Opening in Las Vegas, September 4, 2015

Standard

So is this the last weekend of summer or the first of the fall season. Judging by the releases this week, it’s neither–kind of a filler weekend, with movies nobody is likely to see in droves. Could a film making less than 10 million win the week?

I have never seen a Transporter film, and I’m not likely to start with Transporter Refueled (31), which should end the series. Jason Statham is a limited actor, but at least he brings a presence to his roles. I can’t say the same for Ed Skrein, who sounds like a cross between Ed Grimley and Ed Gein. Kenji Fujishima: “The titular Transporter is now but a blank slate serving the characters and mayhem surrounding him, a walking metaphor for a franchise that’s run out of gas.”

Robert Redford keeps working, and he’s back in A Walk in the Woods (51), based on Bill Bryson’s book about walking the Appalachian Trail. I think Redford’s fans don’t go out to movie theaters any more, but the trailer looked somewhat amusing, so I’ll probably catch in on DVD. Steve Persall: “A Walk in the Woods is a trifle compared to 2014’s Wild, which tracked a similar real-life journey toward self-discovery in richer detail. But darned if Redford’s easy charm and Nolte’s gravelly lack of it aren’t enticing throughout.”

If I go to the movies this weekend (I’m moving, so I may not have the energy) it will be to see Mistress America (75), Noah Baumbach’s second film this year and another teamed up with Greta Gerwig creating a kooky character (after Frances Ha!). I loved Frances, and though this seems like going to the well too often, I think Gerwig is interesting with almost everything she does. Calvin Wilson: “Mistress America doesn’t quite achieve the magic of “Frances Ha.” But it’s a fresh take on the comic possibilities of friendship among the young.”

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

Leave a Reply

