time. I’m definitely open to changes in the future but we’re going to have to come to an agreement about major midweek releases and their influence on weekend box office prognostication.

  6. I just can’t post that early because of work restrictions, and Tuesday night is too early.

    So, just in case it’s legit:

    2 Guns, 34 million

    1. No
    2. No

  7. It’s supposed to be a game for fun and I apologize that some of my ideas might be taking the fun out of it. Let’s have a brainstorming session to come up with ideas and improvement that we can implement. If not this season at least for HAGEBOC…

  8. It’s not taking the fun out of it. Having a Wednesday night deadline for movies opening on Wednesday is not a problem for me. We all have the same access to the same information. Frankly, I have no idea what the Smurfs did today, box office-wise, and didn’t base my guess on it.

  9. I have myself in a bind here because I directly benefit from disallowing the two guesses (I’m guaranteed at least two points) but if I allow them and 2 Guns outperforms Smurfs 2 (as it looks like it will) then I’m also guaranteed at least 2 points and lock James out of any more than 1. I’d love to recuse myself… James??

    I was not aware of your job constraints, Slim. With box office tracking usually beginning in the late afternoon on the day of release (as I’ve seen this summer on sites like Deadline.com) I was trying to avoid any “advantages” that last-minute guessers may try to gain. But then again the numbers aren’t always available mid day so it’s a crap shoot. I’m so removed from the industry I have no idea what any of it means anyway.

    Going forward I have no problem saying that the game is always due on Thursday at 11:59pm unless there is a midweek/oddball release and then the game is due at 11:59pm on release day. Agree/disagree? There are at least two more “big” Wednesday releases in August so I want to make sure I don’t seal anyone off for the rest of the game.

  10. James has spoken. Sorry, Juan.

    Next Wednesday sees the 2nd installment of the Percy Jackson series so, unless there are any disagreements, the deadline will be midnight on Wednesday.

  11. Rob steals 2 points from James as well as 2 from me. Enjoy your view from the top!
    Four big releases this week. It’s anyone’s weekend!

    Joe Webb
    2 Guns – $33m +2
    1. No +0.5
    2. No +0.5

    James
    Smurfs 2 – 25M
    1. N0 +0.5
    2. N0 +0.5

    Rob
    2 GUNS – $31.13 million +4
    1) No +0.5
    2) No +0.5

    Jackrabbit Slim
    2 Guns, 34 million
    1. No +0.5
    2. No +0.5

Leave a Reply

