A Decade in Film: 1992

Standard

A chronological list of releases can be found here.

1) Best of 1992 or top five?
2) Most disappointing of 1992 (or bottom five if you want to go that route)?
3) Most underrated or underseen? (Example: “reviews weren’t great, but it’s genius because) OR (“No one saw it, but this is why they should…”)
4) Favorite performance(s) of the year?
5) Favorite scene/sequence of the year?
6) Most memorable (good or bad) theatergoing experience of the year?
7) Most influential film/performance/style/director?

Obviously feel free to answer only the questions you’re interested in or to write/respond to something else entirely. The lists themselves are just a starting point to foster discussion.

12 responses »

  1. Without looking at the listo f releases I can tell you that Howards End was my favorite film of the year, but I had no quarrel with Unforgiven winning Best Picture. Best performance was surely Denzel Washington as Malcolm X.

  2. 1. Malcolm X, Chaplin, The Last of The Mohicans, Unforgiven, Aladdin

    2. Too easy to pick on things like Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot…but 1492: Conquest of Paradise bored me to tears. I could never get through all of it.

    3. Freejack was totally underrated! Of course, I haven’t seen it in 20 years, so I may be forgetting something. Far & Away is another favorite of mine, thought I’m not sure if it’s underrated. The totally 90’s Singles. School Ties. Chaplin. Radio Flyer

    4. Denzel as Malcolm X and RDJ as Chaplin were tops for me. DDL in The Last of the Mohicans wasn’t too shabby either. When Al Pacino won it began my rapid descent into Oscar (and award show) hate.

    Robin Williams was revolutionary as the Genie and basically cemented the known-celebrity-as-headlining-voice-actor in animated films ever since.

    5. Filmman nailed it with his post on the ending to The Last of the Mohicans.

    6. Some very different & memorable theater-going experiences:

    Snuck in to see things like Final Analysis & Basic Instinct (since I was only 15). This started a year of going to the theater all day and sneaking in to the ones in the back.

    Unlawful Entry – it was the first time I had heard a heckler slay the audience. There’s one scene where we already know Ray Liotta is crazy and he knocks on a door under the auspices of bringing a gift or something. A teenage girl blurts out “Just leave it at the door, she’ll get it later” and everyone kind of chuckles. Then Ray ends up setting the thing down by the door and the audience howled. Good times.

    Saw The Last of the Mohicans for extra credit and hated it. Now it shares the top spot in my favorites list.

    Went to see Candyman late at night and back in the car on the way home was totally freaked out the first time I looked in the rearview mirror.

    Saw Aladdin with my dad & sister (4). He loved it which I thought was cool. May be the last movie we ever saw in theaters together.

    The theater for Dracula was so full on opening night we had to sit on the floor portion between the front row and the screen.

    I decided to go see Malcolm X by my self(!) – remember, I’m only 15 here – and happened upon one of my classmates (also white) in the theater. Amazing movie….a mind opener

    7. Unforgiven taught me I could like long, slow Westerns which I had previously been adamantly against.

    But Malcolm X was, as I said, a mind opener. Spike & Denzel crafted it pretty perfectly. For me I went from liking Malcolm Little, to not really liking him after his conversion, to liking him again after his pilgrimage. The subject was completely new to me and I was riveted the entire time.

  3. I didn’t see Unforgiven until years later, but I found it massively underwhelming given the accolades. And I enjoy westerns. Quite liked Open Range, Appaloosa, Tombstone…

  4. In no particular order:

    Best: Bram Stoker’s Dracula (Keanu’s accent only weak spot), Glengarry Glen Ross, The Player, Aladdin

    Worst: Shakes The Clown, Folks! (sad end to director Ted Kotcheff’s film career), Buffy The Vampire Slayer
    ===
    Underrated: Memoirs of an Invisible Man, Death Becomes Her, Stay Tuned, Sleepwalkers

    Overrated: Wayne’s World (sequel was better)

    Favourite performance: can’t go past Alec Baldwin’s cameo in Glengarry Glen Ross

    Cinemagoing experience: There was nothing particularly memorable about it, but because it was on a public holiday I can recall the exact date I went to see Alien 3 (June 8). It was an unnecessary sequel but it did lead to a great Sega Megadrive game

    Most influential event: agree with Joe Webb that Robin Williams success as Aladdin was enormously significant. As an aside, I watched Aladdin for the first time recently and amongst other things, was impressed how for all its wildness and creativity it still managed to be only 90 minutes long.

