Random Thread for January 2015

Standard

How was everyone’s New Year’s? We had a party and had a nice time, but were too tired to drive out to the Strip to see the fireworks, so I watched them on TV and went to bed.

Anyone have big plans this year? Hopefully I’ll  begin teaching in a just a week or two.

Everyone have a great 2015!

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

14 responses »

  1. Happy New Year everyone! Due to circumstances beyond my control I’m not going to be able to do openings in January (hopefully everything back to normal by March) anyone interested in picking it up?

  2. Joe, I’m going to see Into the Woods today. I know you’ve already seen it, and you know much more about the stage musical than I do (I saw it once in a community theater production) so you have first pass at writing a review. If you don’t want to, I’ll write one tomorrow.

  3. Watched the Golden Globes. Their importance, vis a vis Oscar, is limited, since the voting for the Oscar nominations is already over. But they do have an influence on the winners. A few thoughts:

    Selma, while it will probably get quite a few Oscar nods, is finished as a possible winner. It’s looking more and more like it will be Boyhood all the way.

    The acting winners are pretty much set: Keaton, Moore, Simmons, and Arquette.

    Grand Budapest Hotel is probably safe for a Best Picture nod, which will make me happy and I didn’t think possible as we headed deep into fall.

    I have no idea about any of the TV shows that won. How do you even watch Transparent?

  4. Yeah, it’s on Amazon. I don’t have Amazon Prime so I’ve never seen it and likely never will.

    Fargo (FX) did really well too. Much deserved despite a few rocky moments in that first season. I would have preferred to see True Detective win Best Mini-series, but I was ok with Thornton besting McConaughey and Harrelson for Best Actor.

    The Affair (Showtime) winning best drama was a bit of a shocker in that it hasn’t generated much buzz or ratings success. That’s one of the weirdest winners of the night.

  5. Worst case – every once in a while Amazon will offer a two week trial of Prime. I’d just wait for that to show up and binge watch the whole series.

  6. The Affair was, on further thinking, pretty damn terrific. Like a novel, you must invest yourself, let it get into you and it’s just about the best ending of a first series ever, giving just enough information while turning everything over. As close to watching a novel unfold as you’re likely to get. A much-deserved win. There wasn’t a false moment in any of the episodes.

  7. Filmman, I think I’ve found a trailer for a movie that may make your head explode from awesome overload. And if Nick returns perhaps he can give us some Swedish insight
    Kung Fury

Leave a Reply

