Random Thread for August 2013

Standard

Ellen DeGeneres is the host for the next Oscar show. A reaction to the supposed misogyny of Seth McFarlane? In any event, it’s not exactly a bold, fresh choice.

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

23 responses »

  1. Also a trailer this morning for Spike Jonze’s Her. Speaking of actors I don’t like, this one stars Joaquin Phoenix. Also speaking of actors I don’t like, the trailer brings to mind Lars and the Real Girl. Don’t get me wrong, I think Jonze is incapable of making a movie that dumb, but still I’m not doing cartwheels over the trailer.

  2. Ryan Gosling?! What the asalksfhaslkfjsdslighdfglkdfnhdlfkhjh. …that has to be not true. But…it will certainly run the gamut and make the proper closure to the circle to start with the greatest Batman and come all the way back to likely the worst idea possible. I still hope the rumor of an older Batman, in the mode of Miller’s Dark Knight holds true and we see, say, I don’t know, an older actor that I can’t think of right now.

    Yeah, the American Hustle trailer looks pretty great. Russell remains what I believe is our best director.

    Oh, man, did I hate Lars and the Real Girl. Like…hate.

  3. I still hope the rumor of an older Batman, in the mode of Miller’s Dark Knight holds true and we see, say, I don’t know, an older actor that I can’t think of right now.

    Michael Keaton?

  4. I doubt it’s going to be any “name” actor. It will probably be some random, inexpensive Brit or Aussie ala the Superman casting.

  5. According to the Internet rumor mill (a lot of them are UK papers that may just be circulating the same story), the short list is Gosling, Josh Brolin, and Joe Mangianello (who I know from playing Alceste the werewolf on True Blood).

  6. Have heard some really good things about Blue Jasmine. Can’t wait to see it yet. Has anyone seen it?

  7. This is cool. The Venice Film Festival will be “live” streaming 15 entries same day as their festival premieres. It’s limited to 500 online tickets for each film, one viewing only.

    http://www.labiennale.org/en/cinema/news/14-08.html

    I’d love to see something like this at Sundance over the next decade. If they can securely stream these films for a single showing, I don’t see why it would interfere with the producers’ eventual sale to a distributor.

  8. I bought a ticket for Sion Sono’s (Cold Fish, Love Exposure) Why Don’t You Play in Hell. 4 Euros or $5.34 USD, which is a great price.

  9. Mr. Furious was a far better barometer of being able to play Batman than Affleck’s Daredevil stint.

  10. Matt Damon needs a hit, so it’s not a big surprise that both he and Paul Greengass are in negotiations to reclaim the Bourne franchise.

    What IS surprising is that Universal is apparently moving forward with a second installment of Jeremy Renner’s non-Jason Bourne spin-off regardless. It’s like Marvelizing the Ludlum universe.

  11. Got an email from the Venice Film Festival’s screening partner that they’re issuing me a refund due to “unforeseen technical reasons”. Not sure if it’s just one film or if others in the streaming pilot are cancelled.

    I do know that Why Don’t You Play in Hell was picked up for US Distribution last week, which could be a factor.

    Oh well, I’m still a big fan of the concept. There are bound to be hiccups along the way.

Leave a Reply

