Random Thread for September 2013

Standard

Try to remember the kind of September
When life was slow and oh, so mellow.
Try to remember the kind of September
When grass was green and grain was yellow.
Try to remember the kind of September
When you were a tender and callow fellow.
Try to remember, and if you remember,
Then follow.

Follow, follow, follow, follow, follow,
Follow, follow, follow, follow.

Try to remember when life was so tender
That no one wept except the willow.
Try to remember when life was so tender
That dreams were kept beside your pillow.
Try to remember when life was so tender
That love was an ember about to billow.
Try to remember, and if you remember,
Then follow.

Follow, follow, follow, follow, follow,
Follow, follow, follow, follow.

Follow, follow, follow, follow, follow,
Follow, follow, follow, follow.

Follow, follow, follow, follow, follow,
Follow, follow, follow, follow.

Deep in December, it’s nice to remember,
Although you know the snow will follow.
Deep in December, it’s nice to remember,
Without a hurt the heart is hollow.
Deep in December, it’s nice to remember,
The fire of September that made us mellow.
Deep in December, our hearts should remember
And follow.

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

66 responses »

  1. I had a 331, although twice I accidentally hit the ‘check score’ button instead of the slider. I would have been in the low 300s or high 200s otherwise.

  2. I don’t think Steve Martin is sick, but at 68 he is a youngster when compared to others who have gotten this award. Gene Wilder, who is 80, should have been first in line for comic actors.

  3. 315. Really screwed up on Crazy, Stupid, Love (Didn’t realize it was so beloved) and Eternal Sunshine (thought I was the only one who so beloved it). Those two accounted for 80 points. Nailed Notting Hill exactly though! Only actually seen 5 of the 20…

  4. The Martin thing is very odd.

    I also think his output the last two decades should be taken into consideration when awarding him anything. This is a man who gleefully contributed, despite his talent, to the sorry state of modern studio comedies as much as an Adam Sandler or Kevin James.

  5. Surely if you were going to honour someone who came through as a comic star during that period it would be Bill Murray? Up until the early 1990s Martin was probably slightly ahead on the quality scale, but in the last 20 years it’s no contest.

  6. As ridiculous as it may sound, I think Martin gets it because he’s hosted the Oscars three times and thus has a cozy relationship with the Academy. Interesting that as much of a comic genius as Martin is, film is his weakest legacy.

  7. You’re being sarcastic, but remember, Whoopi has actually won an Oscar, and it seems the Governor’s Awards have been a de facto award for people who haven’t won one.

    And Billy Crystal may yet win one. Bob Hope won more than one honorary Oscar. Of course, he made much better movies.

  8. Whoopi Goldberg’s contributions to film have been overlooked far too long.

    LOL, exactly.

    And Billy Crystal may yet win one. Bob Hope won more than one honorary Oscar.

    Oh, I’d say it’s a lock – particularly after Martin’s.

  9. Sony’s The Mortal Instruments: City of Ashes, which was due to begin filming later this month, has been “delayed” so that the producers can “have more time to reposition the film in the current market place.”

    If that sounds like a meaningless, face-saving, bullshit statement, you’re probably on to something. The first film, which opened last month, has earned a paltry 37M worldwide on a 60M budget.

    No word on when production will ramp back up, but the odds are “absolutely never”.

    Lord knows what they were thinking to begin with. The YA film franchise graveyard is littered with countless properties that burned out after a single installment. Hopefully Sigourney Weaver, who had just been signed to play the second film’s baddie, still gets paid.

  10. Wow, Warner Brothers has convinced JK Rowling to write and produce a Harry Potter spin-off film series. I always assumed that she’d eventually return to that property, but certainly not this quickly. Those WB execs deserve the bonuses of the century.

  11. New central characters, but some are already connected to the existing Potter films.

    Basically: same universe as Potter; takes place 70 years earlier; titled Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (loosely based on Rowling’s Harry Potter textbook of the same name); multiple films, books, games, toy lines, etc.; one of the central characters will be this guy: http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/Newton_Scamander

    I’m sure Joe can tell us a lot more.

    How much do you think they’re going to offer David Yates to direct the first installment?

  12. To be fair: this is for a very limited number of showings that will specifically be set-up/advertised or this purpose. Think of it like a revival screening of The Rocky Horror Picture show or one of those Grease sing-along things…it’s an audience participation experience.

    Do I think it’s something I would want my kids doing? Hell, no. But I also appreciate that Disney is testing something out in order to get younger kids interested into physically going to the movies.

    The next generation is really going to determine what happens to movie theaters in 25, 30, 40 years. I think extinction is inevitable, of course.

