Random Thread for March 2016

Standard

It’s been twenty years since Fargo.

“So that was Mrs. Lundegaard on the floor in there. And I guess that was your accomplice in the wood chipper. And those three people in Brainerd. And for what? For a little bit of money. There’s more to life than a little money, you know. Don’t you know that? And here ya are, and it’s a beautiful day! Well, I just don’t understand it.”

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

15 responses »

  1. A few years back I did a post wondering whether Warren Beatty was ever going to act/direct another film. Since then, he’s directed and starred in a Howard Hughes biopic although – as per usual with Beatty – it’s taking much longer to get release than planned.

    Now I’m wondering whether we’ll see Jack Nicholson in another film? He hasn’t made one since 2010’s misfire “How Do You Know” and he wasn’t exactly in prolific in the 2000s. I still think he could make another film but probably only if it’s a previous collaborator like Sean Penn or James L Brooks.

  2. There’s been no official announcement, but I have to think Nicholson is retired. He huffed and puffed his way through that last film so much I thought he was about to drop dead. I think he’s too vain to be seen in such an old, fat state.

  3. So what happened to David Gordon Green? His last, Our Brand is Crisis hit and left and wasn’t accepted very well. Is he one of the 90’s wunderkinds who’s turned his back on his dramatic roots the most? Is it could he’s just still working? Thoughts?

  4. Ebert compared him to Malick. And now he’s doing immediately forgettable Bullock films?

  5. Of his “small” films, I’ve seen All the Real Girls, Snow Angels, and Prince Avalanche, and they were fine, nothing spectacular. I think Ebert loved George Washington, which I haven’t seen. But you bring this up now, four years after he made Your Highness? And then The Sitter? He sold his soul a long time ago.

  6. I wouldn’t be seeing it otherwise, but friends are in town and I’ll be going to see Batman v Superman this weekend. The reviews aren’t good so far with a poor RT score & scathing Twitter reaction so in a curious way it may be more interesting to watch than if it was a ‘good’ comic book film.

    I remember Jackrabbit Slim saying a few years ago he was baffled how Snyder is considered an A-list director. If this turns out to be another disappointment from him, that is a mystery that may never get resolved.

  7. Snyder must have something on somebody important. Apparently this film’s major problem is that it’s no fun, and the D.C. films seem to steer that way. Nolan’s Batman films weren’t a laugh riot, but Nolan is a much better filmmaker than Snyder. He’s still riding off the box office of 300 (which was not a good movie, but genius compared to Watchmen and Sucker Punch). I see he’s firmly entrenched in the D.C. Universe films, so expect them all to be dirges.

  8. Sucker Punch is brilliant. It’s not readily evident until about the fifth viewing and subsequent week-long discussions over its brilliance (or lack thereof), but it’s brilliant. Unequivocally.
    Does that make it a good movie? No. Is 300 a better movie? Not even close. And Snyder is still riding on Dawn of the Dead. I don’t even think a majority of people who saw 300 can tell you a single thing about it. I can’t understand any of the movies in that era of Frank Miller adaptations in film, because his work is as un-adaptable as Alan Moore.
    Anyhow, Snyder gave an interview to the Wall Street Journal and I can’t tell if he’s taking the piss as the British say, or he has contempt for his viewers and fans or if he’s just, well, the portrait the media (and his filmography) has done a pretty good job painting him as, since in no world does a movie like Sucker Punch make a director look anything other than a misogynistic frat boy yah dude who believes it doesn’t matter what he does, just that he does it, has the chance to do it, and is baffled by the fact you think he’s anything but cool: http://blogs.wsj.com/speakeasy/2016/03/21/zack-snyder-on-how-batman-v-superman-is-like-watchmen/

  9. Here’s the box office of Snyder’s films:

    Dawn of the Dead: 101M
    300: 456M
    Watchmen: 188M
    Sucker Punch: 89M
    Man of Steel: 668M

    I don’t which film he’s still riding, but as long as he brings back money like this, Warner Brothers will be happy. I’m kind of torn right now–I’ve seen all Superman and Batman films (except for Superman IV, I think) but this one may be tough to make myself go see. But these movies are critic-proof–if even a movie perceived as a disaster, like Watchmen, can bring in that kind of money, Snyder will keep making movies.

Leave a Reply

