AGEBOC ’15 May 22-24

Standard

James fired up the box office CARNIVORE machine early and vaulted into 2nd place!

Predict the #1 film of the weekend.

The one who predicts closest to the total Friday to Sunday gross for the #1 film wins 4 points. Runner-up gains 2 points. Predicting within half a million earns 2 extra points.

Bonus Questions:

1. Which movie will have above a 50% drop in its 2nd weekend – Pitch Perfect 2 (PP2), Mad Max: Fury Road (MM:FR), or BOTH?

2. Share your first (or a memorable, or somehow related) Poltergeist-viewing story for a half point.

Deadline is Thursday May 21st 11:59pm blog time

To find out the rules of the game, go to the main thread for AGEBOC 09.

Current Rankings:

Joe – 8.5
James – 8
Marco – 6
Jackrabbit Slim – 4.5
Rob – 3.5
Juan – 1.5

13 responses »

  1. Reminder – this is a holiday weekend (Memorial Day) in the States, but Monday grosses do not count. We still only guess Fri-Sun.

  2. Here’s my Poltergeist story–since I’m so old, I was actually an adult when it came out (1982). I was seeing this girl Patty, well, I was hoping to date her, but I think she never saw us more as friends. We went to the Greenwich Twin (now gone) to see the movie, but she said she wanted to see the other film (I forget what it was). So I saw Poltergeist, and she was in the theater next door. This sums up our relationship.

  3. Poltergeist – $38 million

    1. Both
    2. Saw bits and pieces of Poltergeist on TV over the years. Anywhere from 10% to 60% each go. Probably saw it for the first time in its entirety maybe five years ago.

  4. TOMORROWLAND $36.36m

    1) Both
    2) To this day I still quote the film to my sister when I see her… “You moved the headstones, but you didn’t move the bodies!”

  5. Pitch Perfect 2 – 35
    Both
    I remember endless viewings of Poltergeist on HBO throughout my childhood. Probably the first horror film I’d watched in its entirety.

  6. Thanks Slim! I forgot to add neither as a valid option, but it is valid!

    Tomorrowland – $42m
    1. PP2
    2. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen it all the way through but I vaguely remember being told a somewhat truism about members of the cast dying not too long after the movie, which equated to the movie being cursed in my pre-teen brain (sort of “The Ring”-type scenario). I believe I saw parts of it shortly thereafter and wasn’t that scared with the most vivid image being when they threw the TV out on the front porch. That’s about it.

  7. Re: cast members dying–it was really only two of the kids, Dominique Dunne was murdered in 1982, and Heather O’Rourke, the young girl who says, “They’re here!” died of septic shock six years later at the age of twelve. What’s really coincidental is that they’re buried a few feet away from each at Westwood Cemetery. (Courtesy snopes.com)

  8. Looks like Rob & James are vying for #1 (too close to call) with slight chances at the bonus!
    SUMMARY:

    Marco
    Mad Max Fury Road: $41m
    1. Pitch Perfect 2
    2. Never seen Poltergeist (or any of its sequels for that matter).

    Juan
    Poltergeist – $38 million
    1. Both
    2. Saw bits and pieces of Poltergeist on TV over the years. Anywhere from 10% to 60% each go. Probably saw it for the first time in its entirety maybe five years ago.

    Rob
    TOMORROWLAND $36.36m
    1) Both
    2) To this day I still quote the film to my sister when I see her… “You moved the headstones, but you didn’t move the bodies!”

    Jackrabbit Slim
    T-Land: 40 mil
    1. Neither.
    2. Here’s my Poltergeist story–since I’m so old, I was actually an adult when it came out (1982). I was seeing this girl Patty, well, I was hoping to date her, but I think she never saw us more as friends. We went to the Greenwich Twin (now gone) to see the movie, but she said she wanted to see the other film (I forget what it was). So I saw Poltergeist, and she was in the theater next door. This sums up our relationship.

    James
    Pitch Perfect 2 – 35
    Both
    I remember endless viewings of Poltergeist on HBO throughout my childhood. Probably the first horror film I’d watched in its entirety.

    Joe
    Tomorrowland – $42m
    1. PP2
    2. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen it all the way through but I vaguely remember being told a somewhat truism about members of the cast dying not too long after the movie, which equated to the movie being cursed in my pre-teen brain (sort of “The Ring”-type scenario). I believe I saw parts of it shortly thereafter and wasn’t that scared with the most vivid image being when they threw the TV out on the front porch. That’s about it.

  9. Slim has it with the estimate but I would not be at all surprised if Tomorrow is adjusted lower with actuals. Considering the 190m budget, Tomorrowland is in deep trouble even if it manages a decent drop next week.

  10. Wait, I was reading four day estimates, never mind. Tomorrowland looks to edge out Pitch Perfect two by only two million. Ouch.

  11. I will post actuals later but I think the scores are pretty certain

    Marco
    Mad Max Fury Road: $41m
    1. Pitch Perfect 2 +0.5
    2. Never seen Poltergeist (or any of its sequels for that matter). +0.5

    Juan
    Poltergeist – $38 million
    1. Both
    2. Saw bits and pieces of Poltergeist on TV over the years. Anywhere from 10% to 60% each go. Probably saw it for the first time in its entirety maybe five years ago. +0.5

    Rob
    TOMORROWLAND $36.36m +4
    1) Both
    2) To this day I still quote the film to my sister when I see her… “You moved the headstones, but you didn’t move the bodies!” +0.5

    Jackrabbit Slim
    T-Land: 40 mil +2
    1. Neither.
    2. Here’s my Poltergeist story–since I’m so old, I was actually an adult when it came out (1982). I was seeing this girl Patty, well, I was hoping to date her, but I think she never saw us more as friends. We went to the Greenwich Twin (now gone) to see the movie, but she said she wanted to see the other film (I forget what it was). So I saw Poltergeist, and she was in the theater next door. This sums up our relationship. +0.5

    James
    Pitch Perfect 2 – 35
    Both
    I remember endless viewings of Poltergeist on HBO throughout my childhood. Probably the first horror film I’d watched in its entirety. +0.5

    Joe
    Tomorrowland – $42m
    1. PP2 +0.5
    2. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen it all the way through but I vaguely remember being told a somewhat truism about members of the cast dying not too long after the movie, which equated to the movie being cursed in my pre-teen brain (sort of “The Ring”-type scenario). I believe I saw parts of it shortly thereafter and wasn’t that scared with the most vivid image being when they threw the TV out on the front porch. That’s about it. +0.5

Leave a Reply