  13. Also – I’ll take the unpopular opinion and say that I think this whole war on texting thing is silly. People have been engaging in distracting behavior in movie theaters since the advent of cinema. Whether it’s talking, kicking seats, running up and down aisles, crunching loudly, taking forever to open a package of Twizzlers, getting blowjobs – it’s never going to stop.

    We’ve collectively dealing with cell phone use in auditoriums for what? 20+ years now? It’s a matter of a) going to sparsely attended shows (early, late or after the first weekend of a film’s opening) to avoid the individuals in question b) finding theaters that are less likely to attract the individuals in question c) sticking to movies that are less likely to attract the individuals in question or d) subscribing to Netflix and investing in some decent home theater gear e) learning to tune it out

    I do all of the above, but E has come in the most handy.

  14. Last time I checked, getting a blowjob in a theater was still grounds for expulsion. Texting is quieter than talking, god knows, but I hate the distraction of that light. I don’t think we’re ready to completely surrender in the war against bad manners.

  15. Who dares say something less-than-positive about Disney & Harry Potter in the same day? A pox on you! j/k

    But, regarding JK, I think she has comparatively written more backstory on her whole wizarding world than has been published in her novels. And though she embraces fan fiction (she basically had to) she is quite protective of her canon. I enjoyed the “textbooks” she released (Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them, and Quidditch Through The Ages) as they further explored her sharp wit and attention to detail.

    It could be fun.

    Regarding Disney, what does everyone think about Escape From Tomorrow? Early consensus seems to say the story surrounding its creation is much more thrilling & refreshing than the movie itself.

  16. I don’t think anyone here is saying anything bad about the Potter news. Though I’m not a huge Potter fan I admire Rowling a great deal, as she seems to have a lot of personal integrity and is not the type to make a cynical cash grab.

  17. Per the “Escape from Tomorrow” trailer.
    Honestly, I was more surprised at how good ‘Grudge Match’ looks. Escape from Tomorrow looks really gimmicky. I like the conceit, and I like filming there without permission, but that’s not a good trailer and the movie itself maybe just isn’t my thing.

  18. I don’t think anyone here is saying anything bad about the Potter news. Though I’m not a huge Potter fan I admire Rowling a great deal, as she seems to have a lot of personal integrity and is not the type to make a cynical cash grab.

    Agreed, I’m still three (or four, I forget) movies back on the Potter franchise so I don’t really have an opinion whether this is good or bad from a creative standpoint. It’s brilliant business, though: decade of spin-off movies, reboot the franchise from the The Sorcerer’s Stone in the 2020’s.

  19. Last time I checked, getting a blowjob in a theater was still grounds for expulsion.

    Depends on the theater.

    Seriously though: I do agree that bad manners should be discouraged – but the anti-texting stuff just seems to be getting out of hand.

    I went to see The World’s End a couple of weeks back and felt bombarded with physical signs (everywhere from the main doors to a poster outside the auditorium itself) and countless, increasingly stern pre-show warnings.

    Little glowing screens are annoying, but so are endless threats of expulsion.

  20. When I worked as an usher about seven years ago I was a stickler. I was constantly telling kids to turn off their phones. I grew to hate teenagers in the year I spent at that theater.

  21. You don’t have to worry about ‘cynical cash grabs’ when you’re wealthier than the Queen. hence, you can have personal integrity not to take ‘quick cash grabs’.
    I wouldn’t judge DeNiro anymore than I would Rowling. Who knows why he does Meet the Fockers.
    Speaking of World’s End, it was brilliant.

  22. Did you follow the link? The Walton family, who have over 100 billion, are hanging on to each nickel like it was their last. For some, there’s never enough money. Others, like Rowling, have better perspective.

  23. A few things here.

    One, teenagers get a bad rap. They can be annoying sure, but I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – old people are just as badly behaved, as a group, as teenagers. And parents are usually more annoying than their kids. Older generations always want to sneer at the younger generations but honestly on average they’re no better and often even more belligerent about it to boot.

    Second, people playing with their phones in the movies are unbelievable assholes. Seriously. Related to my first point, though, I find that there’s no generalizations to be made about which age group is worse about it.

    Third, it’s really a minority that wants to play on their phone during the movie. I’ve seen this framed as a we-just-have-to-yield-to-technology argument but in my rather extensive experience, few things get as many complaints as some asshole on their phone. That one guy in the front row checking his email really does bother a lot of people. Movie theaters get tough on this because customers on the whole respond positively to it. At any rate, the number of people bothered by the bombardment of threats dwarfs the number of people who are willing to complain about that one asshole who disregards those threats.

    Fourth, hard to know what Disney’s going for with this interactive whatever. Along the line of my third point, though, I think it’s likely that for everyone who thinks this seems like fun, there will be a bunch of people who will just be annoyed. And I doubt that Disney can make the actual quality of the experience very good – their gimmickly “interactive” Blu-ray stuff always seems pretty lame. The thought of having that shit – or anything like it – forced on me sounds like a reason to hope for the extinction of movies and humans.

