Random Thread for July 2014

Standard

Paul Mazursky, director who mostly made his mark in the ’70s with Bob and Carol and Ted and Alice and An Unmarried Woman died today at the age of 84. As James noted in response to my posting on Facebook, his last major released was Scenes from a Mall in 1991.

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

22 responses »

  1. Yes it is. I wasn’t bowled over by the last picture (unlike most) but this sounds like a great Summer movie.

  2. Do you think this is the best-marketed film this year, in terms of reveal and frequency and whatever marketing terms there are?
    I think Matt Reeves is a very underrated director, and it seems he really brought his A-game here.

  3. When The Dissolve movie website was launched last year, I loved it and ready it every day. Now, I can barely stand it.

    It started to annoy me when they were discussing ‘Animal House’ and they seemed to be trying to outdo each other in who could be the most politically correct and disapprove of aspects of the film by their standards. But on a broader level it’s because I’ve gradually realised how middlebrow it relentlessly is. How much of it’s content seems to be about reflecting what is the perceived critical consensus. And how for all it’s clever attitude and one-liners they don’t have anything particularly deep to provide on film.

  4. I loved it when you brought it to my attention and now I no longer visit it at all.

  5. I’ll be back in action later tonight. Came home to a failed hard drive so I haven’t had time to get caught up. I’m sitting in a theater waiting for the IMAX 3D preview of Guardians of the Galaxy. When I get home I’ll update scores and such…looks like Slim is unstoppable

  6. It was just a 17-minute preview (kind of like Avatar Day) but it was pretty spiffy. And they handed out free posters, so it almost justified the $5 bridge toll and $1.50 parking fee. (ha!) I just may write something up.

  7. FOX’s X-Men and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes are right up there with the best reviewed films of the year (and especially Summer). Hopefully the stench of the previous regime is finally gone.

  8. I can fill in for this week at least. Although I do prefer to do them on the Monday or thereabouts as I like to add extra info like IMDB ratings and potential observations on how the film did financially.

  9. I remember at the time seeing the poster for The Whole Ten Yards and thinking how horrible it looked (especially how Willis was photoshopped) – maybe the marketing team thought it was insane that anyone would want a sequel to that film?

  10. You’ve got to hand it to the director of that film (Howard Deutch), he’s sure made a career of being a hack director of pointless sequels (The Odd Couple Part 2, Grumpier Old Men)

  11. I kind of liked Grumpier Old Men. Surprised they haven’t remade that yet (say with like Pacino and De Niro or something awful like that)

Leave a Reply