  5. 1. Reservoir Dogs, Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Wayne’s World, Basic Instinct, Sneakers
    2. I’ve only seen part of Folks!, but it was one of the worst things I’ve ever seen. Housesitter also sucked. Alien 3.
    3. The Muppet Christmas Carol should have been a bigger hit.
    4. Michael Caine in The Muppet Christmas Carol.
    5. Hard to beat the “never had a friend like me” sequence in Aladdin, even though it reveals the film to take place in an Arab-conquered future.
    6. I was 8, I didn’t see a lot of these movies until years later.
    7. The Tarantino wave began here. For good and for bad.

  6. 1.
    Top Five: Glengarry Glen Ross, Husbands and Wives, Basic Instinct, Reservoir Dogs, The Crying Game

    Also notable: Bad Lieutenant, Bob Roberts, Deep Cover, Housesitter, Howards End, The Player, Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me, Unforgiven

    Guilty pleasures: Alien 3, The Cutting Edge, Juice, Trespass, Under Siege, Universal Soldier

    2. Marco and Juan are right – Folks! is one of the theatrical released films I’ve seen (thankfully on VHS). However for “most disappointing” I’d probably go with Alien 3. I still enjoy many aspects of it, but it’s just a disaster script-wise.

    Most overrated – Pacino’s near-unwatchable performance in Scent of a Woman. I’m cringing 22 years later just thinking about it. Pretty much everything about A Few Good Men.

    3. Deep Cover. Above-average drama about the futility of the war on drugs that was essentially marketed as an action film. Screenplay by Michael Tolkin (The Player). Fishburne and Jeff Goldblum had amazing chemistry.

    Trespass – Fun urban mayhem picture from Walter Hill. Great soundtrack.

    4. Tommy Lee Jones in Under Siege, Fishburne in Deep Cover, Goldblum in Deep Cover, Jaye Davidson in The Crying Game, Miranda Richardson in The Crying Game,

    5. Favorite Scenes:
    Alec Baldwin’s “motivational” speech (Glengarry Glen Ross)
    The funeral scene (Alien 3)
    The big reveal (The Crying Game)
    Interrogation Scene (Basic Instinct)
    Laura Palmer goes to The Pink Room (Twin Peaks Fire Walk with Me)
    Stuck in the Middle with You (Reservoir Dogs)
    Opening Credits (Reservoir Dogs)
    Tipping conversation (Reservoir Dogs)

    6.
    After months of waiting – seeing Basic Instinct opening day the minute school let out (and hoping they didn’t ask for my ID, as I was 17). Watched it on one of the biggest screens in the state at the time. Felt like I needed a cigarette and a shower afterwards.

    A day of culminations: Seeing Alien 3 (a film I’d waited 6 years for) the last day of high school. Then going home and watching Johnny Carson’s final episode of The Tonight Show.

    7. Tarantino, by a mile.

  7. I remember the first time I saw Under Siege I was slat out surprised when Seagal kissed Eleniak. Like, oh, that’s what they were going for. That’s not convincing.

  8. Yeah, that’s one of the most out of left field on-screen kisses I can remember. There is zero romantic chemistry between the two at any point. Seagal kissing Jones would have been more believable.

    The cake scene was magical.

  9. “Saw Aladdin with my dad & sister (4). He loved it which I thought was cool. May be the last movie we ever saw in theaters together.”

    That’s awesome. While I hadn’t seen a movie with my mom for over a decade before she died, I still remember the last time we went (U-571).

    “It was an unnecessary sequel but it did lead to a great Sega Megadrive game”

    And an even better SNES game. And a pretty great Arcade game (Alien 3: The Gun). Really, everything related to Alien 3 was better than the film itself.

    And I can’t mention Alien 3 without delving into one of the greatest unmade projects in Hollywood history:

    Script: http://www.horrorlair.com/scripts/alien3_fasano.html

    A nice write-up from Empire:
    http://www.empireonline.com/features/alien-3-tale-of-the-wooden-planet/

    Storyboards and history, courtesy of Vincent Ward’s website: http://vincentwardfilms.com/concepts/alien-3/unrequited-visio/
    http://vincentwardfilms.com/concepts/alien-3/graphic-novel-in-8-parts/part-1/

    A few nice storyboards of the world Ward’s film would have been set in:


Leave a Reply

