Random Thread for January, 2016

Standard

First of all, a happy new year to all contributors and commenters.

Second, we are coming up, on March 1, to our tenth anniversary. We don’t have as many posts as we used to (take a look at that first month in the archives) but we still are plugging away.

I don’t know what to do to mark it–maybe everyone can come up with a list of the best of the last ten years: films, performances, moments in their personal lives, whatever. I know some children have been born, marriages have occurred, and career and geographical changes have been made.

Think on it and make suggestions.

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

32 responses »

  1. About to have an Indy Bluray festival tomorrow. I’ve been waiting a long time to see them on Bluray. I hope it’s a true attempt to release them and not an initial cash grab. Not sure there’s a reason to this comment, just….can’t wait.

  2. Why not pick a ‘best of’ listing of posts that have had the most traffic or most comments or whatnot, and post one a week. Like a greatest hits.

  3. Doing the first 3 Indiana Jones movies. I don’t care about Crystal Skull. Can’t wait to see Last Crusade in Bluray. I’ve always loved that opening cinematography.

  4. Is it me, or does Hail, Caesar! look like it could be amazing? Even though it is a PG-13 Coen farce?

  5. The trailer didn’t do much for me, but I’m sure it will be amazing. Probably my most anticipated film of the first half of the year.

  6. Oh, I get it Indy films. I thought you mean indie. Duh.

    I thought this at first too! I’ve had the collection on Blu-ray for a while but finally watched Raiders last week. It didn’t stand out as being anything fancy in terms of picture quality, but we’ll see how the rest fare.

  7. I haven’t seen everything, obviously, but I think 2015 is a great year for Hollywood. Especially the fall, where I liked almost everything I saw. I’m having a hard time coming up with my favorite film. Mad Max: Fury Road, Mr. Holmes, Sicario, The Martian, Spotlight, Carol, Steve Jobs, The Big Short, Bridge of Spies, and The Revenant are all top-drawer stuff, and we got the best Rocky and Star Wars films in years.

  8. The transfer on Last Crusade wasn’t as fantastic as I thought it’d be, it was serviceable, but man, it was glorious in DTS-HD Master. One caveat, though, was that the score by Williams in the prologue of Last Crusade is clownish and cloying. Didn’t remember it being that way.

  9. Pretty good article on Jezebel Gawker this am re: The Oscars.

    “Stop caring so much about the fucking Oscars. They matter only as much as we make them matter. They are a farce. They transform making art into a competition, and because of the cultural stock placed in obtaining them, they have spawned an entire film subgenre of Oscar-bait—movies that seem to be synthesized to do what an Oscar movie does, as opposed to, you know, actually communicating something.”

    http://gawker.com/dont-just-boycott-the-oscars-destroy-them-1754075372

  10. I seem to remember, I think,reading a review of Cuckoo’s Calling on here from Slim. I picked it up at a book sale on the recommendation of that review, and though I’ve never read Harry Potter (and have no intention of doing so) she is a very good writer and it’s a very good book so far, so, thanks for recommending it.

  11. I don’t care how old I seem, the kids can keep their streaming service, but Netflix DVD is a treasure trove of fantastic-image Blu Ray’s and a back catalog of literally everything you could want, from tv shows to classic movies. I don’t understand the push for streaming (which has a terrible bit rate for home theater owners and classic movie lovers. Their base has gone from 20 million to 5 million subscribers, and why? Because people just want to push a button and watch a fraction of the films and shows available on DVD? Incomprehensible.

  12. Bottom line is convenience and the quality is “good enough” for most people. I’m pretty much all streaming these days, haven’t bought a Blu-Ray in I can’t tell you how long.

    I think the biggest problem with streaming in general is consistency, though. You can watch something that looks a hair under Blu-Ray quality and then another “1080p” stream that looks worse than a DVD.

  13. I’m old, so I don’t stream and still use DVDs. I don’t like to watch movies on my laptop and could’t be bothered with getting the hardware needed to hook it up to my TV.

  14. It’s dead simple nowadays. You can buy a $50.00 Roku Stick, plug it into an open HDMI port on your television, enter your wifi password and you’re good to go.

    There are even Roku branded televisions now so you don’t even need to worry about any additional hardware. It’s astonishing how far that company has come.

  15. I’m old-fashioned in that I still buy DVDs & Blu-Ray’s fairly regularly – they’re on average prob 50-60% cheaper than they were a decade ago so I’m fine with that. I guess I still have the preference of owning a hard copy of a TV series or film than the streaming option, which feels like I’m just renting out.

  16. “It’s dead simple nowadays. You can buy a $50.00 Roku Stick, plug it into an open HDMI port on your television, enter your wifi password and you’re good to go.”

    Good point. Sad…but good point.

  17. “I guess I still have the preference of owning a hard copy of a TV series or film than the streaming option, which feels like I’m just renting out.”

    You *are* just renting it out, which is why companies are pushing it so hard. Look at your Apple Terms of Service, it explicitly (or not so explicitly) states that you’re just ‘licensing’ the songs you buy, and not owning them. They are still the absolute property of Apple. And that works out for companies who used to understand some people would buy music that others would borrow.

  18. I don’t really worry about it much. There haven’t been many (any?) major cases where Apple or any other digital retailer suddenly made a previously purchased title unavailable.

    There was a problem with certain Disney titles disappearing from customer’s iTunes accounts a few years back but it was a technical error rather than the studio actually pulling them.

  19. Also (sorry for the double comments), but does no one ascribe to the idea you buy something, it’s your possession? That doesn’t count?

  20. Things are moving so rapidly that our collections are outdated within 7-8 years anyway. You know how many DVDs I watch on a regular basis? If I’m at one every quarter I’d be surprised.

    I’ve purchased things like Halloween or Highlander upwards of 6+ times over the last 20 years. With 4k, 8k, etc…it’s never going to stop.

Leave a Reply