    Fifth, just saw The World’s End this afternoon as it turns out, and it really wasn’t very brilliant. Never quite got off the ground and as a consequence never went anywhere. Felt like someone imitating the earlier Wright/Pegg collaborations more than one of their films.

  24. re: The World’s End : I really liked the first 45 minutes or so – but I thought the genre twist was unnecessary.

    It also isn’t funny, which is ok – but surprising for something advertised as a comedy. I’d still rate it a B, though.

  25. They can be annoying sure, but I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – old people are just as badly behaved, as a group, as teenagers.

    True, old people can be bad, especially with talking. But teenagers, in a pack, are the worst. They would descend on the theater where I worked on a Friday night like they owned the place. One night a kid, presumably egged on by his friends, threw his shoe in the air, which landed on a woman’s head. Hard to see some old guy doing that.

  26. I don’t think theaters need to yield to technology, nor do I think that texting should be permitted in theaters. However, I find it the ridiculous levels of outrage (example: people calling 9/11 on someone using their phone at TIFF) just as agitating.

    In terms of theater annoyances: I’d put phone use behind talking, seat kicking, the 20 minutes of commercials and trailers pre-feature, prices, absurd volume levels, dealing with clueless and/or ambivalent staff and finding there’s nothing in the concession area that isn’t poison.

    And all of those pale in comparison to people bringing small children to R rated films.

    Really, the entire thing is pretty much broken.

  27. One, teenagers get a bad rap. They can be annoying sure, but I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – old people are just as badly behaved, as a group, as teenagers. And parents are usually more annoying than their kids. Older generations always want to sneer at the younger generations but honestly on average they’re no better and often even more belligerent about it to boot.

    I agree with Brian; in my experiences older people can be just as irritating as younger people. It just seems lazy stereotyping to blame bad cinema behaviour largely on the younger generations.

    But tbh the difficulties I’ve had with irritating cinema patrons is quite rare. In some of the whining about behaviour, I almost get the sense that people are whining to an excessive level to make themselves feel superior to those around them who don’t appreciate going to the cinema like they do (something James alludes to in the previous post).

  28. I don’t think anyone here is saying anything bad about the Potter news.

    I didn’t think that either. My over-the-top response was a multilayered humorism meant to elicit laughs all the way from the id to the superego. Really it was a ploy to get from j/k to JK Rowling. I laughed because James knew what topic(s) would bring me out of the woodwork so I thought I’d play along in kind…

  29. Believe me, it’s not lazy stereotyping, I was on the front line as an usher for a year. Teenagers, at least in groups, were far more disruptive and were more likely to leave a theater full of garbage than old people.

  30. Grand Theft Auto V made 800 million dollars in. one. day.

    Well deserved based on what I’ve played thus far, although I feel like the social commentary is a little labored this time out.

  31. Fry: So you’re saying these aren’t the decaying ruins of New York in the year 4000?
    Farnsworth: You wish! You’re in Los Angeles!
    Fry: But there was this gang of 10-year-olds with guns.
    Leela: Exactly. You’re in L.A.
    Fry: But everyone is driving around in cars shooting at each other.
    Bender: That’s L.A. for you.
    Fry: But the air is green and there’s no sign of civilization whatsoever.
    Bender: He just won’t stop with the social commentary.
    Fry: And the people are all phony. No one reads. Everything has cilantro on it.

  32. I’m pretty confident that’s one of the better things that happens to supermarket produce before it reaches your table.

  33. So…

    You guys remember that post I did a few years back about Public Enemies filming in Chicago? Well, not long afterwards, I was contacted about licensing one of the photos for use in a book about the movie industry in Chicago. In exchange, I’d get a copy of the book for free. Sounded fair and good to me, so I happily acknowledged.

    Fast forward years later, I never hear anything back. I Google the book title from time to time to see if it’s ever published, but I never find anything, so I assume it’s cancelled.

    Then earlier this summer, I got an email from the publisher asking if they could use the photo in a slideshow to promote the book. Naturally, I said no, since they never fulfilled the terms to use my photo in the first place I wasn’t about to let them use it again, this time for free. I’m a nice guy but come on, that’s insulting.

    So the publisher comes back and says that, hey, their bad, they didn’t even end up using my photo for the book but whatever, they’d send me a copy anyway. That was mid-July. I forgot to send a reply to him with my address, but hardly cared if my photo wasn’t in the book anyway.

    But now tonight I find this. I mean, that’s just tacky.

    I sent another email to the publisher tonight. We’ll see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

